Author Topic: Budgie desktop instalation help  (Read 1571 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mackay508

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Novice
Budgie desktop instalation help
« on: 14. April 2015, 12:45:01 »
Im quite new to Manjaro and I wanted to try and add Budgie desktop to my laptop. Below is the way I've tried to install it and from what I read was the best way to do it. Everything goes ok until  the end where I get one error and I cant seem to find a way to sort it out.

Quote
yaourt -S budgie-desktop-git

==> Downloading budgie-desktop-git PKGBUILD from AUR...
x .SRCINFO
x PKGBUILD
x budgie-desktop.install
Comment by FallenSnow  (2015-03-10 18:11)
Should gnome-control-center not be added to the list of dependencies? Installing it was the only way I could get the settings to open.

Comment by joebonrichie  (2015-04-01 08:31)
Missing dependency: gobject-introspection

Needed to compile

Comment by ricardomv  (2015-04-01 12:16)
@joebonrichie yup thanks

Comment by kzero11  (2015-04-03 00:09)
I getting this error during build.

gtk+-3.0.vapi:3135.27-3135.40: error: The type name `GLib.ListModel' could not be found

Comment by ricardomv  (2015-04-03 03:58)
@kzero11 yeah it doesn't build with gtk 3.16

budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r62.gc607ebe-2  (Fri 20 Dec 04:39:00 CET 2013)
( Unsupported package: Potentially dangerous ! )
==> budgie-desktop-git dependencies:
 - gtk3 (already installed)
 - upower (already installed)
 - libwnck3 (already installed)
 - gnome-menus (already installed)
 - gnome-settings-daemon (already installed)
 - libpeas (already installed)
 - mutter (already installed)
 - desktop-file-utils (already installed)
 - libpulse (already installed)
 - vala (already installed)
 - libgee (already installed)
 - gnome-themes-standard (already installed)
 - gnome-control-center (already installed)
 - autoconf (already installed)
 - git (already installed)
 - python2 (already installed)
 - gobject-introspection (already installed)


==> Continue building budgie-desktop-git ? [Y/n]
==> --------------------------------------------
==>
==> Building and installing package
==> Making package: budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r62.gc607ebe-2 (Tue 14 Apr 12:34:06 CEST 2015)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving sources...
  -> Cloning budgie-desktop-git git repo...
Cloning into bare repository '/tmp/yaourt-tmp-seoras/aur-budgie-desktop-git/budgie-desktop-git'...
remote: Counting objects: 3905, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (140/140), done.
remote: Total 3905 (delta 54), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 3760
Receiving objects: 100% (3905/3905), 14.14 MiB | 1.49 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (2591/2591), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    budgie-desktop-git ... Skipped
==> Extracting sources...
  -> Creating working copy of budgie-desktop git repo...
Cloning into 'budgie-desktop-git'...
done.
Switched to a new branch 'makepkg'
==> Starting pkgver()...
==> Updated version: budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r69.g3cd6ad8-1
==> Starting build()...
+ Setting up submodules
Submodule 'gvc' (https://git.gnome.org/browse/libgnome-volume-control) registered for path 'gvc'
Cloning into 'gvc'...
remote: Counting objects: 105, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (105/105), done.
remote: Total 105 (delta 67), reused 0 (delta 0)
Receiving objects: 100% (105/105), 77.57 KiB | 0 bytes/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (67/67), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'gvc': checked out 'e14dbe8aa6dfaeea4a9f3405cf2f3e238e88623b'
./autogen.sh: line 20: intltoolize: command not found
libtoolize: putting auxiliary files in '.'.
libtoolize: linking file './config.guess'
libtoolize: linking file './config.sub'
libtoolize: linking file './install-sh'
libtoolize: linking file './ltmain.sh'
libtoolize: putting macros in AC_CONFIG_MACRO_DIRS, 'm4'.
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/libtool.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltoptions.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltsugar.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltversion.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/lt~obsolete.m4'
./autogen.sh: line 28: intltoolize: command not found
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build budgie-desktop-git.
==> Restart building budgie-desktop-git ? [y/N]
==> -------------------------------------------
==>

I have tried sudo Pacman -Sc to see if anything was installed wrong and try again where I got

Quote
[seoras@aspire-mk2 ~]$ yaourt -S budgie-desktop-git

==> Downloading budgie-desktop-git PKGBUILD from AUR...
x .SRCINFO
x PKGBUILD
x budgie-desktop.install
Comment by FallenSnow  (2015-03-10 18:11)
Should gnome-control-center not be added to the list of dependencies? Installing it was the only way I could get the settings to open.

Comment by joebonrichie  (2015-04-01 08:31)
Missing dependency: gobject-introspection

Needed to compile

Comment by ricardomv  (2015-04-01 12:16)
@joebonrichie yup thanks

Comment by kzero11  (2015-04-03 00:09)
I getting this error during build.

gtk+-3.0.vapi:3135.27-3135.40: error: The type name `GLib.ListModel' could not be found

Comment by ricardomv  (2015-04-03 03:58)
@kzero11 yeah it doesn't build with gtk 3.16

budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r62.gc607ebe-2  (Fri 20 Dec 04:39:00 CET 2013)
( Unsupported package: Potentially dangerous ! )
==> budgie-desktop-git dependencies:
 - gtk3 (already installed)
 - upower (already installed)
 - libwnck3 (already installed)
 - gnome-menus (already installed)
 - gnome-settings-daemon (already installed)
 - libpeas (already installed)
 - mutter (already installed)
 - desktop-file-utils (already installed)
 - libpulse (already installed)
 - vala (already installed)
 - libgee (already installed)
 - gnome-themes-standard (already installed)
 - gnome-control-center (already installed)
 - autoconf (already installed)
 - git (already installed)
 - python2 (already installed)
 - gobject-introspection (already installed)


