Author Topic: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080  (Read 1316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bro_Bumble

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« on: 25. August 2012, 21:03:22 »
Hello, I've installed Manjaro today to my harddrive, but am having trouble with the sound (it won't play at all  :(). My chip set is Sigmatel Stac 9200.

Offline Bouvet

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #1 on: 28. August 2012, 01:09:54 »
I am having the same issues: no sound. It would be great to at least have a lead on how to repair. Thanks.

Offline philm

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10671
    • Manjaro Linux
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Geforce GTX 650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Maintainer - so all ;)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #2 on: 29. August 2012, 20:09:25 »
Create followed file:

Code: [Select]
sudo echo "options snd-hda-intel model=gateway" > /etc/modprobe.d/stac9200
... and reboot your system.

Offline dadix

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #3 on: 30. August 2012, 19:26:39 »
Hi. I have the same problem on my Samsung NP300v5z laptop,  but ...   i drag the slider to the maximum until message to reset sound appears. Then click that you agree to reinitialize sound. Now you have 2 icons with sound.
Samsung NP300v5z laptop, memory: 4 GB, Nvidia Optimus Technology
cpu : intel core i5 2410M (HD-3000 video) (Sandy Bridge second generation)
vram: NVidia GT520MX gDDR3 1GB HBR

Offline dadix

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #4 on: 30. August 2012, 20:35:39 »
The problem is only with proprietary drivers. I rebuilt the installation with free drivers and the problem no longer occurs.
Samsung NP300v5z laptop, memory: 4 GB, Nvidia Optimus Technology
cpu : intel core i5 2410M (HD-3000 video) (Sandy Bridge second generation)
vram: NVidia GT520MX gDDR3 1GB HBR

Offline philm

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10671
    • Manjaro Linux
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Geforce GTX 650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Maintainer - so all ;)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #5 on: 01. September 2012, 13:37:27 »
What graphics card does this laptop ship? Sounds like Nvidia-HDMI gets detected as primary soundcard.

Here some info about it:

http://alsa.opensrc.org/MultipleCards
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=843012

Offline Bouvet

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #6 on: 07. September 2012, 21:24:27 »
Create followed file:

Code: [Select]
sudo echo "options snd-hda-intel model=gateway" > /etc/modprobe.d/stac9200
... and reboot your system.

When I type this is, I have to do it as root, correct? And that is first typing in su.
Also, in your code, do I put the "options...." quotation marks?
I've tried three times and it isn't working for me.

Offline eskaini

  • Security Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10842
  • I eat deleted accounts
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Sound not working for Medion RAM2080
« Reply #7 on: 07. September 2012, 21:55:25 »
Quote
When I type this is, I have to do it as root, correct?
No. Just C&P
Quote
And that is first typing in su.
Also, in your code, do I put the "options...." quotation marks?
Yes
Quote
I've tried three times and it isn't working for me.
What error message are you getting exactly ?