Author Topic: manjaro-i3 15.12  (Read 13443 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline huladaddy

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: nVidia
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.1.23
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #15 on: 30. December 2015, 21:38:05 »
I just saw the way bspwm allows you to resize windows using the mouse. Looks slick. Is this possible with i3?

Offline twodogsdave

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: Radeon HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #16 on: 30. December 2015, 21:40:42 »
I just saw the way bspwm allows you to resize windows using the mouse. Looks slick. Is this possible with i3?

I don't think so.

I use..
Code: [Select]
# Disable and enable gaps
bindsym $mod+o          gaps inner current set 0; gaps outer current set 0
bindsym $mod+p          gaps inner current set 10; gaps outer current set 10
bindsym $mod+Shift+p gaps inner current set 10; gaps outer current set 40
bindsym $mod+Shift+o    gaps inner current set 10; gaps outer current set 200

Offline spylinux

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: ATi 6290
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux3.18-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #17 on: 31. December 2015, 01:22:10 »
Link don't work for me...when i click download, they redirect to first page files.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #18 on: 31. December 2015, 01:53:43 »
There seems to be a problem with Sourceforge once more ...  ::) >:(
I get the same. It throws you back to the front page, yes. :P
What still works for me is downloading with Filezilla via sftp from frs.sourceforge.net
I think you need a sourceforge account for that, but you can simply create one of course.
The manjaro community folder is located here:
/home/pfs/project/m/ma/manjarolinux/community/
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline gr00t

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #19 on: 31. December 2015, 14:15:58 »
I have tried out the latest 15.12 i3 image (systemd / x86_64), but had some issues with it (tried with both the cli or calamares installer). After the installation completed, the i3 configuration overlay was not copied onto my existing home partition, though I did mark it during the installation properly that it should be mounted under /home, which happened as expected, only no configuration was present after the reboot, so the i3 wizard popped up. I made sure to delete any existing configuration files and folders before starting the installation, so there was no .config or .i3 folder on the home partition, only insignificant folders with my data. The process was retried 3 times, with the same result. At the end I solved the problem by cloning the manjaro git repo and copying everything from the skel folder onto my home partition, and after a reboot everything popped up as expected.
The next issue was that after I executed the pulse audio installer script, the i3 configuration was updated so that it contained two entries for loading pulseaudio, specifically these two lines:
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id pulseaudio
exec --no-startup-id pa-applet

appeared two times, once in the section with the comment: "sound-section - DO NOT EDIT if you wish to automatically upgrade Alsa -> Pulseaudio later!", and once again at the bottom with the rest of the applets that are loaded, which resulted in two volume icons being present.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #20 on: 31. December 2015, 14:44:49 »
The next issue was that after I executed the pulse audio installer script, the i3 configuration was updated so that it contained two entries for loading pulseaudio, specifically these two lines:
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id pulseaudio
exec --no-startup-id pa-applet
Dammit, my mistake. Appears I forgot to delete those lines further down in the config  :P ::)
I had tested the script only in the live-environment, but the config file for the final install is actually copied over from a different folder, and the bug is "only" in that one - sorry for that!
As for your home folder: If you use an existing /home partition without formatting it, the installer will not overwrite it I guess.... ;)

edit: Have corrected that in the Systemd versions now, OpenRC ISOs will be updated until tomorrow... :)
« Last Edit: 01. January 2016, 11:30:35 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline gr00t

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #21 on: 31. December 2015, 16:31:58 »
Dammit, my mistake. Appears I forgot to delete those lines further down in the config  :P ::)
I had tested the script only in the live-environment, but the config file for the final install is actually copied over from a different folder, and the bug is "only" in that one - sorry for that!
As for your home folder: If you use an existing /home partition without formatting it, the installer will not overwrite it I guess.... ;)

Ah I see, thanks for the quick reply, as for this issue with existing home partitions, can we expect a change / fix for that, or it is the expected behavior, not to copy anything there if the partition is not formatted ?

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #22 on: 01. January 2016, 01:22:33 »
as for this issue with existing home partitions, can we expect a change / fix for that, or it is the expected behavior, not to copy anything there if the partition is not formatted ?
That's not gonna work - you will have to decide if you want your files overwritten or not, BUT: What you can do is create a user with a different name than the old one, OR in any case you will find all the new config in /etc/skel! :)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline michaldybczak

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Manjaro 64bit
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome 3
  • GPU Card: nVidia
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #23 on: 01. January 2016, 10:06:31 »
Well, it depends...
The new packages you will need are indeed
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S bmenu pacli ranger moc
With the config it's a bit more tricky... ::)
There is a new folder for ranger to go into ~/.config
https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/tree/devel/community/i3/i3-overlay/etc/skel/.config

moc has a folder ~/.moc
https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/tree/devel/community/i3/i3-overlay/etc/skel
and a custom theme-file in /usr/share/moc/themes/
https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/tree/devel/community/i3/i3-overlay/usr/share/moc/themes

The pulse/alsa scripts install_pulse and rm_pulse live in /usr/local/bin
https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/tree/devel/community/i3/i3-overlay/usr/local/bin
BUT in order for them to work you need to adjust your ~/.i3/config to contain exactly these lines:
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id volumeicon
bindsym $mod+Ctrl+m exec terminal -e 'alsamixer'
#exec --no-startup-id pulseaudio
#exec --no-startup-id pa-applet
#bindsym $mod+Ctrl+m exec pavucontrol

;)

Thanks for this :). Now I can update my old i3 version to the newest one :). Your i3 editions rock!  8)

Offline ranjan

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • Kernel: Left over after earing my corn
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #24 on: 03. January 2016, 23:41:24 »
Installed and configured to my liking. Thanks!!

My screenshots are posted here

https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=29688.msg247046#msg247046

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #25 on: 03. January 2016, 23:51:44 »
Very nice! Thank you for sharing :)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #26 on: 05. January 2016, 07:01:44 »
Accidentally tried your i3 edition. Couple of notes:

1) I like the notifications, and the conky is helpful for newcomers
2) Overall feeling is very polished
3) Gtk theme is not what I would choose, but that is a matter of taste
4) A matter of eyesight/screensize: Fonts are quite small, as is i3bar. Hard to see at 13"/1920x1080. I'd use terminus or some other terminal font for terminal.
5) Palemoon seems nice.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #27 on: 05. January 2016, 10:58:32 »
Thank you, Chrysostomus for the feedback! I will consider different font size. Used to be 11px, but Calamares unfortunately goes haywire with anything larger than 10... :P But I will check out other option for the bar :)
« Last Edit: 05. January 2016, 11:15:05 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline pydsigner

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #28 on: 08. January 2016, 04:02:13 »
I just saw the way bspwm allows you to resize windows using the mouse. Looks slick. Is this possible with i3?
It is possible to resize windows either with the mouse or with the keyboard. The ease of using the mouse depends on how wide your window borders are; you have to get right on the borders since there's another window right on the other side.

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 15.12
« Reply #29 on: 08. January 2016, 04:11:12 »
I think (might remember wrong) that i3 does it the same way as bspwm: super+drag with right click. If so, the rootmenu package used in bspwm edition should work in i3 edition too (left click window gap to start window resizing). As a bonus you get openbox style desktop menu.  :)