Author Topic: How can i Back up my system?  (Read 26432 times)

Offline Hadi

• Jr. Mitglied
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome3.18
  • GPU Card: AMD Radeon 6370M
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: linux-319-x64
  • Skill: Novice
How can i Back up my system?
« on: 10. July 2014, 15:22:15 »
Hello guys

I'm looking to Back up my system and its settings, and then have the ability to  restore them easily when I reinstall my system -- Are there any easy tools that would let me to do that?
If so will you recommend one.
I'm new to Linux, and I'm trying to learn how it works, sometimes I break my system in a way that I need to reinstall.
(Last weak my sound never worked so I had to reinstall and I lost all of my settings and packages)
Heres what I'd like to be able to restore

1: my files which are in /home/hadi/
2: My applications that I installed, and it's settings.
(for example I have three mails connected to my thunderbird now, I want to  have my thunderbird settings also saved, and firefox +it's addons,  and some more apps)
3: apps that I installed from yaourt, BTSync, for example.
4: I disabled some services to boot, and added some,, btsync and openvpn. I want this also to be backed up.
5: My gnome settings, extentions and themes.

If you know a simple easy tool or a way to do a complete back up like this, please let me know.

Thank you a lot for reading!
Cheers
Hadi

Offline xkaspian

• Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: openbox
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux38-X64
Re: How can i Back up my system?
« Reply #1 on: 10. July 2014, 15:36:04 »
Hi

You have to google  for  filezilla  or through the command  'dd'  inside the terminal.

Nice searching.

Sorry   . It was not  filezilla   but   clonezilla  !!!

MOD - I merged Your posts. Please use MODIFY option in future - FadeMind
« Last Edit: 10. July 2014, 16:55:33 by FadeMind »

Offline ron

• Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • It is what it is
  • Branch: stable