Author Topic: Compiz 0.9 series package available  (Read 44824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #195 on: 16. February 2015, 13:19:51 »
So far so good both nVidia 340.xx drivers and Compiz 0.9.12.1-1 are working perfect - in the past 2 days there were no problems.

Rob - do you know how to fix that grey strip I described in a previous post?

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #196 on: 16. February 2015, 14:11:44 »
Rob - do you know how to fix that grey strip I described in a previous post?

I don't experience it so i can't troubleshoot the problem.

I'm not even sure i understand exactly what you mean. Looking at your last post, are you talking about the strip below the title bar (that looks very light blue to me)?

Can you post a screenshot of an entire window instead?


EDIT:
My thunar window for example:


I don't see any problem...
« Last Edit: 16. February 2015, 14:17:01 by Rob »

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #197 on: 16. February 2015, 14:31:52 »
I don't experience it so i can't troubleshoot the problem.

I'm not even sure i understand exactly what you mean. Looking at your last post, are you talking about the strip below the title bar (that looks very light blue to me)?

Can you post a screenshot of an entire window instead?

No, I'm talking about the title bar region. That region is always in gray color whatever theme I choosen it's always in the same gray color. I tried to switch themes, switch Compiz GTK decorator theme but it's unchangeable.
You have gray theme so you don't see any difference :) Try some other theme and you should have the same problem...

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #198 on: 16. February 2015, 14:50:45 »
No, I'm talking about the title bar region. That region is always in gray color whatever theme I choosen it's always in the same gray color. I tried to switch themes, switch Compiz GTK decorator theme but it's unchangeable.
You have gray theme so you don't see any difference :) Try some other theme and you should have the same problem...

Menda:


However, i did notice that the Greybird decorations no longer get their colour from the GTK theme, they stay grey now (the default GTK3 Adwaita grey, which is fine for me because i use Adwaita (adwaita-darkpanel actually)).
I'd guess it has something to do with Compiz 0.9.12+ using Metacity 3 (as opposed to Metacity 2), perhaps themes for Metacity 2.x aren't playing so nicely now. You could try finding a Metacity theme you like that is updated for 3.x [1] ...or you could try Emerald [2], check it's default themes, if you don't like them look online for others. [3]



[1] http://gnome-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=101
[2] sudo pacman -S emerald0.9 emerald-themes
    CCSM -> Window Decoration -> change 'gtk-window-decorator' to 'emerald' then re-log.
[3] http://compiz-themes.org/index.php?xcontentmode=103




EDIT:
You could also just keep using Compiz 0.9.11 series (which is LTS series anyway) with metacity2.
« Last Edit: 16. February 2015, 15:05:54 by Rob »

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #199 on: 16. February 2015, 15:16:57 »
However, i did notice that the Greybird decorations no longer get their colour from the GTK theme, they stay grey now (the default GTK3 Adwaita grey, which is fine for me because i use Adwaita (adwaita-darkpanel actually)).
I'd guess it has something to do with Compiz 0.9.12+ using Metacity 3 (as opposed to Metacity 2), perhaps themes for Metacity 2.x aren't playing so nicely now. You could try finding a Metacity theme you like that is updated for 3.x [1] ...or you could try Emerald [2], check it's default themes, if you don't like them look online for others. [3]



[1] http://gnome-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=101
[2] sudo pacman -S emerald0.9 emerald-themes
    CCSM -> Window Decoration -> change 'gtk-window-decorator' to 'emerald' then re-log.
[3] http://compiz-themes.org/index.php?xcontentmode=103




EDIT:
You could also just keep using Compiz 0.9.11 series (which is LTS series anyway) with metacity2.
Once again, thanks Rob!!!! :)
I will try Emerald (I used Emerald with Compiz 0.8 and removed it when switched to 0.9 because it wasn't play well back then). Main reason why I installed Compiz 0.9.12 is to check if that version works well with nVidia 340.xx drivers because Compiz 0.9.11 with nVidia refreshing patch wasn't working well on my machine (really don't know why 0.9.11 with patch didn't work well because 0.9.12 has (I think) the same patch incorporated ???). And because everything is OK with the 0.9.12 and Nvidia I think that will stick with this version.

