Author Topic: [HowTo] get and post your System Info  (Read 15829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #15 on: 14. February 2014, 20:57:31 »
try "glances" ?
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Zileene

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: awesomeWM,Gnome
  • GPU Card: various
  • GPU driver: the one that works
  • Kernel: 4.1
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #16 on: 14. February 2014, 21:10:56 »
try "glances" ?

That won't let me kill any offending/frozen processes.  ;)
But it's nice for monitoring, especially if you have an idling extra monitor connected.  ;D
While I may not always have the correct solution, my input could lead you in the right direction...
If you don't know what a command does, then type 'man <command>' or '<command> --help' to find out.

Offline neonr4in

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Branch: Testing
  • Desktop: KDE Plasma 5, MATE 1.12.0, and GNOME 3.18 with systemd
  • GPU Card: Nvidia + Intel (Optimus)
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Linux44
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #17 on: 19. April 2014, 14:32:35 »
top is good, but htop is more comfortable to use

anyway great tips, aaditya

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #18 on: 19. April 2014, 14:34:11 »
I use now qps, not bad at all.
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline fossiili

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • A grandpa living with two dogs!
  • Skill: Novice
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #19 on: 20. April 2014, 06:47:15 »
Sorry, but what to do when in my old PC those commands does not work as expected:
Code: [Select]
[ukki@melutoosa ~]$ uname -a
Linux melutoosa 3.10.36-1-MANJARO #1 SMP Fri Apr 4 20:10:56 UTC 2014 i686 GNU/Linux
[ukki@melutoosa ~]$ uname -p
unknown
[ukki@melutoosa ~]$ uname -o
GNU/Linux
[ukki@melutoosa ~]$
Some pacman -S ..... needed  ::)

The Linux (distribution) is Manjaro Openbox 0.8.9-i686 and works well  :-*

Offline Zileene

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: awesomeWM,Gnome
  • GPU Card: various
  • GPU driver: the one that works
  • Kernel: 4.1
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #20 on: 23. April 2014, 03:53:37 »
Sorry, but what to do when in my old PC those commands does not work as expected:
Code: [Select]
[ukki@melutoosa ~]$ uname -p
unknown

It is working as expected.
Quote from: coreutils uname info page
'-p'
'--processor'
     Print the processor type (sometimes called the instruction set
     architecture or ISA). Print 'unknown' if the kernel does not make
     this information easily available, as is the case with Linux
     kernels.

Type
Code: [Select]
man uname for info on how to get to that page. ;)

Have Fun! :D
Z.
While I may not always have the correct solution, my input could lead you in the right direction...
If you don't know what a command does, then type 'man <command>' or '<command> --help' to find out.

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: [HowTo] get and post your System Info
« Reply #21 on: 07. February 2016, 11:16:30 »
if you want to know, which folders/directories on your hard drive take up the most space, i highly recommend
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S ncdu
you can start it in your terminal with "ncdu". by default, it shows all directories and files in your home folder. start it with "ncdu /" to look at your root directory.


if you want detailed information about your cpu, use
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo


if you want detailed information about your ram, use
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/meminfo
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki