Poll

Did you experience any issue with this update?

No issues, everything went smoothly.
116 (91.3%)
Yes there was an issue. I was able to resolve it myself. (Please post your solution)
6 (4.7%)
Yes I am currently experiencing an issue due to the update. (Please post about it)
5 (3.9%)

Total Members Voted: 127

Author Topic: [Update] 2016-02-09 - Kernels, Pamac 3.0, Pacman 5.0, Calamares, Manjaro-Tools  (Read 6427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CyberWolf2k14

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1184
  • Computers make very fast, very accurate mistakes.
  • Branch: Stable-sysd229-LightDM
  • Desktop: MATE/Cinnamon/GNOME
  • GPU Card: nVidia GeForce GT740
  • GPU driver: nVidia-NF-364.19
  • Kernel: 4.4.9x64 / 4.2.8.9x64 / 4.1.23x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Another smooth update, albeit a large one (on my system approx. 540 MB), but it went oh so smoothly.
Another hearty CONGRATS! to the dev team and philm.
 8)
PowerSpec Quad core Intel Core i5-4690K w/ 16GB RAM
Dual Boot = Win 7 Ult x64 and Manjaro 15.12 x64
===================================================
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history...
with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila".

Offline Kev.M

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Branch: Manjaro Stable + Arch Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Sandybridge
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: 44 & 46
  • Skill: Novice
Updated 2 laptops both went very smooth.
 
I'm not keen on the new pamac layout either but it just takes some getting used too.

Offline Serenase

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: Deepin
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i5-5200U CPU @ 2.7GHz
  • GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
  • Kernel: x86_64 Linux 4.1.13-1-MANJARO
  • Skill: Novice
Smooth update, except gnome-terminal won't open anymore. Tried reinstall it, but no luck...

Code: [Select]
(process:6593): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
Error constructing proxy for org.gnome.Terminal:/org/gnome/Terminal/Factory0: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.gnome.Terminal: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Process org.gnome.Terminal exited with status 9


Offline AJSlye

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 4298
  • Netrunner Rolling Edition moderator / maintainer
  • Branch: Stable / Testing / Unstable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Rolling
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.4.1-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit)
  • Skill: Guru
Smooth update, except gnome-terminal won't open anymore. Tried reinstall it, but no luck...

Code: [Select]
(process:6593): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
Error constructing proxy for org.gnome.Terminal:/org/gnome/Terminal/Factory0: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.gnome.Terminal: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Process org.gnome.Terminal exited with status 9


https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=180103
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=203124
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=204353
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/46374
https://www.archlinux.org/news/d-bus-now-launches-user-buses/
« Last Edit: 10. February 2016, 16:26:29 by AJSlye »

Offline iw3mp

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • GPU Card: nVidia Quadro K1000M
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Skill: Novice
Hello, since the update I can't run Steam

Code: [Select]
Running Steam on manjarolinux 15.12 64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is disabled by the user
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1454620878)

How can I reinstall steam properly? (preferably without losing games)

EDIT: fixed by restarting
« Last Edit: 10. February 2016, 19:39:46 by iw3mp »

Offline Serenase

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: Deepin
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i5-5200U CPU @ 2.7GHz
  • GPU driver: Mesa DRI Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
  • Kernel: x86_64 Linux 4.1.13-1-MANJARO
  • Skill: Novice

Offline nikhilprabhakar

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: GNOME
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GeForce 650M
  • Skill: Intermediate
The update went smooth, thanks for all the hard work @philm!

Offline beardedragon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Branch: Stable OpenRC & Testing Systemd
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28)
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GK208 [GeForce GT 720/PCIe/SSE2]
  • GPU driver: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 361.42(non-free)
  • Kernel: 4.4-6 & 4.6-rc5-MANJARO-x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Good Stable update, no issues, Thanks Team.
Robert Collard Madison, WI
Lenova K450e  8GB RAM
ManjaroLinux 15.12 Capella

Offline Foxwater

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce, KDE
  • GPU Card: ATi 7950
  • GPU driver: Free
  • Kernel: 4.1-x64
  • Skill: Novice
Smooth update both KDE & Xfce.  Thank you.
There is only one corner of the universe you can be certain of improving, and that's your own self.

