Author Topic: Configure PCManFM for WM  (Read 1183 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Configure PCManFM for WM
« on: 05. December 2015, 13:44:19 »
hi guys, i'm trying to setup pcmanfm. for this use the "Preferences" option. the problem is that the changes are not registered at the file pcmanfm.conf.

anyone have any idea?

vlw fwi, Holmes :)


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #1 on: 05. December 2015, 13:48:17 »
Here the settings are stored in ~/.conf/pcmanfm/default/pcmanfm.conf and it works for me...
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #2 on: 05. December 2015, 13:55:13 »
hello @oberon,
i want to indicate a terminal and change the dimensions of the window. to use window:

win_width=550
win_height=290


but still continues small. no changes to the dimensions that put.

vlw fwi, Holmes :)
« Last Edit: 05. December 2015, 14:12:19 by Holmes »


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #3 on: 05. December 2015, 15:19:25 »
hmmm, difficult to say much about that when you're inside a tiling WM ;) :D
Anyway window managers in general tend to interfere with window geometry ...
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline twodogsdave

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: Radeon HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #4 on: 05. December 2015, 19:40:38 »
Should check one of these locations..
Code: [Select]
~/.config/pcmanfm/default
    The default configuration profile directory
~/.config/pcmanfm/default/pcmanfm.conf
    The main configuration file
~/.config/pcmanfm/default/desktop-items-0.conf
    The desktop items layout for screen 0 (primary screen)


What wm specifically?  I use -geometry in i3 (floating).

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #5 on: 07. December 2015, 12:49:09 »
thank you @ twodogsdave. it is for use with JWM and like to know how you did in the i3.

vlw fwi, Holmes :)


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline eugen-b

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 3191
  • Branch: testing
  • Desktop: LXDE, Fluxbox, JWM, LXQt, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel 82945G/GZ
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: 4.5, 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #6 on: 07. December 2015, 20:20:26 »
Maybe some additional processes must be running? I would suspect that gvfs processes are missing.
MSI Wind Nettop, Intel Atom 230 1.6GHz (64bit), 2GB RAM
DEs: NET-minimal + (LXDE / Fluxbox / JWM); LXQt OpenRC
how to install on btrfs subvolumes
http://manjaro.github.io/donate/

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #7 on: 08. December 2015, 00:11:50 »
Maybe some additional processes must be running? I would suspect that gvfs processes are missing.

hello @eugen-b:
the idea is to add other variables such as: terminal and resize the window.

vlw fwi, Holmes :)


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Configure PCManFM for WM
« Reply #8 on: 09. December 2015, 02:55:04 »
resolved

- all pcmanfm configuration (made in Preference) is in the file libfm.conf (~/config/libfm/libfm.conf) = terminal OK
- resize window pcmanfm is in the file pcmanfm.conf (with win_width=? and win_height=?) = resize window OK

vlw fwi, Holmes :)
« Last Edit: 09. December 2015, 02:59:45 by Holmes »


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es