Author Topic: [SOLVED] no borders at buttons, etc  (Read 1016 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline NaCl

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Intermediate
[SOLVED] no borders at buttons, etc
« on: 15. May 2016, 11:12:37 »
Hello Manjaro community,

I have a problem with my desktop PC after I installed manjaro again after an harddisk-crash.

When searching for the iso image of the i3 edition I found the 16-06-rc and downloaded it.
Everything was looking really nice after the installation. I’ve installed the updates and then shut down the PC.
Next time when I started the PC again everything was looking strange:
* there is no scroll-indicator for example when using Firefox.
* the buttons, text-areas etc. do not have borders .
  Even at the login-manager there has this behavior.
  (It’s really difficult to see what is a button and what is simply text ;))
* When I select text at Firefox I don’t see the selection.
  (but coping this text works. It only not visible when selecting)
* The volume selector is not visible.
* etc
I decided going back to the stable i3 edition. But after an update and a reboot I have the behavior with this version, too.

Because I’m not sure if this is maybe a graphic-driver problem or a i3 problem I downloaded lxde and checked if I have the same problems here, too.
But everything looks good with lxde. So it’s looks to me that it is not the graphic-driver.

Do anybody of you have an idea what I can check or do to solve this problem? I added some screenshots and also the output of lshw.
If you need further information I will add it after you described my what I have to execute.

Thanks
NaCl

i3: https://pl.vc/1bdpx
lxde: https://pl.vc/1ikp6
« Last Edit: 15. May 2016, 20:05:48 by NaCl »

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #1 on: 15. May 2016, 12:45:23 »
This is certainly a gtk-theme issue.
I see in the screenshot that you are not using the default theme, which was vertex-maia
You appear to have switched to a different one which is not (yet) gtk3.20 compatible.
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline NaCl

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #2 on: 15. May 2016, 14:04:15 »
Thanks oberon for the reply.
That theme idea sounds logical to me and would explain a lot.
But I didn't change it. Honestly I don't know how to change it without a search.
So I'm sure I didn't change it (on purpose).
Is there a possibility to look what theme is used right now?

Greetings
NaCl
« Last Edit: 15. May 2016, 14:08:32 by NaCl »

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #3 on: 15. May 2016, 15:16:40 »
You open lxappearance and select vertex-maia-dark and press 'apply' :)
Is this a clean install or do you have some old config in an existing /home partition maybe?
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline mrbrklyn

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • NYLXS
    • mrbrklyn
  • Desktop: wmaker
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #4 on: 15. May 2016, 17:44:10 »
You open lxappearance and select vertex-maia-dark and press 'apply' :)
Is this a clean install or do you have some old config in an existing /home partition maybe?


that theme is not in the distro to the repository

Offline NaCl

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #5 on: 15. May 2016, 18:40:31 »
It's a complete new installation. No way that a old config file was used.
Everything was looking fine after the installation. After the update it was broken.

There was no vertex-maia-dark theme to select!
I installed it and as far as I seen it looks fine again.
Perhaps the theme didn't survived the update?


Offline NaCl

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #6 on: 15. May 2016, 20:05:28 »
I've downloaded the dev version and it seems like everything is fine.
Thanks for the support!!

Offline mrbrklyn

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • NYLXS
    • mrbrklyn
  • Desktop: wmaker
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #7 on: 15. May 2016, 20:58:12 »
It's a complete new installation. No way that a old config file was used.
Everything was looking fine after the installation. After the update it was broken.

There was no vertex-maia-dark theme to select!
I installed it and as far as I seen it looks fine again.
Perhaps the theme didn't survived the update?

that didn't even work for them.  The GTK theme might have been OK but the
firefox default them, with the little green folder icons, was totally broken as well. 
I finally pulled lavafox v2 down.  there aren't many firefox theme choices right
now and the default doesn't work either.

Offline LizziAS

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Branch: Hyssop
  • Desktop: OB-OpenRC
  • GPU Card: 6520G
  • GPU driver: Catalyst
  • Kernel: Zen
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: [SOLVED] no borders at buttons, etc
« Reply #8 on: 15. May 2016, 21:12:37 »
Seriously, it is because of stuff like this that i'm starting to dislike gtk a lot  gtk3 Version 3.20.5 breaks the themes that were compatible with gtk3 version 3.20.4 and so on with every point release.


downgrade is also an option but it is a lot easier to switch up the theme.