Author Topic: tweaking i3  (Read 11904 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #15 on: 29. September 2015, 07:49:51 »
Fixed it and the ISOs are currently uploading  8)
Btw, there was a little typo in shadow-exclude = [ "class_g" = 'i3-frame'" ]
One extra quote after class_g that needs to be left out! ;)

btw @Airblader, when is i3 4.11 to be expected and can we test it already? Is there a secret PKGBUILD somewhere?  >:D
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Airblader

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #16 on: 29. September 2015, 07:58:19 »
4.11 will ship very soon ;) You can always just use the next branch of i3. Releasing i3 just means merging that into master. So for example just install i3-git.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #17 on: 29. September 2015, 11:45:10 »
4.11 will ship very soon ;) You can always just use the next branch of i3. Releasing i3 just means merging that into master. So for example just install i3-git.
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Airblader

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #18 on: 30. September 2015, 09:15:47 »
It has just been released. :)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #19 on: 30. September 2015, 12:13:22 »
It has just been released. :)
Supercool! 8)
I am already toggling sticky ;D
Code: [Select]
bindsym $mod+Shift+s sticky togglefun!
Congratulations and thanks, Airblader and everybody at i3!
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #20 on: 13. October 2015, 18:58:56 »
hello folks first of all. I know i mught have couple of questions that are silly and can be found googleing but i tried and just well i can't somehow find them. So i need your help. I looked in all configs and didn't find what i was looking for or somehow missed that. So here we go :)

1. Can i somehow move my i3-bar on top?
2. Where can i configure i3-bar. What i want is to remove lan part from it and somehow fix battery status since it's not working (it says no battery all the time).
3. Where can i edit/remove conky's from desktop (the bottom left and top right ones)? .conkyrec is empty soo :S

That would be all for now. I know it might be silly but i'm still newbie to WMs. I edited configs a little to suite my tastes and added icons to workspaces but i want to do more! :D
here's a pic for you :)
Thanks a bunch!  ;D


Offline twodogsdave

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: Radeon HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #21 on: 13. October 2015, 19:54:37 »
1) put i3 bar on top
put 'position top' in i3 config file under the 'bar' section.

2) look at your i3status.conf file
put a hash mark (#) in front of 'order' to not display a section.
ex: 
order += "cpu_usage"
# order += "load"
order += "disk /"
# order += "disk /home"
order += "wireless _first_"
order += "ethernet _first_"
order += "battery 0"
order += "tztime local"
# order += "ipv6"
# order += "run_watch DHCP"

3) uncomment the conky part in the i3 config file
# exec --no-startup-id ~/.conky/start_conky_grey

Hope this helps!

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #22 on: 13. October 2015, 20:02:58 »
i would gladly say it helped but it didn't, even one bit xD

1. i searched my config too and i still haven't found something with bar and position. Here's my config: http://pastebin.com/Fcc1FD3V

2. searched im pcmanfm for i3status.conf and still couldn't find one. Am i that dumb or what? :O

3. it is uncommented like that and it still boots up. Well it's getting weird now xD

Thanks for your help tho

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #23 on: 13. October 2015, 20:39:28 »
1. i searched my config too and i still haven't found something with bar and position. Here's my config: http://pastebin.com/Fcc1FD3V
The entry about i3bar starts in line 247 of your config
Remember that you have to reload the config to apply the settings (mod+Shift+c)
Quote
2. searched im pcmanfm for i3status.conf and still couldn't find one. Am i that dumb or what? :O
The default config is stored in /etc/i3status.conf. Best practice if you want to customize it is to copy and rename it to ~/.i3status.conf and edit that one. i3status will automatically use your custom file then.
Quote
3. it is uncommented like that and it still boots up. Well it's getting weird now xD
When I look at your config: only the grey conky is commented out! Comment out line 274 and conky will not start next time. With
Code: [Select]
pkill conkyyou can stop it right away in the current session :)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #24 on: 13. October 2015, 20:52:14 »
Thanks! I did what i needed with 1 and 2! Now for the 3rd one. I killed it manually but i want to kill only bottom one? Are they together as one conky? :D

Offline twodogsdave

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: Radeon HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #25 on: 13. October 2015, 22:02:31 »


Hey, audiosl4ve.  Sorry, not too familiar with fonts, but I saw your config in pastebin and was wondering what font do I install to get my bar to look like yours (the workspace names)?  Thanks.

