Author Topic: tweaking i3  (Read 12900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #30 on: 25. October 2015, 21:57:56 »
So if you use "battery 0" and "battery 1" what do you get exactly?
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline paolo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
  • GPU driver: Mesa
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #31 on: 26. October 2015, 08:54:22 »
if I use battery 0 and battery 1 in i3bar is showed only one battery whit his percentage
Edit: typo
« Last Edit: 27. October 2015, 13:25:20 by paolo »
Dell Latitude C640 – CPU P4 2Ghz – RAM 2 GB
HP Compaq nx6310 - CPU M410 1,46Ghz - RAM 2 GB
Asus EeePC 1001PX - CPU Atom N450 1,66Ghz - RAM 2 GB
HP Pavillion dv2000 - CPU T7300 2Ghz - RAM 3 GB
all for Manjaro i3 by oberon

Offline paolo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
  • GPU driver: Mesa
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #32 on: 27. October 2015, 14:20:55 »
Bump!  :)

I edit my 2 latest post because of some typo
Dell Latitude C640 – CPU P4 2Ghz – RAM 2 GB
HP Compaq nx6310 - CPU M410 1,46Ghz - RAM 2 GB
Asus EeePC 1001PX - CPU Atom N450 1,66Ghz - RAM 2 GB
HP Pavillion dv2000 - CPU T7300 2Ghz - RAM 3 GB
all for Manjaro i3 by oberon

Offline paolo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
  • GPU driver: Mesa
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #33 on: 02. November 2015, 16:08:43 »
cough cough ... bump  :D
Dell Latitude C640 – CPU P4 2Ghz – RAM 2 GB
HP Compaq nx6310 - CPU M410 1,46Ghz - RAM 2 GB
Asus EeePC 1001PX - CPU Atom N450 1,66Ghz - RAM 2 GB
HP Pavillion dv2000 - CPU T7300 2Ghz - RAM 3 GB
all for Manjaro i3 by oberon

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #34 on: 02. November 2015, 19:40:06 »
cough cough ... bump  :D

i can't see baterry % at all :P

Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #35 on: 02. November 2015, 20:25:42 »
i can't see baterry % at all :P
You probably have to add path to i3status.conf. Usually the battery path is something like /sys/class/power_supply/BAT1/uevent  but it can be BAT0. Try
Code: [Select]
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT1/uevent
and
Code: [Select]
cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/uevent
to see which one works.

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #36 on: 03. November 2015, 12:56:49 »
okay so i've ran and it seems that BAT0 is the one that is active or right. So i've went into /etc/i3status.conf and changed baterry 1 to 0, restarted i3 but nothings changed. Do i need to put the whole path to battery or?
here's pastebin
« Last Edit: 03. November 2015, 12:58:25 by audiosl4ve »

Offline sebrei

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • i3 wm, jwm-respin, eeepc 901; Dell Latitude E6510;
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #37 on: 05. November 2015, 18:30:22 »
You have to change it in the "order section" of your config file as well. I made the same mistake.... ;-)
Moral: Es gibt nichts Gutes, außer man tut es.

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #38 on: 05. November 2015, 20:06:16 »
umm what config, i don't get it  :o
Sry i'm little new to all this, although i really love i3  8)

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #39 on: 05. November 2015, 20:31:02 »
I taken, renamed and placed at the right position, the most files from https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/tree/master/i3/i3-overlay/etc/skel

Now I can login on i3 and it works almost fine. I have two issues:

1) The MOD+Enter do not open a terminal.. there is only a busy cursor and nothing happens!!!

2) If I close my laptop's lid it doesn't go in standby mode.. after I re-open I have righti lock screen and I have to put my password (that's ok)

What have I to change in config files?
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it

Offline gordy

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #40 on: 05. November 2015, 21:45:06 »
joshuadunamis: check your config under terminal. The official release uses rxvt terminal. If you are using something else, mod+enter wont open terminal. If that is the case replace 'i3-sensible-terminal' with the terminal you use.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #41 on: 05. November 2015, 21:49:07 »
Right. The latest release actually launches a little script for urxvt to use the daemon.
Just leave the config as it is and create an executable file in /usr/local/bin named terminal, containing this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
urxvtc $@
if [ $? -eq 2 ]; then
  urxvtd -q -o -f
  urxvtc $@
fi

8)
« Last Edit: 05. November 2015, 21:51:03 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #42 on: 05. November 2015, 21:49:16 »
joshuadunamis: check your config under terminal. The official release uses rxvt terminal. If you are using something else, mod+enter wont open terminal. If that is the case replace 'i3-sensible-terminal' with the terminal you use.

Thanks gordy, I was just writing I did that a few of minutes ago and now it works well. In the config file there was "terminal" and I changed in "urxvt". It now works!!!

Now I'm finding the solution of the lid problem... I am looking in the official i3 guide ...
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #43 on: 05. November 2015, 21:57:49 »
Right. The latest release actually launches a little script for urxvt to use the daemon.
Just leave the config as it is and create an executable file in /usr/local/bin named terminal, containing this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
urxvtc $@
if [ $? -eq 2 ]; then
  urxvtd -q -o -f
  urxvtc $@
fi
Ok thanks also to you oberon for this suggest and your great job on Manjaro i3!!! Yes I corrected now as you suggested and it works!
8)
« Last Edit: 05. November 2015, 21:59:25 by joshuadunamis »
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #44 on: 05. November 2015, 22:24:07 »
I'm confused about the suspend-on-lid-closed issue.. In the previous configuration it worked. I found something about some similar issues on Ubuntu and i3 but solutions are very intrusive like "insert strange voices on systemd, or acpi". On Plasma 5 it works perfectly... on i3 it worked too before this update (and my previous config files). If I do $MOD+0 and then press "s" it go right in suspend mode!!! If I close the lid it does not it. But when I reopen it needs my password, so it recognize the lid closing. Why do not go in suspend mode anymore??
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it