Author Topic: Compiz 0.9 series package available  (Read 44833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CyberWolf2k14

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1184
  • Computers make very fast, very accurate mistakes.
  • Branch: Stable-sysd229-LightDM
  • Desktop: MATE/Cinnamon/GNOME
  • GPU Card: nVidia GeForce GT740
  • GPU driver: nVidia-NF-364.19
  • Kernel: 4.4.9x64 / 4.2.8.9x64 / 4.1.23x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #180 on: 07. January 2015, 17:01:44 »
Running twelve year old graphics card can  lead to problems with up to date librairies.
Sometimes, it's time to  get more up to date hardware, especially when running a cutting edge rolling linux distro.
J.

And, as I have had to advise in other forums on that matter, I simply DO NOT have funds for newer hardware. Unless a miracle literally happens for me, there is just NO way. I am stuck with what I got, and right now unless something radically changes for the better for me it is all I will have. Why do ya think I STILL have Win XP? New Windows require MUCH better hardware. Besides, at this point I am (if newer HW comes into life) intereseted in Win 7 Pro (ONLY other Windows I MIGHT be interested in is v10, I want NOTHING to do with 8/8.1 simply because it was designed for basically touch screen use I know you can use it on a normal PC BUT MS sickeningly made it to try and make all desktops look like tablets. Sorry, if I want a tablet I would get a tablet. At least with 10 they are "trying" to once again make it look like a bloody desktop OS).
Sorry for rant. But just VERY frustrated right now because of the lack of funds. It REALLY sucks to literally feel left behind.
« Last Edit: 07. January 2015, 17:06:29 by CyberWolf2k14 »
PowerSpec Quad core Intel Core i5-4690K w/ 16GB RAM
Dual Boot = Win 7 Ult x64 and Manjaro 15.12 x64
===================================================
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history...
with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila".

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #181 on: 07. January 2015, 18:13:02 »
And, as I have had to advise in other forums on that matter, I simply DO NOT have funds for newer hardware. Unless a miracle literally happens for me, there is just NO way. I am stuck with what I got, and right now unless something radically changes for the better for me it is all I will have. Why do ya think I STILL have Win XP? New Windows require MUCH better hardware. Besides, at this point I am (if newer HW comes into life) intereseted in Win 7 Pro (ONLY other Windows I MIGHT be interested in is v10, I want NOTHING to do with 8/8.1 simply because it was designed for basically touch screen use I know you can use it on a normal PC BUT MS sickeningly made it to try and make all desktops look like tablets. Sorry, if I want a tablet I would get a tablet. At least with 10 they are "trying" to once again make it look like a bloody desktop OS).
Sorry for rant. But just VERY frustrated right now because of the lack of funds. It REALLY sucks to literally feel left behind.

TBH, If i was you, i'd just run Arch (you could start from Antergos/EvoLution) with linux-lts310 (assuming, from your profile, you require 3.10), xorg115 and nvidia-173xx with the PKGBUILD modified for linux-lts310 (looks like it's just a slight modification to 3 lines in the PKGBUILD).
« Last Edit: 07. January 2015, 18:14:46 by Rob »

Offline The Loko

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
  • Branch: Testing
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GT 440
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 3.19.3-1 x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #182 on: 08. January 2015, 22:56:09 »
I moved to 0.9 series today and everything seems to work but ccsm, it flickers sometimes. For example if I click Desktop Wall, it flickers and it shows the main ccsm menu, and the Desktop Wall menu items at the same time. If I choose a different tab on Desktop Wall, it shows both old and new tab and the main menu...
I'm using testing, with latest nvidia driver, I tried disabling Vertex Buffer Object and Frame Buffer Object under OpenGL settings, but I had no luck.
Someone else experiencing the same issue?

EDIT: It seems to work fine after reading this on first post:  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Quote
I had flickering problem with compiz-manjaro and nVidia 340.xx driver. After some research it seems that solution for that is to activate "Force full screen redraws (buffer swap) on repaint" in CCSM (in "Workaounds").
Everything is working fine after I did this.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg/+bug/1314367
« Last Edit: 08. January 2015, 23:06:25 by The Loko »

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #183 on: 09. January 2015, 00:00:50 »
I moved to 0.9 series today and everything seems to work but ccsm, it flickers sometimes. For example if I click Desktop Wall, it flickers and it shows the main ccsm menu, and the Desktop Wall menu items at the same time. If I choose a different tab on Desktop Wall, it shows both old and new tab and the main menu...
I'm using testing, with latest nvidia driver, I tried disabling Vertex Buffer Object and Frame Buffer Object under OpenGL settings, but I had no luck.
Someone else experiencing the same issue?

EDIT: It seems to work fine after reading this on first post:  ;D ;D ;D ;D
I'm glad if that solved your problem! :)

Offline CyberWolf2k14

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1184
  • Computers make very fast, very accurate mistakes.
  • Branch: Stable-sysd229-LightDM
  • Desktop: MATE/Cinnamon/GNOME
  • GPU Card: nVidia GeForce GT740
  • GPU driver: nVidia-NF-364.19
  • Kernel: 4.4.9x64 / 4.2.8.9x64 / 4.1.23x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #184 on: 09. January 2015, 01:25:34 »
TBH, If i was you, i'd just run Arch (you could start from Antergos/EvoLution) with linux-lts310 (assuming, from your profile, you require 3.10), xorg115 and nvidia-173xx with the PKGBUILD modified for linux-lts310 (looks like it's just a slight modification to 3 lines in the PKGBUILD).