==> Continue building budgie-desktop-git ? [Y/n]
==> --------------------------------------------
==>
==> Building and installing package
==> Making package: budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r62.gc607ebe-2 (Tue 14 Apr 12:39:51 CEST 2015)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving sources...
  -> Cloning budgie-desktop-git git repo...
Cloning into bare repository '/tmp/yaourt-tmp-seoras/aur-budgie-desktop-git/budgie-desktop-git'...
remote: Counting objects: 3905, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (140/140), done.
remote: Total 3905 (delta 54), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 3760
Receiving objects: 100% (3905/3905), 14.14 MiB | 1.23 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (2591/2591), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    budgie-desktop-git ... Skipped
==> Extracting sources...
  -> Creating working copy of budgie-desktop git repo...
Cloning into 'budgie-desktop-git'...
done.
Switched to a new branch 'makepkg'
==> Starting pkgver()...
==> Updated version: budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r69.g3cd6ad8-1
==> Starting build()...
+ Setting up submodules
Submodule 'gvc' (https://git.gnome.org/browse/libgnome-volume-control) registered for path 'gvc'
Cloning into 'gvc'...
remote: Counting objects: 105, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (105/105), done.
remote: Total 105 (delta 67), reused 0 (delta 0)
Receiving objects: 100% (105/105), 77.57 KiB | 0 bytes/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (67/67), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'gvc': checked out 'e14dbe8aa6dfaeea4a9f3405cf2f3e238e88623b'
./autogen.sh: line 20: intltoolize: command not found
libtoolize: putting auxiliary files in '.'.
libtoolize: linking file './config.guess'
libtoolize: linking file './config.sub'
libtoolize: linking file './install-sh'
libtoolize: linking file './ltmain.sh'
libtoolize: putting macros in AC_CONFIG_MACRO_DIRS, 'm4'.
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/libtool.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltoptions.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltsugar.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/ltversion.m4'
libtoolize: linking file 'm4/lt~obsolete.m4'
./autogen.sh: line 28: intltoolize: command not found
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build budgie-desktop-git.
==> Restart building budgie-desktop-git ? [y/N]
==> -------------------------------------------
==>
==> budgie-desktop-git dependencies:
 - gtk3 (already installed)
 - upower (already installed)
 - libwnck3 (already installed)
 - gnome-menus (already installed)
 - gnome-settings-daemon (already installed)
 - libpeas (already installed)
 - mutter (already installed)
 - desktop-file-utils (already installed)
 - libpulse (already installed)
 - vala (already installed)
 - libgee (already installed)
 - gnome-themes-standard (already installed)
 - gnome-control-center (already installed)
 - autoconf (already installed)
 - git (already installed)
 - python2 (already installed)
 - gobject-introspection (already installed)


==> Continue building budgie-desktop-git ? [Y/n]
==> --------------------------------------------
==>
==> Building and installing package
==> Making package: budgie-desktop-git v8.1.r69.g3cd6ad8-1 (Tue 14 Apr 12:40:28 CEST 2015)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving sources...
  -> Updating budgie-desktop-git git repo...
Fetching origin
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    budgie-desktop-git ... Skipped
==> Extracting sources...
  -> Creating working copy of budgie-desktop git repo...
Reset branch 'makepkg'
==> Starting pkgver()...
==> Removing existing $pkgdir/ directory...
==> Starting build()...
./autogen.sh: line 20: intltoolize: command not found
./autogen.sh: line 28: intltoolize: command not found
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build budgie-desktop-git.
==> Restart building budgie-desktop-git ? [y/N]
==> -------------------------------------------
==>

Can anyone see where I have gone wrong or a way to install that I have not tried that could work. Sorry if this is in the wrong section.

Offline darso

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Keep 'er between the hedges!
  • Branch: OpenRC-Stable
  • Desktop: OpenBox+XFCE
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT610
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux43-x64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Budgie desktop instalation help
« Reply #1 on: 14. April 2015, 13:07:29 »
Hi mackay508, I don't know if this will help but I installed Budgie a while ago and it worked OOTB for me.  I did however use the version in the Manjaro repos and not the git version.
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S budgie-desktop
Maybe you were after the git version, if so this maybe no use to ya, hope ya get sorted.

Cheers,
darso.
It must be difficult... for those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority.
-G. Massey, Egyptologist.

Linux Counter Reg Number #578558

Offline mitchwtn

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Main desktop is a Mac Mini late 2012
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: plasma 5
  • GPU Card: GeForce 9400
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: x86_64 Linux 3.14
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Budgie desktop instalation help
« Reply #2 on: 14. April 2015, 13:45:23 »
Just curious what branch are you on?  I was actually planning on doing this today so I'll be curious to see any answer here.  I know it won't yet build with 3.16 but I figured on stable it should still build, maybe not though.

Offline darso

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Keep 'er between the hedges!
  • Branch: OpenRC-Stable
  • Desktop: OpenBox+XFCE
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT610
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux43-x64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Budgie desktop instalation help
« Reply #3 on: 14. April 2015, 14:34:23 »
Just curious what branch are you on?  I was actually planning on doing this today so I'll be curious to see any answer here.  I know it won't yet build with 3.16 but I figured on stable it should still build, maybe not though.

Hi mitchwtn, I would advise the Manjaro repos version mate, if you're just looking to have a look at it.  It installs and runs without user intervention, at least it did for me, all I had to do was select it at login screen although that was a while ago and under a systemd system, I haven't tried it in OpenRC but it should be the same.

Cheers,
darso.
It must be difficult... for those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority.
-G. Massey, Egyptologist.

Linux Counter Reg Number #578558