Author Topic: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)  (Read 18914 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline handy

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5738
  • Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1-3 & Worker :)
  • GPU Card: intel...
  • GPU driver: open-source
  • Kernel: OpenBSD
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #15 on: 15. September 2013, 13:18:58 »
There are plenty of "those" out there, who are perpetually working on ways to get through whatever security defences exist. What works today, won't work in the future. The day when a system is defeated can be any day. So having a firewall behind your router (there must be plenty of people out there trying to crack the router firewall systems) or a vastly more powerful one (like IPCop & the like) in its place makes perfect logical sense to me.

As far as testing your system's security beyond ports is concerned, the following site has the best set of tests I know of:

BrowserSpy.dk

A list of test sites can be found here in the wiki:

http://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Firefox_Customisation#A_list_of_more_.26_less_useful_internet_testing_sites:
The ultimate tyranny in a society is not control
by martial law. It is control by the psychological
manipulation of consciousness, through which reality
is defined so that those who exist within do not even
realize that they are in prison.
  —  Barbara Marciniak

Offline mandog

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1921
  • Architect Forum And G+ Forum Owner With Daniel S
  • Branch: All
  • Desktop: Gnome, Mate, E19, Openbox,FLuxbox,Budgie, XFCE openRC,
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: Non Free
  • Kernel: latest
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #16 on: 15. September 2013, 13:42:20 »
I don't normally use a firewall as my netgear router has its own and https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 shields up tells me I have 100% stealth. But since I have been in Peru using
wifi I should start using one.The trouble is with only 30/50kbs av 15kbs it slows it down to impossible to use. shields up still gives a good result but it is a public connection?
A ENGLISHMAN IN PERU
I'm dyslexic Please do not complain about punctuation or spelling,
FANBOY,Taken from the urban dictionary
 A pathetic insult often used by fanboys themselves to try and put down people who don't like whatever it is they like.

Offline munda

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU Card: ATI 3000
  • GPU driver: Free
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #17 on: 16. September 2013, 18:32:52 »
thank you all for your valuable suggestions and i feel its better to keep the iptables and may be tighten it a bit further.
cheers to NSA & others for making us all paranoids!!!

Offline handy

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5738
  • Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1-3 & Worker :)
  • GPU Card: intel...
  • GPU driver: open-source
  • Kernel: OpenBSD
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #18 on: 17. September 2013, 01:19:28 »
I love the line that Robert Redford's character in the movie Spy Game uses:

"When did Noah build the ark?"

I know, we could have some really good arguments about the veracity of Noah & his ark. :)

I just like that line from a character who was being accused of paranoia. ;)
The ultimate tyranny in a society is not control
by martial law. It is control by the psychological
manipulation of consciousness, through which reality
is defined so that those who exist within do not even
realize that they are in prison.
  —  Barbara Marciniak

Offline rufus

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE +
  • GPU Card: ATI
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: x86_64 GNU/Linux
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #19 on: 24. September 2013, 06:37:00 »
 it aint the NSA you really need worry about because anyone can trace traffic. There are viruses in linux the thing is
 being open source they are easily spotted by Developers by reading the source. Package signing gives security but you dont want anyone
sticking a Trojan in your system. Firewalls can help protect from unsollicted injections as can syncing with the servers.
 But obviously security is more of a concern for servers. Which is why hosting remotely is safer.

Offline finickydesert

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux38-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #20 on: 11. October 2013, 18:26:55 »
Just to be on the safe side use a firewall

Offline SilverPine

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #21 on: 12. October 2013, 01:06:59 »
Exactly what others said, install that firewall!

When you trust someone/something else (like your router or ISP) to manage your firewall, you are seeding them control over your device.

With UFW/GUFW out there, anyone can manage a firewall with ease.

Offline Saeed Iranzad

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Intel(integrated)
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: linux449-x64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #22 on: 17. October 2013, 16:07:57 »
I have installed Gufw, but whenever I open it, I see it's OFF and should be turned ON.
So what to do? Should I configure and it to Startup applications?

