Author Topic: pamac - simple graphical package manager for Manjaro Linux  (Read 86060 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline eskaini

  • Security Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10842
  • I eat deleted accounts
  • Skill: Novice
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #195 on: 10. March 2013, 13:03:50 »
It would be nice to see a pamac software center with also integrated cleaning of the packages in automatic...

However on pamac there are no all the packages when you try to search... if you try with  yaourt there's many more

Yaourt access a completely different - unofficial - repository called the Arch User Repository. Pamac just accesses our official repositories.

Offline Chuck

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #196 on: 10. March 2013, 14:48:19 »
In the next realase of pamac , could we choose to add AUR too ?

Offline Qsvgxn

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #197 on: 12. March 2013, 23:30:06 »
Hi all. I'm having a problem with pamac that some people think might have something to do with polkit but I'm not sure. I've had this problem for a while and it seems to have happened suddenly involving no updates or any system changes, it just one day started doing this. I made a thread about it here:

http://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=2650.0

tl;dr I can't install or uninstall anything through pamac because a whenever I do a window pops up saying "You are not authorized" and won't let me do anything.


Thanks for your help

Offline martinr

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Branch: stable/unstable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #198 on: 17. March 2013, 00:01:20 »
Same thing with pamac happening here, manjaro0.8.4-e17-edition
Gonna ask also in e17-subforum

Thanx

Martin

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #199 on: 17. March 2013, 12:08:19 »
did you have polkit at your startups, even on that loaded right in?
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline xircon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: Intel 4th gen
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Always the newest!
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #200 on: 17. March 2013, 13:00:36 »
I have a problem with pamac-manager, I hadn't launched it for a few days, today it is completely blank, all the groups but no packages in right hand pane.

Steve

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #201 on: 17. March 2013, 13:03:53 »
then you have an problem with pyalmp or libalpm? did you had refreshed te data base? pacman its self is up to date.. strange...
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline xircon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: Intel 4th gen
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Always the newest!
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #202 on: 17. March 2013, 13:09:16 »
Yep, up to date (tracking testing), no obvious errors in terminal (until I quit the program).
Code: [Select]
pamac-manager
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.d/53-monospace-lcd-filter.conf", line 10: Having multiple values in <test> isn't supported and may not work as expected
get handle
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 722, in on_treeview1_selection_changed
    set_packages_list()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 179, in set_packages_list
    refresh_packages_list()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 153, in refresh_packages_list
    if name in config.holdpkg:
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'holdpkg'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 722, in on_treeview1_selection_changed
    set_packages_list()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 179, in set_packages_list
    refresh_packages_list()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.3/site-packages/pamac/main.py", line 153, in refresh_packages_list
    if name in config.holdpkg:
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'holdpkg'

Offline guinux

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 328
    • Manjaro
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • Skill: Guru
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #203 on: 17. March 2013, 14:23:37 »
Congrats, you've found a miscellaneous bug ;) It will be fixed in next release.
It's because you commented (or erased) the HoldPkg array in /etc/pacman.conf file.
You shouldn't do that (but you discovered a bug).
It's highly recommended to leave it as default :
Code: [Select]
HoldPkg = pacman glibc manjaro-systemCorrect this a pamac should work again.

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #204 on: 17. March 2013, 15:00:37 »
+1 :)

@guinux

can you not add an icon button on further release??  there comes a window like thunderbird / chromium..
and make pamac more configuratble? on which type of pacman you want as example**

personally? i dont like cascade mode :) but more onsettings etc.. will be very nice... reason why i use pacmanxg its doing more on pacman... bit more work on someparts,OK..

And mayby change your mind to not to work on polkit anymore?? mayby just more on gksu??

under icon settings you can also add the rankmirror scripting and choice for edit your Mirrorlist... would always be fine...

but is some idea... is not for must :) for shore :)

but im hapy that bug is found :)
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline davidnotcoulthard

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Manipulated image.
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #205 on: 17. March 2013, 15:42:54 »
I'm sorry if someone else has said this.

http://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=2826.msg23244#msg23244
http://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=2826.msg23261#msg23261

And I've said this, just in case nobody saw it:

Buttons for pacman -Scc and pacman -Rs $(pacman -Qqdt) would be lovely in my opinion.

Any comparisons between the features of Pamac and Octopi, by the way? Is Octopi a bit more Synapticesque than Pamac?
« Last Edit: 17. March 2013, 15:45:11 by davidnotcoulthard »

Offline ringo

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 9684
  • www.manjaro-nl.org
    • Manjaro Belgium + forum
  • Branch: unsourced
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT (acer 23inch)
  • GPU driver: Free*
  • Kernel: linux kernel
  • Skill: Novice
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #206 on: 17. March 2013, 16:01:23 »
pamac used not the model of synaptic or something, more in model like gnome-packagekit :)
Dutch go the dutch site :)

Offline davidnotcoulthard

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Manipulated image.
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #207 on: 17. March 2013, 16:15:17 »
Quote
Is Octopi ;D a bit more Synapticesque than Pamac?
note: Pamac which doesn't and probably shouldn't try to be Synapticesque at all? :o

Offline xircon

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: Intel 4th gen
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Always the newest!
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #208 on: 17. March 2013, 23:50:55 »
Congrats, you've found a miscellaneous bug ;) It will be fixed in next release.
It's because you commented (or erased) the HoldPkg array in /etc/pacman.conf file.
You shouldn't do that (but you discovered a bug).
It's highly recommended to leave it as default :
Code: [Select]
HoldPkg = pacman glibc manjaro-systemCorrect this a pamac should work again.

Ooops, I did (and I did it because I had made some changes and erroneously thought holdpkg was one and reversed it) - but can I have a gold star for finding a bug?

As someone on here's signature says - you make I'll break it :D

Offline guinux

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 328
    • Manjaro
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • Skill: Guru
Re: pamac - simple pacman gui for Manjaro Linux
« Reply #209 on: 18. March 2013, 16:35:06 »
Youhave now better than a gold medal, you have now my eternal gratitude  ;D