Aldous Huxley

Offline aguador

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: E20
  • GPU Card: Intel 945 GME; Radeon 9000; Nvidia 340xx
  • GPU driver: Free; free; free
  • Kernel: Linux314-net; Linux44-x86; Linux44-x64
  • Skill: Novice
OK, I am trying to fix a problem with LibreOffice. Last night I downloaded the updates with no problem on a machine I use mostly for testing. Everything was OK, so updated my two workhorses early this morning before headning out the door. Somehow either there was a problem with the connection or the mirror was not completely updated.

No problem, I simply had to dump the db.lck file and rerun to get the packages that did not update properly . . . except for LibreOffice ("still" on one machine, "fresh" on the other). Although there are no errors shown in the pacman or pamac log files, both packages show in pamac as being installed with 0 Kb. At the moment I can NOT:
  • Update LO -- it tells me that LO is up to date
  • Reinstall -- pacman tells me that LO is not there so cannot be reininstalled
  • Downgrade -- either manually or with the Downgrade utility (error: lots of files from LO found so pacman exits with no changes to the [non]installation)
  • Uninstall -- it indicates that the file does not exist even though it shows in pacman's cache.
I never really got into quantum physics, but I thought that existence and nonexistence were mutually exclusive. In this case, apparently not. I suspect it is a bit like the sound of one hand clapping.

The only thing I can think of is manually removing the last tarball (apparently of 0 Kb), but before I really mess up the system, I thought that AJSlye or another guru might be able to suggest an alternative.

Offline beardedragon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Branch: Stable OpenRC & Testing Systemd
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28)
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GK208 [GeForce GT 720/PCIe/SSE2]
  • GPU driver: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 361.42(non-free)
  • Kernel: 4.4-6 & 4.6-rc5-MANJARO-x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
@aguador  Start up Add/Remove Software and reinstall which ever volume, Still or Fresh that shows 0 kb.
Robert Collard Madison, WI
Lenova K450e  8GB RAM
ManjaroLinux 15.12 Capella

Offline Maycne Sonahoz

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: MSI GTX 660Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free (video-nvidia)
  • Kernel: linux 44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
The late update of flashplugin to 11.2.202.569-1 solved the Firefox slowdown issue^-^

Offline DK3

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • TechHQ
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Many (AMD,Nvidia,Intel)
  • GPU driver: AMD,Nvidia non-free
  • Kernel: 4.5.x
  • Skill: Novice
Update on 12 Machines without Problems.

Thx.


DK3
- Management is, if 10 people are paid for something what 5 could do cheaper, if they are only 3 and 2 of them are ill.

- Computers are the most intelligent idiots whom there are.

Offline omnimoon

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Former distrohopper
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE / Xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GeForce 940M / ATI Radeon HD 6310
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64 / linux43-x64
  • Skill: Novice
After updating got this on next boot, after GRUB menu: "ERROR: Unable to find root device 'UUID=xxxxxx'. You are being dropped to a recovery shell. Type 'exit' to try and continue booting", and there's no keyboard input at all in the resulting command line.

My root and partitions are both encrypted, but I get access to them both from a live session. Thanks in advance for your help!
« Last Edit: 10. February 2016, 21:27:01 by omnimoon »

Offline aguador

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: E20
  • GPU Card: Intel 945 GME; Radeon 9000; Nvidia 340xx
  • GPU driver: Free; free; free
  • Kernel: Linux314-net; Linux44-x86; Linux44-x64
  • Skill: Novice
@beardeddragon: Thanks for the suggestion, but that's exactly what I cannot do.

However, PROBLEM SOLVED

I discovered is that the the language pack was preventing the uninstall. Removing that allowed the removal of the main LO. Reinstalling with pamac was a no go due to conflicts with all the scattered LO files on the disk, so the solution was one I should have thought of before:  using pacman with the --force option so that the conflicts were ignored.

PS I do want to apologize for the grumpiness of my initial post I made regarding the changes in pamac. I still see them as something that gets in the way of my main use of it: searching for packages. However, that aside, I have now used three distros and played with a few more in live version for one reason or another and I simply cannot image using another distro. Manjaro is as good as it gets. So, while I wouldn't object to a rethink of the separate AUR listing business  ::), thank you, philm and the whole team, for producing the absolute best distro available.
« Last Edit: 10. February 2016, 21:13:50 by aguador »