Author Topic: manjaro i3 2015  (Read 6559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #30 on: 06. May 2015, 13:58:48 »
do not use qps, it is qt4 based and it does not get maintained any longer.

lxtask is the default task manager from lxde, it is gtk2 based but still gets maintained. it is also pretty light.

alternatively, you could simply create a link, which opens top or htop in a terminal window as suggested by Sdoubleyou.
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #31 on: 06. May 2015, 15:00:11 »
Quote
But I think your I3-configuration is not the right way for I3. I3 is WM not DE! - Work with htop
hm ??? I appear to have no DE at all then...! At least not 'officially'. Everything is working perfectly fine like this, though! What should I change?
« Last Edit: 06. May 2015, 15:31:12 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #32 on: 06. May 2015, 17:00:59 »
@Sdoubleyou: You mean because it is not listed by screenfetch?
This looks ok, doesn't it?
Code: [Select]
$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION
i3
Code: [Select]
$ inxi -Sx
System:    Host: manjaro-i3 Kernel: 4.0.0-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.9.2)
           Desktop: i3 4.10.2 Distro: ManjaroLinux 0.8.12 Ascella
« Last Edit: 06. May 2015, 17:02:47 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #33 on: 06. May 2015, 18:30:03 »
not chase! It's my opinion. Make your calm thing.  ;D
Sure, you can put everything in floating,but I3 is tilling WM, work a lot of in the terminal.They treat the screen as a kind of table and not as an DE with windows.

This is actually the problem, too much Xfce in the background?
If you are using xfce packages as base, one thing to cobsider is including xfsettingsd in the autostart. This enables you to xfce4-settings-manager to configure monitors, mouse and gtk-themes and other stuff.

It might be nice for new users, but if you are aiming for minimalist system, is not absolutely necessary.

I using I3 with urxvt or terminator, Dunst, i3-lock, mc, DWB Browser newsbeuter, cmus, htop, Alpine-mail and WeeChat. All light programs in the terminal.

Again, Do not be afraid, make it! :-)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #34 on: 06. May 2015, 18:40:48 »
yeah, I understand what you mean mow! :D When I hear "configuration" these days I am immediately looking at config files instead of thinking common sense first it appears :D
A little different a mentality to discover, obviously, the tiling world it seems... :)
I would love to use urxvt, but sofar I couldn't get the transparency working there (with compton) ...
Sure, you tend to use what you are used to in the beginning, right? ;)
I find the tiling philosophy really appealing and fascinating - I'm just still a bit too shy and unexperienced with really hard core terminal use, like pure text internet browsing for example ::) ... :D
Thank you all for your patience  8)
« Last Edit: 06. May 2015, 18:47:29 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline simgin

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
  • Branch: All.
  • Desktop: XFCE+Alpine Linux, Mate+Fedora, Ubuntu Server + Mate and NoX+LinuxBBQ
  • GPU Card: GeForce 8600M & GT 555M 2GB
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #35 on: 06. May 2015, 19:07:29 »
^ That, and OP hlw much TUI do you want?

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #36 on: 06. May 2015, 19:18:46 »
I would love to use urxvt, but sofar I couldn't get the transparency working there (with compton) ...

Code: [Select]
urxvt*transparent: truein .Xdefaults not working?

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #37 on: 06. May 2015, 19:41:43 »
hlw much TUI do you want?
That's a good question!
Personally I'm finding it hard to say goodbye to graphical Internetbrowser and mail/calender-client with Google sync and I wouldn't know of an alternative for Skype.
I also need to use an office suite and some software for photo-, video-, audio- and music-score editing regularly.
For these reasons i3 seems to be quite a good place for me inbetween the floating and tiling worlds - on the other end, when I use xfce, I find myself constantly using the keyboard shortcuts for window tiling  ;D ::)
Also I try to avoid the mouse and keep my hands on the keyboard as much as possible and I enjoy how - with a little bit of practice - this really speeds up the workflow.
And also: The increase in performance with my i3 setup compared to xfce is remarkable on my machine!
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #38 on: 06. May 2015, 20:05:24 »
oberon2007, is this not a better way for you?
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=6831.msg59567#msg59567

Thanks a lot for this tutorial! I will give it a try :)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #39 on: 06. May 2015, 20:08:41 »
Code: [Select]
urxvt*transparent: truein .Xdefaults not working?

