Author Topic: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman  (Read 57987 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Lukimya

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome 3.20x
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: 4.4.5-1-ARCH
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #210 on: 16. April 2014, 09:52:34 »
how to make multiple selections in yaourt and install them in one go? (octopi 0.4.0)

Does Yaourt (AUR) even support multiple installs? If not, I would imagine it is pretty impossible to have such feature on octopi either.

Offline AJSlye

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 4298
  • Netrunner Rolling Edition moderator / maintainer
  • Branch: Stable / Testing / Unstable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Rolling
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.4.1-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #211 on: 16. April 2014, 20:24:34 »
Yes, Yaourt allows for multiple (consecutive) installs.

Offline arnt

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 188
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #212 on: 16. April 2014, 22:58:35 »
how to make multiple selections in yaourt and install them in one go? (octopi 0.4.0)

Edit:

let me be clear here, how to make multiple selections in while using yaourt section in octopi and install them in one go?


Ctrl + selection ?

Offline sdch

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: nvidia
  • Kernel: 3.12 LTS x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #213 on: 17. April 2014, 06:09:47 »

Ctrl + selection ?

Thanks arnt that was what i was searching for.. :D

Offline aaditya

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2844
    • My Website
  • Branch: Testing
  • Desktop: Xfce, Openbox
  • GPU Card: Intel HD 4000
  • Kernel: Linux 4.4 x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #214 on: 08. May 2014, 06:48:52 »
Hi Arnt, a problem / suggestion:

When using Octopi, sometimes I check the packages which are going to be updated, and sometimes I want to blacklist some of them, so I blacklist them and run pacman form the terminal.

However (after updating), when I click on the refresh (sync database) button in Octopi, I guess only the database is updated, but not the current state of those packages, so I still see the old packages that have been updated.

Only way around this seems to be restarting Octopi.

So perhaps could change the Refresh button, or maybe add a Control in the File menu for "Refresh" that would update the status of all the packages?
Thanks.


Offline sdch

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: nvidia
  • Kernel: 3.12 LTS x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #215 on: 22. May 2014, 21:20:26 »
in openbox+lxqt environment octopi is not using lxqt-polkit , and shows error, installing gksu solved the issue, i dont know why being a qt app it doesn't use qt based polkit while the gtk apps such as gparted,firewalld applet use lxqt-polkit?  ::)

Offline arnt

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 188
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #216 on: 22. May 2014, 21:47:08 »
in openbox+lxqt environment octopi is not using lxqt-polkit , and shows error, installing gksu solved the issue, i dont know why being a qt app it doesn't use qt based polkit while the gtk apps such as gparted,firewalld applet use lxqt-polkit?  ::)

Hi sdch,
Octopi uses kdesu or gksu to get root credentials.
Currently only the notifier uses polkit.
If my memory is not wrong I've already tested using polkit in octopi but I could not get all the output I'm used to while using su frontends.

So... for the moment that's all we have.

Offline sdch

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: nvidia
  • Kernel: 3.12 LTS x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #217 on: 23. May 2014, 06:14:04 »

hi arnt i understand,,, thanks for such a great product...

Offline arnt

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 188
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #218 on: 25. May 2014, 04:52:11 »
Friends,

Octopi 0.4.0 is finally released!

Check it out: http://wp.me/p3hXXe-44.

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #219 on: 25. May 2014, 04:57:42 »
congratulations... ;)

vlw fwi, Holmes :)


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline MadmanRB

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Always thinking, always crazy
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600
  • GPU driver: Free and proprietary, depending on need
  • Kernel: 4.1.13
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #220 on: 12. June 2014, 23:07:52 »
One thing that I dont like in octopi is when you install a package from AUR octopi pulls up a terminal.
Pamac doesnt do this, it gives a gui to help accept changes as does PackmanXG, I hope something like that makes it into octopi as even though I dont have issues with the terminal it is distracting in a gui environment
Insanity is only a state of mind

Offline arnt

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 188
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #221 on: 12. July 2014, 15:45:42 »
One thing that I dont like in octopi is when you install a package from AUR octopi pulls up a terminal.
Pamac doesnt do this, it gives a gui to help accept changes as does PackmanXG, I hope something like that makes it into octopi as even though I dont have issues with the terminal it is distracting in a gui environment

MadmanRB,

Octopi is based on command line tools. I agree with you it'd be better to have all options working without a terminal, but currently it's not developed and I wonder if it could be using tools like yaourt and pacaur (the ones I do).
Besides, this would at least involve writing a parser (as octopi has for pacman command output).
And parsers... well they are prone to errors.

Offline arnt

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 188
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #222 on: 12. July 2014, 15:47:27 »
Friends,

Octopi 0.4.1 is out!

More info at:
http://octopiproject.wordpress.com/2014/07/12/octopi-version-0-4-1-released/

Thanks for all your help!

Offline Holmes

  • Mirror Support Team
  • ***
  • Posts: 2039
  • Brazilian and Hispanic Support Team
    • Manjaro Brasil
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro XFCE
  • GPU Card: Mobile Intel (R) 945
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: kernellinux
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #223 on: 12. July 2014, 16:14:23 »
thanks arnt... ;)

vlw fwi, Holmes :)


==> Manjaro Brasil I Manjaro Hispano
==> IRC Manjaro Brasil: #manjaro-br I IRC Manjaro Hispano: #manjaro-es

Offline Lukimya

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome 3.20x
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: 4.4.5-1-ARCH
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Octopi - a simple qt frontend for pacman
« Reply #224 on: 12. July 2014, 18:07:49 »
Thanks for the swift development :)