Author Topic: No more aur repo access in octopi?  (Read 4190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
No more aur repo access in octopi?
« on: 16. March 2015, 17:18:39 »
Just noticed that aur is not available in the  repo selection of octopi anymore under Octopi 0.6.0-3. In older versions, there was "AUR" selectable in the repo list at the right.  You're not serious with removing AUR from the list and replacing it with an additional icon, breaking  functional consistency??? I am no friend of removing/hiding functions and this change is a step backwards for me. Please readd aur to the repo list at the right.
J.
Edit:
I can't even downgrade octopi, getting this error:
Code: [Select]
[jeannie@Manjaro ~]$ downgrade octopi
Available packages:

   1) octopi-0.6.0-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   2) octopi-0.6.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   3) octopi-0.6.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   4) octopi-0.6.0-0-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   5) octopi-0.5.0-14-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   6) octopi-0.5.0-13-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   7) octopi-0.5.0-12-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   8) octopi-0.5.0-11-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
   9) octopi-0.5.0-10-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
  10) octopi-0.5.0-9-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
  11) octopi-0.5.0-8-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)
  12) octopi-0.5.0-7-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz (local)

select a package by number: 4
Lade Pakete...
Löse Abhängigkeiten auf...
Suche nach in Konflikt stehenden Paketen...

Pakete (1) octopi-0.6.0-0

Gesamtgröße der zu installierenden Pakete:  2,54 MiB

:: Installation fortsetzen? [J/n] j
(1/1) Prüfe Schlüssel im Schlüsselring             [######################] 100%
(1/1) Überprüfe Paket-Integrität                   [######################] 100%
(1/1) Lade Paket-Dateien                           [######################] 100%
(1/1) Prüfe auf Dateikonflikte                     [######################] 100%
Fehler: Konnte den Vorgang nicht durchführen (In Konflikt stehende Dateien)
octopi: /etc/dbus-1/system.d/org.octopi.pacmanhelper.conf existiert im Dateisystem
octopi: /usr/lib/octopi/pacmanhelper existiert im Dateisystem
octopi: /usr/share/dbus-1/interfaces/org.octopi.pacmanhelper.xml existiert im Dateisystem
octopi: /usr/share/dbus-1/system-services/org.octopi.pacmanhelper.service existiert im Dateisystem
octopi: /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.octopi.pacman.policy existiert im Dateisystem
Fehler sind aufgetreten, keine Pakete wurden aktualisiert.
[jeannie@Manjaro ~]$
« Last Edit: 16. March 2015, 17:22:11 by Jeannie »
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #1 on: 16. March 2015, 17:37:53 »
How about the entry <Yaourt>? I still have it! ;)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #2 on: 16. March 2015, 17:44:01 »
Which version of octopi do you use?
J.
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #3 on: 16. March 2015, 17:46:11 »
Octopi - 0.6.0-2 (Qt 5.4.0)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #4 on: 16. March 2015, 18:07:05 »
Gone in 0.6.0-4, replaced by a new icon  >:(

J.
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline miku

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: ATi 5750
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #5 on: 16. March 2015, 18:22:17 »
Install octopi-repoeditor package and will be there :)

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #6 on: 16. March 2015, 18:23:43 »
is now the alien button :p

i have 0.7 its faster :)
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #7 on: 16. March 2015, 18:34:04 »
Install octopi-repoeditor package and will be there :)
Nope, Sir
What was available with one click into the list on the right now requires 3 clicks.

So, there is no  usable  graphical  package manager in Manjaro anymore, any ideas what to use instead?
No, pamac is no alternative, it uses GTK+3 and a very gnomified UI
J.
« Last Edit: 16. March 2015, 18:42:57 by Jeannie »
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline FadeMind

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2331
    • gravatar
  • Branch: Arch x86_64
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel + NVIDIA
  • GPU driver: Intel + NVIDIA
  • Kernel: linux
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #8 on: 16. March 2015, 18:53:48 »
Look here: https://github.com/aarnt/octopi/commit/b7d127e479e9f9a4393b78569d7c46643dc8dd52
Octopi with lastest git working faster than previous.
I using QT5 version manually compilled if needed (with always lastest commit).


Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #9 on: 16. March 2015, 19:13:32 »
I did not complain about speed issues, but about the UI changes which have hidden functionality unnecessarily and make things more cumbersome. What use is a faster function, when I have to perfom 300% more clicks to see what's in AUR?
J.
Edit: The overview about all  available ( not only about the installed) aur packages is gone completely too
« Last Edit: 16. March 2015, 19:18:40 by Jeannie »
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline FadeMind

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2331
    • gravatar
  • Branch: Arch x86_64
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel + NVIDIA
  • GPU driver: Intel + NVIDIA
  • Kernel: linux
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #10 on: 16. March 2015, 19:25:05 »
Answer for Your question: AUR search access is available in button of Alien Green Face.
If an AUR package is installed, then it is available in AUR group in general list.

Offline philm

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10671
    • Manjaro Linux
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Geforce GTX 650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Maintainer - so all ;)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #11 on: 16. March 2015, 19:30:10 »
Please complain to Arnt. He is the developer. I just updated unstable to see what changed. And yes, these new things will happen with Octopi 0.7.

Offline thundersqueak

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • everyone dies
  • Branch: all of em
  • Desktop: gnome
  • GPU Card: nvidia 9300
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: most,if not all
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #12 on: 16. March 2015, 19:35:30 »
What was available with one click into the list on the right now requires 3 clicks.
So, there is no  usable  graphical  package manager in Manjaro anymore, any ideas what to use instead?
No, pamac is no alternative, it uses GTK+3 and a very gnomified UI
J.
2 more clicks makes something unusable?
"Why is it that every grubby little government i pass has the impertinence to assume that i can spare the time and energy necessary for their destruction?"

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #13 on: 16. March 2015, 19:39:04 »
Answer for Your question: AUR search access is available in button of Alien Green Face.
If an AUR package is installed, then it is available in AUR group in general list.

AUR search, yes.
The old behaviour was: click on <AUR< in the list at the right and see all available aur packages.
The new behaviour is: Click on the alien icon and see absolutely  nothing unless you enter a search term and additionally press enter.
Is this progress?
It maybe is.
Is this removed functionality?
Imho it definitively is.
J.
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: No more aur repo access in octopi?
« Reply #14 on: 16. March 2015, 19:42:27 »
Please complain to Arnt. He is the developer. I just updated unstable to see what changed. And yes, these new things will happen with Octopi 0.7.
Done, via personal message.
J.
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.