 ::) yes it is  ;D
Thanks  O:-)
The Arch wiki only talks about .Xresources, but that didn't work...
« Last Edit: 06. May 2015, 23:09:29 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline simgin

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
  • Branch: All.
  • Desktop: XFCE+Alpine Linux, Mate+Fedora, Ubuntu Server + Mate and NoX+LinuxBBQ
  • GPU Card: GeForce 8600M & GT 555M 2GB
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #40 on: 06. May 2015, 20:15:00 »
 ;D  ;D ;D ;D ^-^ Well spotted Sdoubleyou  C:-)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #41 on: 06. May 2015, 21:44:06 »
is this not a better way for you?

I have tried this a while ago already, thank you.
But no, its not ideal at all and quite messy actually. That's why I am looking for a different setup with i3 as the basis and additions for what I absolutely need and want.
At the moment I am only still using notifyd and the power-manager. So why should I have the whole xfce-setup in the background for two packages I am actually using? And I also don't see why I am supposed to scratch my head about hundreds of lines of config for dunst or about writing three new scripts to get my hotkeys working when someone has already created two neat packages that I can install in 10 seconds that take care of all that, integrate nicely and without further ado into the i3 bar and have a nice design, too?
I read a lot about i3 in different places and I see that many users borrow from other flavors to make their lives easier, be it xfce, gnome or lxde...
« Last Edit: 06. May 2015, 23:08:51 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline mxx

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Openbox/i3wm
  • Kernel: linux4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #42 on: 11. May 2015, 17:07:48 »
Here's another glitch I encountered: Floating window cannot be lowered. It's a glitch for me as someone used to windowing instead of tiling.

 I have set focus to follow mouse, but focus and click do not raise tiles over floating windows. Somehow floating windows remain on top layer. The only way to have access to an underlying maximised tile is to move it to another workspace.

This is quite uncomfortable. I want it to be easy to lower and raise floating windows. I tried looking around for documentation, but no luck.


Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #43 on: 11. May 2015, 17:20:14 »
The focus does follow, but a tile will never be 'in front of' a floating window in i3, that's right. You have to either tile it back in with mod+Shift+Space or, yes, you can move it to another workspace of course. Focus between tiling and floating windows can be switched with mod+Space or be hovering the mouse over the desired window.
Those things just need to get used to, I know - it can be quite irritating when you are used to a different desktop environment. :)
Of course in i3 a floating window is meant to be the exception rather than something you have regularly in front of the tiles.
Very often I use the applications that need to float on their designated own workspace and then switch quickly between them by shortcuts. The latest version of the config also includes workspace_auto_back_and_forth, which makes it easier to jump between two workspaces also when they are not adjacent. :)
« Last Edit: 11. May 2015, 17:26:06 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #44 on: 11. May 2015, 18:47:12 »
Quote
but focus and click do not raise tiles over floating windows. Somehow floating windows remain on top layer.
In order to raise a tiled window you will need to float that one, too (mod+Shift+Space), but then again, its like fighting the whole philosophy of a tiling window manager ...  C:-) ;)
To understand the concept of tiling it is maybe helpful to imagine the tiles to actually become part of the desktop, like tiles on a laboratory table. Sometimes you can put some extra stuff on that surface, but the table will never be in front of the piece of paper that's lying on top if it!
Its not easy to get rid of old habits, but it can be very exciting, at the same time! :)
« Last Edit: 11. May 2015, 18:52:52 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin