Author Topic: Compiz 0.9 series package available  (Read 42095 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ManofJELLO

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU Card: Nvidia 750 ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux43-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #45 on: 31. July 2014, 22:35:47 »
So I gave the compiz-manjaro a go as standalone last night.  Installed compiz- manjaro then emerald-git from aur.  *I Installed emerald-themes from repos as I did not see a git version in aur and version number was the same.  Should I have used the AUR version?

In any case had it all running fine, and could switch themes but some times I get emerald crashing depending on the theme.  Just choose an new theme in the app and emerald --replace to start it back up.  Most included themes work.  Got a couple from deviant art to work and one that would crash emerald.

Was using compiz-boxmenu but I'm going to switch to mygtkmenu with an autogen script from arch forums so I get more of an openbox setup with compositing built into the wm instead of using Compton.  Need to get my .xinitrc sorted out better to get all the sys tray stuff going.

*correction
« Last Edit: 01. August 2014, 00:05:19 by ManofJELLO »

Offline ManofJELLO

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU Card: Nvidia 750 ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux43-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #46 on: 01. August 2014, 17:20:23 »
So far I've only really come up with two bugs.  In ccsm when I navigate through the menus I think there is a buffer switching problem as the menus will flicker between the previous menu and the current one unless I move the window. 

The second is that conky doesn't want to play nice.  I can get it to show up on start up only if I switch window type to normal instead of desktop, but this causes all keyboard shortcuts to stop working if I have no windows open.  If I have a window open there is no issue.  Switching to desktop and Conky will not show. 

Oblogout has a strange behavior on compiz, it does not go full screen over tint2. Everything works except logout.  I made a script to logout manually and works from terminal but if I use a shortcut from compiz it does not run.  I don't want to modify oblogout conf as I still use open box. 

Mygtkmenu is working and auto updates when using the aur package menumaker-compiz.  It is a patched version of menumaker from repos that includes mygtkmenu.  There is a post on #! Forum for how to setup the menu in compiz to work exactly like openbox. 

Other than conky my setup auto loads with xinitrc and looks exactly like my openbox install.  Pretty nice.  Thank you for adding these packages to manjaro repos.  Tempted to make a kwin standalone setup.
« Last Edit: 01. August 2014, 17:23:02 by ManofJELLO »

Offline verderol

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Intel HD 4400
  • GPU driver: Free
  • Kernel: linux318
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #47 on: 03. August 2014, 12:36:18 »
Hi Rob,

How can I change the window title font using  Compiz GTK decorator?

I understand that in previous versions as stated in this post https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=11828.msg107463#msg107463 it was given the option the first time you ran it

Thanks

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #48 on: 03. August 2014, 13:30:16 »
Hi Rob,

How can I change the window title font using  Compiz GTK decorator?

I understand that in previous versions as stated in this post https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=11828.msg107463#msg107463 it was given the option the first time you ran it

Ah yeah, i forgot to re-implement that for 0.9 when i removed the system font setting from the override file.
I'll do it soon, for now you can open dconf-editor and browse to org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences and check titlebar-uses-system-font.

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #49 on: 03. August 2014, 14:11:31 »
Ah yeah, i forgot to re-implement that for 0.9 when i removed the system font setting from the override file.
I'll do it soon

Done (in Unstable branch, will flow through as usual).

Offline verderol

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Intel HD 4400
  • GPU driver: Free
  • Kernel: linux318
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #50 on: 03. August 2014, 15:55:07 »
Thanks

Offline carlo3

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • multiboot system XP-LinuxMintCinnamon-ManjaroXFCE
  • Branch: testing
  • Desktop: xfce+compiz09
  • GPU Card: Intel G41
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux319/41-x86
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #51 on: 03. August 2014, 23:31:09 »
hi! i just gave a try to compiz-manjaro...what to say..too hard running it under my system
Code: [Select]
[carlo3@carlo3 ~]$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: carlo3 Kernel: 3.15.8-1-MANJARO i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.9.1)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.11.6git-UNKNOWN (Gtk 2.24.24)
           Distro: ManjaroLinux 0.8.10 Ascella
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5QPL-AM v: Rev X.0x
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 0317 date: 09/21/2009
CPU:       Dual core Pentium E5300 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10490
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2003 MHz 2: 1203 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.15.2 driver: intel
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.79hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G41 x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 10.2.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Tenx driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 002-002
           Card-3 Microdia Camera driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 005-003
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.15.8-1-MANJARO
Network:   Card: Qualcomm Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 Gigabit or Fast Ethernet
           driver: ATL1E port: ec00 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (3.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: STM3320418AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 73G used: 11G (16%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0C mobo: 35.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1016 sys-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 153 Uptime: 8 min Memory: 765.8/1985.2MB
           Init: systemd Gcc sys: 4.9.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.181) inxi: 2.1.28

i tried invain cube and 3dwindows and other options too till i froze my system..
sorry: back to compiz 0.8..for now


Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #52 on: 04. August 2014, 01:36:30 »
OK so a few Intel people have complained about performance. I'll test myself on more Intel systems soon.

Offline verderol

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Intel HD 4400
  • GPU driver: Free
  • Kernel: linux318
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #53 on: 04. August 2014, 08:47:11 »
I don't know if it's related to those performance issues, or has already been reported, but, whiskermenu takes like a couple of minutes to appear in my xfce4-panel at startup

I3 4150, Intel HD 4400, same behaviour with 3.12, 3.14 and 3.15 kernels

Offline babania2215

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: cinnamon
  • GPU Card: intel hd
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux313-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #54 on: 04. August 2014, 17:29:40 »
Whisker menu in xfce has bad position with compiz - there is a space between whisker menu and taskbar, a size of mouse cursor.

Offline Jeannie

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #55 on: 04. August 2014, 18:11:26 »
So, made some more tests with Compiz 0.9.11 and MATE 1.9 on a freshly installed system, still I cannot say compiz 0.9.11 is stable. Mostly Compiz  does not recognize one of my panels, when clicking on an icon on the top panel , the function that is located at the botom panel is being performed ( Exampel: I have a shut down applet top right and my  trash applet bottom right, If I want to shut down my system, i click on the shutdown applet and  I get the trash functions, when I click on the trash applet, Compiz 0.9 does not recognize it at all and acts as if I click on teh  background). The thumbnailer still does not work as expected (I have my application switcher in the bottom panel, sometimes my thumbnails are being displayed at the top, sometimes not at all. Seems Compiz 0.9 can't handle two MATE panels correctly, which might be due to the fact that it's still optimized for Ubuntu Unity that does not use two panels.
Back on Compiz 0.8 which has no such problems. The window refresh problems are present in both, Compiz 0.8 and 0.9, so I rather use the less buggy 0.8 insead of problematic 0.9.
J.
Hitten by the door in the back when I left Manjaro.

Offline detro

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • Playing cards for developers
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #56 on: 06. August 2014, 17:00:09 »
Whisker menu in xfce has bad position with compiz - there is a space between whisker menu and taskbar, a size of mouse cursor.

Same issue here. For me it happens ONLY when my panel is at the bottom of the screen and the plugin Place windows is enabled in ccsm.
No matter what settings you have in Place windows plugin, all it takes for having this issue is the plugin to be enabled. And the issue is that the whisker menu and calendar popup appear with some 30px space between them and the bottom panel.

Once i go to ccsm and disable the plugin it's all good. Too bad i want to use it for centering all apps/windows...
« Last Edit: 06. August 2014, 17:03:56 by detro »

Offline babania2215

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: cinnamon
  • GPU Card: intel hd
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux313-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #57 on: 06. August 2014, 18:01:55 »
Ubuntu 14.04 uses compiz 0.9.11.2, and i do not like it, the whole experience is not smooth, and ubuntu 14.10 uses compiz 0.9.11, and it works better and smooth, of course, 14.10 has a little bit newer intel hd graphics 2d and 3d drivers, plus i used xorg edgers ppa for bleeding egde drivers in 14.10, but i think newest compiz introduced some instability.

Offline trzalica

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
  • GPU driver: Non-free
  • Kernel: Linux 4.1 x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #58 on: 11. October 2014, 16:00:28 »
Rob, can you list here which effects are available in Compiz 0.9?
Are there any signs that there may be something like Fusion icon for Compiz 0.9 in the near future?

Offline ManofJELLO

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Openbox
  • GPU Card: Nvidia 750 ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux43-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Compiz 0.9.11 series package available
« Reply #59 on: 11. October 2014, 18:03:29 »
was protobuf updated in unstable?

I updated last night and it looks like ccsm for compiz will not load after the protobuf update