Author Topic: Cinnamon on OpenRC  (Read 2992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tailor

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Guru
Cinnamon on OpenRC
« on: 28. June 2015, 09:42:52 »
Will Cinnamon desktop run on Manjaro OpenRC? What is the best way to install it, by the XFCE ISO, or the NET ISO? Any other special advice? Thank you kindly.

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #1 on: 28. June 2015, 10:44:09 »
According to ringo, cinnamon has consolekit support, meaning it won't require a running systemd logind.

What definitely doesn't work is gnome with non systemd setup.
« Last Edit: 28. June 2015, 10:47:22 by artoo »

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #2 on: 28. June 2015, 10:50:31 »
you have to open Dconf-editor and in org.desktop.cinnamon.session i gues must be unchecked.. have stil to test it if its truly possible

theoretical is a yes because of consolekit support
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline Ivanwah

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670
  • GPU driver: Free (radeon)
  • Kernel: 4.2
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #3 on: 28. June 2015, 14:52:37 »
It worked fine for me, I only needed to do what ringo said above. The only thing that didn't work is power settings, but I didn't really try to find the solution for that. I used NET iso.

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #4 on: 28. June 2015, 18:23:06 »
It worked fine for me, I only needed to do what ringo said above. The only thing that didn't work is power settings, but I didn't really try to find the solution for that. I used NET iso.

Is upower-pm-utils installed?

I think net iso comes with standard upower instead.

Offline beardedragon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Branch: Stable OpenRC & Testing Systemd
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28)
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GK208 [GeForce GT 720/PCIe/SSE2]
  • GPU driver: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 361.42(non-free)
  • Kernel: 4.4-6 & 4.6-rc5-MANJARO-x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #5 on: 28. June 2015, 19:28:24 »
You may wish to change to Networkmanager.  Seems to be installed with cinnamon along side of Xfce.
Instructions:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S networkmanager-openrc network-manager-applet
pkill wicd-gtk
sudo rc-update del wicd
sudo rc-service wicd stop
sudo rc-update add NetworkManager
sudo rc-service NetworkManager start
nm-applet &
Then remove wicd.
« Last Edit: 28. June 2015, 19:29:56 by beardedragon »
Robert Collard Madison, WI
Lenova K450e  8GB RAM
ManjaroLinux 15.12 Capella

Offline Ivanwah

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670
  • GPU driver: Free (radeon)
  • Kernel: 4.2
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #6 on: 28. June 2015, 20:16:04 »
Is upower-pm-utils installed?

I think net iso comes with standard upower instead.
That was probably it, I didn't install it. I can't test it though, since I reinstalled the systemd version when 0.8.13 came out.

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #7 on: 28. June 2015, 20:26:31 »
That was probably it, I didn't install it. I can't test it though, since I reinstalled the systemd version when 0.8.13 came out.

Will most probably work if you swap upower for upower-pm-utils.  ;)

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #8 on: 28. June 2015, 20:44:15 »
is openrc version needed ?  ::) .. hemmm just curius ...
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #9 on: 28. June 2015, 20:45:55 »
is openrc version needed ?  ::) .. hemmm just curius ...

We are now pretty flexible when it comes to building iso profile for a specific init.  :)

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #10 on: 28. June 2015, 20:47:58 »
its possible have stil to make a new profile for it also ..
is mayby just a minor change , have to play with that in vbox first.. will see in the end of the week to make a openrc version?
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #11 on: 28. June 2015, 21:05:31 »
its possible have stil to make a new profile for it also ..
is mayby just a minor change , have to play with that in vbox first.. will see in the end of the week to make a openrc version?

I can make your cinnamon profile buildable for two inits.
Its just a matter of using new Package list format.  :)

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #12 on: 28. June 2015, 21:10:58 »
oh i thought for most things are in profile and manjaro-tools ? only have to change dconf that disabled systemd-logind
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline nadir

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #13 on: 05. April 2016, 10:53:19 »
I can make your cinnamon profile buildable for two inits.
Its just a matter of using new Package list format.  :)

btw, @artoo, how is the manjaro lxqt-minimal openrc edition?
is there any other flavor of manjaro openrc?

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Cinnamon on OpenRC
« Reply #14 on: 05. April 2016, 11:50:38 »
btw, @artoo, how is the manjaro lxqt-minimal openrc edition?
is there any other flavor of manjaro openrc?

lxqt-minimal is at 15.03.

Aaditya releases from time to time xfce-openrc.

Generally, I consider it not necessary to have many install media out, since all the individual tastes and requirements can be installed from the repos. You can even install a systemd edition and then swap out systemd for openrc , eudev and consolekit.

That said, chances are towards zero for me to do any gtk based edition.
I may do kde-minimal again for openrc.