Offline viking60

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • bjoernvold.com
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: openbox
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GT200b [GeForce GTX 275]
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: linux4.1-x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #200 on: 16. February 2015, 23:41:18 »
I have had this line on top of my screen almost like a shadow.

To get rid of it I just toggled between xfwm4 and compiz (restarting compiz realy)

ALT+F2
Code: [Select]
xfwm4 --replaceNow compiz is replaced by the Xfce4 manager, then I toggle back to compiz.
Code: [Select]
compiz --replace 

That takes care of it here.
(doesn't happen often though)

I have assigned those commands to a menu button and placed it on my panel - maybe I get the shadow because I switch back and forth.

In any case it is easy to get rid of here.
« Last Edit: 16. February 2015, 23:43:38 by viking60 »

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #201 on: 17. February 2015, 03:33:44 »
Hello! Congratulations, great work! The only problem I am experiencing is that 3D windows doesn't seem to work for me. The cube looks and moves perfectly but as soon as I turn on 3D windows - no matter which exact settings, the first image is ok but when I start moving the cube the animation falls completely apart... 8-)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #202 on: 17. February 2015, 03:36:20 »
screenshot to my earlier post
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #203 on: 17. February 2015, 04:30:23 »
@oberon2007:
Bugs with Compiz 0.9 should be reported on the Compiz Launchpad page:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/compiz

Please check first if your bug has already been reported.
Be sure to provide system specs, driver versions, etc.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #204 on: 17. February 2015, 10:00:47 »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #205 on: 21. February 2015, 11:07:08 »
So, I gave Compiz 0.9 another try today, and again, like always with Compiz 0.9 it still has the same old bug I experienced when i tried the 0.9 series in the past.
I use a dual panel (top/bottom) setup under MATE 1.8 and Compiz 0.9 does not recognize anything  that is sitting in my top panel.
When i hover my cursor over  applets/icons/whatever in my top panel, it shows the hovertips of the stuff that's in the bottom panel. Clicking/rightclicking on stuff in the top panel opens the corresponding  functions of the things sitting in the bottom panel either.
I cannot access/add/remove anything in/to my top panel at all.
As I have my Applications/Places/System menu up there too, I can't even start programmes or access system settings anymore with Compiz 0.9, so I decided to revert to compiz 0.8 andfile a bug on launchpad, but that seems to require an Ubuntu One account.
As I have  big concerns about Ubuntu One being insecure and don't want to have anything to do with Canonical at all I wonder if there is a way to  report that  (imho massive)  bug  without having to disclose anything  (no, I don't even want them to have my email address) to Ubuntu.
J.
« Last Edit: 21. February 2015, 11:22:06 by Jeannie »
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #206 on: 27. February 2015, 20:54:49 »
I don't know if this bug is related with Compiz 0.9 so... This started to happen after new Manjaro update

Some icons on my desktop slip from desktop when I try to "Arrange Desktop Icons". I tried to remove and restore icons from desktop (Settings->Desktop->Icons->Icon type->None and right after File/Launcher icons) and they are all there but again when I try to arrange them, they slip from the screen. This is very annoying and unpractical!

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #207 on: 28. February 2015, 01:19:10 »
Can you test if it still happens with Xfwm4?

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #208 on: 28. February 2015, 11:58:34 »
Can you test if it still happens with Xfwm4?
Tried it (with xfwm4 --replace)... It's Xfce bug not Compiz. Sorry for posting under this topic about that bug...

EDIT: I can't even take a screenshot when this happens - screenshot program become unresponsive.
« Last Edit: 28. February 2015, 12:16:44 by trzalica »

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #209 on: 13. March 2015, 12:00:58 »
Some interesting recent commits in the master development branch - related to some form of MATE integration, and some further work on stuff for some nVidia users.
http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~compiz-team/compiz/0.9.12/changes/