Offline audiosl4ve

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Linux scrub
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • GPU Card: Intel HD
  • Kernel: 64bit 4.1.11
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #26 on: 13. October 2015, 22:03:31 »
just copy paste icon from here to text editor and voila :)

http://fortawesome.github.io/Font-Awesome/cheatsheet/

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #27 on: 15. October 2015, 02:17:25 »
Thanks! I did what i needed with 1 and 2! Now for the 3rd one. I killed it manually but i want to kill only bottom one? Are they together as one conky? :D
No, they are actually two separate conkies.
The scripts start_conky_grey and ..._green are located in /usr/bin/ There you can comment out the shortcut one :)
As you will see there, the conky config files live in /usr/share/conky/

have fun! :)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Belemrys

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • I love Manjaro i3!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Radeon r9 270
  • GPU driver: MESA
  • Kernel: 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #28 on: 16. October 2015, 19:56:37 »
No, they are actually two separate conkies.
The scripts start_conky_grey and ..._green are located in /usr/bin/ There you can comment out the shortcut one :)
As you will see there, the conky config files live in /usr/share/conky/

have fun! :)

Worked perfectly for me! Why don't we get a conky manager? I feel like you include it in your Fluxbox ISO...

Offline paolo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
  • GPU driver: Mesa
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #29 on: 25. October 2015, 18:30:36 »
hello !
thanks to the suggestion of Oberon and Twodogsdave I make some small modification to my laptop... but my laptop can use 2 battery   ::)
I make a modification in etc/i3status.conf but the first battery is showed, and for the second battery I can only see ¨No battery¨
Code: [Select]
# i3status configuration file.
# see "man i3status" for documentation.

# It is important that this file is edited as UTF-8.
# The following line should contain a sharp s:
# ß
# If the above line is not correctly displayed, fix your editor first!

general {
        colors = yes
        interval = 5
color_good = "#2ECC71"
        color_bad = "#E74C3C"
# color_degraded = " "
}

order += "cpu_usage"
# order += "load"
order += "disk /"
# order += "disk /home"
order += "wireless _first_"
order += "ethernet _first_"
order += "battery 1"
order += "battery 2"
order += "tztime local"
# order += "ipv6"
# order += "run_watch DHCP"
# order += "run_watch VPN"

cpu_usage {
format = " cpu  %usage "
}
load {
format = " load %1min "
# max_threshold = 0.3
}
disk "/" {
# format = " hdd %avail "
format = " ⛁ %avail "
}
disk "/home" {
format = " /home %avail "
}
wireless _first_ {
# format_up = "W: (%quality at %essid) %ip"
format_up = "  %essid %quality "
format_down = " no wlan "
}
ethernet _first_ {
# if you use %speed, i3status requires root privileges
format_up = " lan: %ip %speed "
format_down = " no lan "
}
battery 1 {
# format = "%status %percentage %remaining %emptytime"
format = " %status %percentage"
format_down = "No battery"
last_full_capacity = true
integer_battery_capacity = true
# status_chr = ""
status_chr = "⚡"
status_bat = ""
# status_bat = "bat"
# status_bat = "☉"
# status_full = ""
status_full = "☻"
        low_threshold = 15
threshold_type = time
}
battery 2 {
# format = "%status %percentage %remaining %emptytime"
format = " %status %percentage"
format_down = "No battery"
last_full_capacity = true
integer_battery_capacity = true
# status_chr = ""
status_chr = "⚡"
status_bat = ""
# status_bat = "bat"
# status_bat = "☉"
# status_full = ""
status_full = "☻"
        low_threshold = 15
threshold_type = time
}
tztime local {
#        format = "%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S"
format = " %d.%m. %H:%M "
}

# run_watch DHCP {
#         pidfile = "/var/run/dhclient*.pid"
# }
# run_watch VPN {
#         pidfile = "/var/run/vpnc/pid"
# }
As you can see in the file the batterys are called ¨ battery 1¨ e ¨battery 2¨, in the screeshot in xfce-battery-settings the batterys are called ¨Battery_BAT1¨ e ¨ Battery_BAT0¨  :o
If in the file I write ¨battery 0¨ i3bar show only 1 battery
Can someone help me please ?


« Last Edit: 27. October 2015, 14:19:38 by paolo »
Dell Latitude C640 – CPU P4 2Ghz – RAM 2 GB
HP Compaq nx6310 - CPU M410 1,46Ghz - RAM 2 GB
Asus EeePC 1001PX - CPU Atom N450 1,66Ghz - RAM 2 GB
HP Pavillion dv2000 - CPU T7300 2Ghz - RAM 3 GB
all for Manjaro i3 by oberon