Author Topic: manjaro i3 2015  (Read 6184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #15 on: 05. May 2015, 09:32:21 »
Quote from: ringo link=topic=225nnoxsg199432 date=1430808292
i3 is the main map have packages-i3 etc, its normally set. asked a while back
Oops, sorry I don't know what you mean ???
In manjaro tools I see a variety of overlays, but no i3.
So do I use net and add what I want? Or xfce-minimal and remove what I don't want?
I think my version uses more xfce than openbox packages...
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline simgin

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
  • Branch: All.
  • Desktop: XFCE+Alpine Linux, Mate+Fedora, Ubuntu Server + Mate and NoX+LinuxBBQ
  • GPU Card: GeForce 8600M & GT 555M 2GB
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #16 on: 05. May 2015, 10:06:41 »
^ I would vote for a net-install, and add what you need, cleaner and most often it is easier. :)

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #17 on: 05. May 2015, 10:22:53 »
Oops, sorry I don't know what you mean ???
In manjaro tools I see a variety of overlays, but no i3.
So do I use net and add what I want? Or xfce-minimal and remove what I don't want?
I think my version uses more xfce than openbox packages...

my config is just i3 , in that map is i3-overlay same as other configuration so its stands on its own..


just make what you like :) ill do my own :pbut is private build offcourse ... personal toomuch xfce is also not ok :)

but is a opinion..still an i3-iso must be minimal but good for people to try out this without configuring there self, so this way they discover i3 later stage they could always configure what they want basicly :)

just do what you like to do :)

Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #18 on: 05. May 2015, 10:48:35 »
Yes, I get it ... slowly ;)
Is there still a way I will be able to share it with the community?
Can I upload it somewhere when I'm ready? - maybe already tonight...  8)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #19 on: 05. May 2015, 10:59:18 »
toomuch xfce is also not ok :)
Meanwhile its only power-manager and notifyd I use. They are just very useful and good looking tools and power-manager also handles the backlight on laptops - that's really helpful to have I think.
Yes I think I can build my overlay from the net version, that will be best...
 8) wish me luck with the intimidating manjaro-tools monster!!  :o O:-) ;D
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #20 on: 05. May 2015, 11:02:06 »
just try to build xfce4-power-manager handles the lightlocker and is not so much depended ...

dunst has only some standard depency already in see my link... dotshare.it is nice because all notification is cropped in one so less full screen :)

just try eventual error can be fixed later...


and ..

you can upload to sourceforge make a account , filezilla easily shared.

or using rsync :)

thunar vs pcmanfm , pcmanfm handles ssh aswel :) network standard
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #21 on: 05. May 2015, 11:28:23 »
usually, it is best to start from the net-edition profile located here (by default):
Code: [Select]
~/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/net/
you can simple copy and rename it to "i3", but please rename "packages-net" and "net-overlay", too.

you can always look at xfce-minimal or all other profiles and "steal" config files or package names (inside the packages-xfce-minimal file) from them.

by default, all files (and links to) the ~/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/shared/ directory should not get modified. it contains files common to all manjaro editions.


you can create a github account and fork https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/ . then, you can upload changes to your own github repo. when your iso works you can start a pull request.

for iso files, you can create a sourceforge account or offer the iso from any other webhosting service you choose.
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #22 on: 05. May 2015, 11:41:39 »
Thanks a lot ex! :)
Should I also add the name of the new overlay in /etc/manjaro-tools/sets/iso/community.set then ?
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #23 on: 05. May 2015, 11:47:23 »
thunar vs pcmanfm , pcmanfm handles ssh aswel :) network standard
I will have a look at pcmanfm, too! :)
At the moment I am using spacefm - I like the split windows and its handling of mounted devices.
Couldn't get dunst to work properly, yet  ::) Will need to have a look at this enooooooouuuuumos config file later - for some reason its not working in my setup. It only prints 'pa-applet' when I change the volume and looks ugly ;) ... So would still need a lot of tweaking for sure  8)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #24 on: 05. May 2015, 11:51:20 »
pcmanfm is stil maintained the gtk part of lxde..

dunst worked here but not tested as a whole only on irc for that notifications for sure :p


in vbox is to try, but if i aint right you can copy the work you now working on to a new map and rename all those to i3 like xfce-overlay to i3-overlay
etc etc

i think it should work if non you find out :) just copied now here the vbox config now i have to look for my own thing  :)

Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #25 on: 05. May 2015, 11:52:41 »
Ah yes, pcmanfm is really cool, too!
Only option I am missing is a root window. Or am I just not seeing that?
« Last Edit: 05. May 2015, 12:09:15 by oberon2007 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #26 on: 05. May 2015, 11:56:40 »
Thanks a lot ex! :)
Should I also add the name of the new overlay in /etc/manjaro-tools/sets/iso/community.set then ?
buildsets are different from iso profiles.

you can choose your iso profile when building your iso, e.g. "sudo buildiso -p i3 -a i686".
the buildset has to be specified in the manjaro-tools.conf file (but it is set to default - i always use this).

i do not know exactly what a buildset is, but it is only important for building official preview, testing and RC images. so, ignore that for the moment.
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #27 on: 05. May 2015, 12:04:38 »
i dont know latest manjaro-tools also dont know what meaning of buildset :/

only i know some script further i know aaditya added i3 while back where i forgoth.
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #28 on: 06. May 2015, 12:05:45 »
Any suggestions for a taskmanager in i3 ?
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Sdoubleyou

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: openrc + KDE | systemd + spectrwm
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: manjaro i3 2015
« Reply #29 on: 06. May 2015, 13:47:01 »
you can try lxtask from LxQT or qps.

But I think your I3-configuration is not the right way for I3. I3 is WM not DE! - Work with htop