Author Topic: manjaro-i3 0.8.13  (Read 1637 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« on: 14. June 2015, 21:42:14 »
I am happy and proud to announce that with the release of official 0.8.13 manjaro-i3 0.8.13 (stable) is now available for download from the community space of the manjaro download-pages



During the last couple of weeks the i3-edition has seen 4 development versions and a pre-release.
new features with this latest stable release are
  • pre-installed printer-support with the improved manjaro-printer package
  • improved floating window rules, independent of system language
  • featuring the new official icon theme Maia
  • mousewheel for i3statusbar optional
  • gnome-polkit for pkexec/gksu-support
  • all packages now in manjaro stable repos
have fun! ^-^
oberon
« Last Edit: 14. June 2015, 21:45:20 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline NatGeo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #1 on: 15. June 2015, 01:50:56 »
Thanks this is awesome -hmm ehhr well not it's i3- but I was looking forward to your i3 release.
thaanks!!!

Offline simgin

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
  • Branch: All.
  • Desktop: XFCE+Alpine Linux, Mate+Fedora, Ubuntu Server + Mate and NoX+LinuxBBQ
  • GPU Card: GeForce 8600M & GT 555M 2GB
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #2 on: 28. June 2015, 11:57:10 »
Congrats Oberon :)

Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #3 on: 14. July 2015, 06:58:31 »
Rofi (available in aur) looks like it's intended specifically for i3 to replace dmenu and to provide window switching.

https://davedavenport.github.io/rofi/

Code: [Select]
rofi -show run -font "snap 10" -fg "#505050" -bg "#000000" -hlfg "#ffb964" -hlbg "#000000" -o 85
A very nice idea, but unfortunately is not working for me. Maybe it will work for others.

Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #4 on: 14. July 2015, 08:58:47 »
Okay, I got rofi to work. It works very nicely to switch windows.

Code: [Select]
bindsym $mod+Tab exec --no-startup-id rofi -show window -font "snap 11" -fg "#DDDDDD" -bg "#222222" -hlfg "#DDDDDD" -hlbg "#7DA555" -fg-active "#DDDDDD" -bg-active "#003D99" -o 85

It has the great advantage that when you are in the windows list, you can switch to "run" and "ssh" modes with Shift+left/right.

A disadvantage is that in "run" mode you cannot complete the command and add parameters to it - when you select the command, it's launched immediately. For this reason, dmenu may be additionally needed to do commands with parameters. Rofi is supposed to have a dmenu mode too, but I didn't get this to work at all.
 
Earlier I recommended quickswitch.py fo i3 to switch windows, but quickswitch.py is as slow as dmenu and based off of dmenu.

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #5 on: 14. July 2015, 17:26:27 »
rofi works nice with I3

first step in your config you start the daemon with e.g
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id rofi -key-run mod4+d -font monospace\ 9 -hlbg "#285577" -opacity "50" -lines 5 -terminal terminator -location 6 -sidebar-mode -lines 0
then you can use rofi with mod4+d or your favorite-Keybind

Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #6 on: 14. July 2015, 20:19:59 »
@Sdoubleyou
Is there a way to do in rofi like dmenu does:

1. Select a command from the list in "run" mode
2. Add parameters to it
3. Then launch?

As far as I can see, rofi executes immediately and does not allow to add parameters. Dmenu allows to add parameters.

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #7 on: 14. July 2015, 21:21:41 »
if I get it right:

First you define the terminal with other start-parameters for rofi, e.g
Code: [Select]
rofi -terminal urxvt show run
or your terminal like xterm, terminator.

a normal command, e.g. "zathura", you can work like dmenu
Code: [Select]
zathura and hit enteror
If you whant to start a cli-Package like mc, you start it with
Code: [Select]
mc and press Shift+Entermc starts in the terminal

or vim with parameters
Code: [Select]
vim /home/sdoubleyou/.i3/config and press Shift + Enter~ does not work!

rofi like dmenu, you must work wirth startparameters



Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #8 on: 14. July 2015, 23:57:28 »
I figured it out how rifo "run" mode can run commands with parameters. You cannot select the the command from the list. If you select it, it launches. Instead, you have to type it complete and then add parameters.

This particular thing is inconvenient in rifo and more convenient in dmenu.

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro-i3 0.8.13
« Reply #9 on: 15. July 2015, 16:13:05 »
You cannot select the the command from the list. If you select it, it launches. Instead, you have to type it complete and then add parameters.

you can work with
Code: [Select]
ctrl+space
Example:  za - select zathura and hit ctrl+space, then you can work with parameters. It works also with the Chronic.

You find any key combination in the man
Code: [Select]
man rofi