Well, right now, I have turned off compositing, and do noyt load intel microcode, and so far appears to be stable now. I LOVE Manjaro, even with these "issues" because well I dont know, there just is something about this distro that seems to resonate, as well as the people on this distros forum are simply awesome. I have NEVER had any others be so helpful, and friendly. For the most part a lot of the others made me feel truly like an outsider. And here if you are slightly negative sometimes (usually in frustration) about this distro, it is understood. I have had some others where, well if they could they probably would have hung ya from a tree. (notice I did NOT mention distro names),
PowerSpec Quad core Intel Core i5-4690K w/ 16GB RAM
Dual Boot = Win 7 Ult x64 and Manjaro 15.12 x64
===================================================
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history...
with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila".

Offline Atherill

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • 4999999837
  • Branch: testing
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX 650 Ti Boost / Intel Atom N450 IGPU
  • GPU driver: non-free / free
  • Kernel: Linux310-x64 / Linux312-Manjaro-netbook
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #185 on: 16. January 2015, 17:08:00 »
Remember when we had whisker menu floating above panel making a gap? The same thing happens with calendar popup opened via clock applet but I am too stupid to find it's name :(

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #186 on: 16. January 2015, 17:16:36 »
Remember when we had whisker menu floating above panel making a gap? The same thing happens with calendar popup opened via clock applet but I am too stupid to find it's name :(

So it does ^-^ i'll look into it later.

Offline viking60

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • bjoernvold.com
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: openbox
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GT200b [GeForce GTX 275]
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: linux4.1-x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #187 on: 22. January 2015, 13:56:07 »
Here is a video. Compiz is nice for presentation education.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWib3H-B73c&feature=youtu.be

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #188 on: 23. January 2015, 01:21:04 »
Here is a video. Compiz is nice for presentation education.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWib3H-B73c&feature=youtu.be

Nice. I replaced the link i had to some other video in the first post with a link to yours. :)

Offline viking60

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • bjoernvold.com
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: openbox
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GT200b [GeForce GTX 275]
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: linux4.1-x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #189 on: 23. January 2015, 14:21:40 »
Thanks for the honor.
Here is one with better quality if you want to improve it further :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?x-yt-cl=84503534&x-yt-ts=1421914688&v=uH4RF7ZIsis

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #190 on: 24. January 2015, 19:42:43 »
New problems on the horizon  :o
I tried again nVidia 340.xx driver with compiz 0.9.11 with nvidia fix but from time to time, compiz start to choke CPU and I can see dissapearing and reapearing desktop icons and sometimes only thing I can see is a wallpaper... I returned to nVidia 304.xx drivers but...  ???

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #191 on: 24. January 2015, 19:57:24 »
New problems on the horizon  :o
I tried again nVidia 340.xx driver with compiz 0.9.11 with nvidia fix but from time to time, compiz start to choke CPU and I can see dissapearing and reapearing desktop icons and sometimes only thing I can see is a wallpaper... I returned to nVidia 304.xx drivers but...  ???

Well the nvidia fix got accepted into mainline Compiz so you can report bugs at their launchpad after confirming the problem remains when running the latest code (i.e. confirm the problem is present using compiz-bzr)

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #192 on: 24. January 2015, 21:03:28 »
Whether you're going to push new version with nVidia fix soon?
I asked you this because I presume that this compiz package doesn't have all the custom things which you added in your package (for example: settings for xfce, your basic configuration of all effects (I know that it will probably pull those compiz config file I already have))... You know me, I'm cautious guy :D
« Last Edit: 25. January 2015, 14:28:13 by trzalica »

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #193 on: 04. February 2015, 08:26:18 »
http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/compiz/2015-February/003504.html
Quote
Compiz 0.9.12.1 has been officially released.

This release contains some minor fixes revealed by static code checkers, some small bugfixes, and the following
significant changes.

(1) Full support for Metacity 3.14 in the gtk-window-decorator, contributed by Alberts Muktupāvels.

(2) Full support for bi-arch and multi-arch builds.

(3) Use the GL_EXT_x11_sync_object OpenGL extension to synchronize updates with X11 to avoid
    unrefreshed parts of the screen on Nvidia hardware, contributed by nVidia.

Signed tarballs and a complete list of changes can be found https://launchpad.net/compiz/0.9.12/0.9.12.1

Please report any problems at https://bugs.launchpad.net/compiz/+filebug but please check to see if it
has already been reported.

-- Stephen M. Webb <stephen.webb@canonical.com>



compiz-manjaro is updated in Unstable branch.

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9 series package available
« Reply #194 on: 14. February 2015, 21:42:29 »
http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/compiz/2015-February/003504.html


compiz-manjaro is updated in Unstable branch.
Once again I tried this new package and there's still a grey strip on top of the windows and whichever theme and Compiz GTK decorator theme I select to use that grey "thing" is there. Really annoying!  ::)
I also installed 340.xx drivers so will let you know after more testing if everything is OK now with those issues nVidia had with refreshing instability.
« Last Edit: 14. February 2015, 22:01:33 by trzalica »