Author Topic: simple-scan replacement?  (Read 3803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xeto

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Skill: Novice
simple-scan replacement?
« on: 09. April 2015, 17:46:49 »
Have to search a simple-scan (requires gtk) replacement to use my epson printer / scanner.
Scan / print via network.
Suggestions?

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #1 on: 09. April 2015, 18:09:29 »
well, you can try the tools listed here:
https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=List_of_Qt_Applications
(in the scanning tools section)

if you find other non-gtk based tools, please report back so i can add it to that list.
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #2 on: 09. April 2015, 18:10:51 »
Have to search a simple-scan (requires gtk) replacement to use my epson printer / scanner.
Scan / print via network.
Suggestions?

Nope, and it will bring you gtk3...  :(

Code: [Select]
Dépend de             : sane  dconf  gtk3  colord  hicolor-icon-theme
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #3 on: 09. April 2015, 18:21:02 »
xsane and xsane2tess are gtk2-based, but I don't know if it's a replacement.
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Xeto

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #4 on: 10. April 2015, 08:59:43 »
Print should work with cups and gutenprint (200MB, but AUR Epson driver wasn't sucessful...).

At the moment I test the scanner with sane / iscan (iscan-plugin-network, add "net <IP>" to epkowa.conf. Scanner is found and connected by "Image Scan for Linux", but each scan is empty (white page)...
There is no alternative to simple-scan (simle UI, works fine) at the moment. Just install and it works.


By the way...
I tried to copy & paste text from terminal, but it doesn't work. No context menu. ctrl + c or select text not copy it to clipboard.

« Last Edit: 10. April 2015, 09:54:59 by Xeto »

Offline Xeto

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #5 on: 10. April 2015, 10:32:00 »
After some more tests (and installed packages...)

xsane, gbscan and simple-scan are working, but I don't like the xsane UI...
No change with iScan (Epson Stylus WorkForce 600)

gbScan isn't that complex with following dependencies. gbscan has no menu entry. I started it with "gbscan" via terminal.
Scan works as root (I think there are some permissions / group membership to test).
Code: [Select]
gambas3-runtime>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-form>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-form-dialog>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-qt4>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-qt4-ext>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-desktop>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-pdf gambas3-gb-image-effect>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-image-imlib>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-image>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-settings>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-desktop-x11 sane
« Last Edit: 10. April 2015, 10:39:21 by Xeto »

Offline excalibur1234

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • GPU driver: video-nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #6 on: 10. April 2015, 13:32:58 »
By the way...
I tried to copy & paste text from terminal, but it doesn't work. No context menu. ctrl + c or select text not copy it to clipboard.
ctrl+c is the keyboard shortcut for canceling any active process in your terminal (equivalent to pressing alt+f4 to cancel/close a program in windows and some linux DE).
when you want to copy and paste content/text to/from the terminal, you can do it (sometimes - but not always) by selecting a text and pasting it with the middle mouse button or by using ctrl+shift+c for copying and ctrl+shift+v for pasting.

when you have trouble with copying and pasting between different programs, you can also try to experiment with clipboard managers like qlipper.
please remember that without a clipboard manager copying and pasting only works between OPEN applications (so, copy, then close the application, then paste does NOT work in general).
Need more information? Search here:   Manjaro Forum   |   Manjaro Wiki   |   Arch Wiki

Offline Xeto

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #7 on: 10. April 2015, 16:27:15 »
Thanks, I'll test it. Maybe a clipboard manager should do it ;)

At the moment gbscan could be the best (UI not to complex...) replacement for Simple-Scan.
Any sucess with iScan (Epson scanner...)?

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #8 on: 10. April 2015, 16:40:07 »
gbscan-git is recent and based on sane, yes.
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline JayGuevara

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • I wonder what happens if I do this...
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: GTX650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Novice
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #9 on: 10. April 2015, 17:34:44 »
Skanlite does what you need, but you need kdebase-rutime and all its deps.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #10 on: 10. April 2015, 17:37:16 »
Skanlite does what you need, but you need kdebase-rutime and all its deps.

Code: [Select]
Taille totale du téléchargement :  110,08 MiB
Taille totale installée :         367,15 MiB

Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Mozon

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: HD 4600
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #11 on: 10. April 2015, 18:11:43 »
I'm not shure if  this is the right but I found a Frontend for Sane.

It's a Java Frontend

http://swingsane.com/

Quote
SwingSane is a powerful, cross platform, open source Java client (frontend) for Scanner Access Now Easy (SANE) servers (backends). SwingSane provides access to scanners connected to SANE servers on a network on any platform that supports Java and Swing. It can also be used with your own application to provide some Swing code for accessing SANE scanners.

Offline JayGuevara

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • I wonder what happens if I do this...
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: GTX650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Novice
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #12 on: 10. April 2015, 18:29:01 »
Code: [Select]
Taille totale du téléchargement :  110,08 MiB
Taille totale installée :         367,15 MiB
I knew it would be big with the kde stuff, but wow.

Offline urbanomad64

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Branch: testing
  • Desktop: LXQt + OpenRC + eudev
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX 750 Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Linux45-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #13 on: 11. April 2015, 14:53:16 »
I'm not shure if  this is the right but I found a Frontend for Sane.

It's a Java Frontend

http://swingsane.com/

Thank you for this! I just tested it with one page but seems completely usable.

Offline AJSlye

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 4298
  • Netrunner Rolling Edition moderator / maintainer
  • Branch: Stable / Testing / Unstable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Rolling
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.4.1-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: simple-scan replacement?
« Reply #14 on: 11. April 2015, 17:20:28 »
I say iscan would be your best bet for an epson scanner, and it is available in the community repository.
There are also quite a few iscan plugins available in the AUR as well:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=iscan

Did you use one of these AUR packages to install your workforce printer?
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=workforce

Note: For many workforce models the iscan-data package is also required.
« Last Edit: 11. April 2015, 17:29:13 by AJSlye »