Author Topic: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's  (Read 1201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mirh

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« on: 08. May 2016, 16:33:10 »
In particular, we totally miss CheckSpace option.
While I was at it, I also noticed CacheDir is oddly uncommented.

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #1 on: 08. May 2016, 16:55:16 »
maybe it is just from a iso profile and not from the original package


https://github.com/manjaro/packages-core/blob/master/pacman/pacman.conf.x86_64

Offline mirh

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #2 on: 08. May 2016, 17:56:23 »
I did indeed take the above examples from an iso.
But you can find the same file in all squashfs images.

And on my system I already experienced an issue due to this difference.

Offline mandog

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1921
  • Architect Forum And G+ Forum Owner With Daniel S
  • Branch: All
  • Desktop: Gnome, Mate, E19, Openbox,FLuxbox,Budgie, XFCE openRC,
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: Non Free
  • Kernel: latest
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #3 on: 08. May 2016, 18:34:03 »
I did indeed take the above examples from an iso.
But you can find the same file in all squashfs images.

And on my system I already experienced an issue due to this difference.
Why are you complaining to Arch Linux about this its a Manjaro problem not Arch all it does is fire up bad feelings between Arch Linux and Manjaro.
A ENGLISHMAN IN PERU
I'm dyslexic Please do not complain about punctuation or spelling,
FANBOY,Taken from the urban dictionary
 A pathetic insult often used by fanboys themselves to try and put down people who don't like whatever it is they like.

Offline mirh

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #4 on: 08. May 2016, 18:36:54 »
Why are you complaining to Arch Linux about this its a Manjaro problem not Arch all it does is fire up bad feelings between Arch Linux and Manjaro.
I figured out there was a difference just following this bug report.

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #5 on: 08. May 2016, 19:20:34 »
This is a bug in manjaro-tools when building isos, we didn't notice, we should fix it as soon as possible.

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #6 on: 08. May 2016, 22:25:36 »
I did indeed take the above examples from an iso.
But you can find the same file in all squashfs images.

And on my system I already experienced an issue due to this difference.


I think this is because pacman.conf has a backup rule. See, when you install pacman, it checks if the file already exists. If yes it uses the existing file, if no it uses the file included in the package. And because manjaro has this file in the iso profiles, it never got updated.


^At least that is what I believe happend.

Offline philm

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10671
    • Manjaro Linux
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Geforce GTX 650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Maintainer - so all ;)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #7 on: 09. May 2016, 19:23:30 »
Which edition we are talking about here?

Offline mirh

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Default pacman.conf slightly differs from Arch's
« Reply #8 on: 09. May 2016, 20:35:01 »
I took the file from 16.04 preview 1 iso (which is identical to the one I'm using on my system)
15.12 one is even more different then.