Offline sdch

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: nvidia
  • Kernel: 3.12 LTS x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #23 on: 17. October 2013, 16:17:54 »
I have installed Gufw, but whenever I open it, I see it's OFF and should be turned ON.
So what to do? Should I configure and it to Startup applications?

enable ufw using command line.
http://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=2543.0

it would be useful if this post is added in wiki

Offline Kolibry

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU Card: Ati Radeon HD6290 Wrestler
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Linux manjaro 3.12.30-1
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #24 on: 17. October 2013, 18:43:33 »
let's talk again in 20 years when an ex-friend of yours said something against the us government and was tortured in a "secret" prison in egypt. then, you will be imprisoned for conspiracy and cannot proof your innocence...
no, seriously. with an attitude like yours, you give all power over you to "government/nsa officials" and you cannot foresee their intentions.

if you do not understand my argument, i wish you good luck for the rest of your life. you might need it.

I can't be more agree.
Asus 1225B - 11,6" -  AMD E-60 Dual Core 1,3Ghz - 4 Go RAM - HDD 1To-  Radeon HD6290
 Manjaro Openbox - Github

Offline thundersqueak

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • everyone dies
  • Branch: all of em
  • Desktop: gnome
  • GPU Card: nvidia 9300
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: most,if not all
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #25 on: 17. October 2013, 19:58:16 »
in twenty years i will be past caring and dead just you young whippersnappers will have to worry.....
"Why is it that every grubby little government i pass has the impertinence to assume that i can spare the time and energy necessary for their destruction?"

Offline Aryvandaar

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Freedom junkie
  • GPU Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB / GeForce GTX 950M 2GB
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #26 on: 30. October 2013, 23:42:07 »
it aint the NSA you really need worry about because anyone can trace traffic. There are viruses in linux the thing is
 being open source they are easily spotted by Developers by reading the source. Package signing gives security but you dont want anyone
sticking a Trojan in your system. Firewalls can help protect from unsollicted injections as can syncing with the servers.
 But obviously security is more of a concern for servers. Which is why hosting remotely is safer.

This is why I have a firewall on all my systems, and I'm a bit paranoid, or reasonably cautious (depends on how you see it). It's also one of the reasons why I'm migrating to Linux on all my computers.
« Last Edit: 30. October 2013, 23:43:39 by Aryvandaar »
"Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken"
Desktop: Funtoo / Windows 7
Laptop: ASUS X550JX - Manjaro

Offline joemen25

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • May the force be with you...
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 3.10 - x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #27 on: 01. November 2013, 01:04:48 »
Firewall is a good term in General... Technically speaking the core firewall of Manjaro is running iptables which is built-in in Linux Kernel. Ubuntu develop ufw a front-end UI for beginners but if you want to learn in advance just study iptables. Manjaro distribution by the default it accept everything just like below:

abc@xxx ~]$ sudo iptables -nvL
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT 477 packets, 687K bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination         

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination         

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 458 packets, 32012 bytes)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination         
abc@xxx ~]$

I don't have a fedora in my computer right now but the default setup of iptables is quite impressive it blocks everything and permits only that originates from your machine who wants to connect to the internet it means Stateful packet inspection of firewall is enabled by default. This is setup is only good for workstation, client or solo pc at home. I'll get back to you guys when I have a spare time... I have work things to do.. be right back..
Long live Manjaro...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU: AMD Athlon™ II X2 260
GPU: GeForce 6150SE
RAM: 2Gb

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #28 on: 01. November 2013, 01:08:03 »
i dont use firewall in my computer :) my router has a firewall...

noscript or flashblocker in firefox is for security always fine...quite irritating but still :)
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline QtAndNice

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE 5.x.(current stable)
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX 760
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.1.18-1-lts-tomoyo (AUR)
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Firewall ! is there any need for one (Desktop @ Home)
« Reply #29 on: 28. November 2013, 09:08:27 »
It depends which applications you use.
The first level of error is always the user himself
use a MAC (no apples required)
« Last Edit: 28. November 2013, 09:18:48 by QtAndNice »