Author Topic: Dual Monitor: "xset dpms force off ", but backlight returns  (Read 3963 times)

Offline theMuspilli

• Neuling
  • I'm new. Be nice!
    • me on dA
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: xfce
  • Skill: Intermediate
Dual Monitor: "xset dpms force off ", but backlight returns
« on: 17. December 2015, 23:01:58 »
Hello,

I am new to dual monitor stuff - at least in non ancient times with non ancient technology - and I face a problem with my new setup.

I have attached an ASUS PB278QR 27'' display to my Lenovo thinkpad W520 (nvidia optimus 1000) via DisplayPort. In the Xfce settings I have arranged the display to be one big display with the external monitor being the left and primary display and the notebook display being on the right side. So far that constellation works ok.

Now what I want to do: Blank both screens and switch them off for a while - while the laptop continues to work on a calculation or a download and I am absent ... Easy?

1st try:

I used to send my notebook display to sleep with a simple command bound to a hotkey:

Code: [Select]
sleep 2; xset dpms force off
This still works - initially. But the external display switches back on the backlight after about 2 seconds. The laptop display stays black without backlight.

2nd try:

I tried to specify the display and try again, but

$ xset -display :0.0 dpms force off
is exactly the same (as the two physical screens are just one xsceen?!).

3rd try:

Evaluating xbacklight i discovered that

$ xbacklight -d :0.0 -set 2

does exactly nothing here. I would suspect that it would be visible to set the display to 2% of the max brightness, wouldn't it?

4th try:
Stumbling upon http://www.shallowsky.com/linux/x-screen-blanking.html I also tried this ancient art:

[folognorri] ~ $ vbetool dpms off
mmap /dev/zero: Operation not permitted
Failed to initialise LRMI (Linux Real-Mode Interface).

Just a permissions issue?

5th try: