Author Topic: tweaking i3  (Read 12731 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #45 on: 05. November 2015, 22:41:53 »
UPDATE: I forgotten to download and put on right place https://raw.githubusercontent.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/master/i3/i3-overlay/etc/skel/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-power-manager.xml as I noticed after a while! Now suspend mode on lid closing works again.. yeah.. but now when I open again my lid it doesn't query me for my password..  >:D
Ok let's go to this issue problem.. the awersome of Linux.. Whether early or later the solution arrives...!!!
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it

Offline joshuadunamis

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Finally on the Arch Linux world with Manjaro KDE
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5.6.3
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #46 on: 05. November 2015, 23:03:17 »
SOLVED: I simply found the solution on the ArchWiki:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce#Laptop_lid_settings_ignored

with this command:

Code: [Select]
$ xfconf-query -c xfce4-power-manager -p /xfce4-power-manager/logind-handle-lid-switch -s false
Now the behaviour is perfect: when my laptop is on battery and I close the lid it goes in suspend mode and then asks me the password. When it is on AC it doesn't go in suspend mode (excet if I send it to..) and when I open the lid it asks the password too!

Everything solved. Now I do not disturb again. Those posts are for anyone meeting the same issues! Great appreciation for Manjaro Linux both in KDE Plasma 5 and in the i3 environment!!!
« Last Edit: 05. November 2015, 23:08:24 by joshuadunamis »
Since nearly 2003 to today I never installed anyelse than GNU/Linux OS...

 My actual OS: Manjaro Linux 15.12 KDE (Capella) on Asus X551CA-SX024D

Italian IRC channel on Freenode: #manjaro-it

Offline paolo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • GPU Card: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
  • GPU driver: Mesa
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #47 on: 11. November 2015, 19:36:28 »
today I understand my error! in the files I must change the batteries names in "0" and"1" ...
Now in i3bar are showed 2 batteries percentage  :D
Thanks to you all for the help

Dell Latitude C640 – CPU P4 2Ghz – RAM 2 GB
HP Compaq nx6310 - CPU M410 1,46Ghz - RAM 2 GB
Asus EeePC 1001PX - CPU Atom N450 1,66Ghz - RAM 2 GB
HP Pavillion dv2000 - CPU T7300 2Ghz - RAM 3 GB
all for Manjaro i3 by oberon

Offline R.R.E.Designs

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Ubuntu sucks! :p
    • RREDesigns
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: JWM, i3-OpenRC
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux3.14_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #48 on: 11. November 2015, 20:19:44 »
Hello everyone.

I was thinking it would be great to expand the conky, since most computers today are at least dual core.

How could I do that? I have no idea about LUA scripting, but it shouldn't be too different to Python, I guess.  :-\

Offline Os Miridium

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #49 on: 23. December 2015, 14:36:22 »
Maybe I'm stupid for not finding any posts about this, but I just can't, so here's my qestion:
In Manjaro i3 the font that is used is currently specified in several different places in the i3 config file, many instances on the conky, the i3bar config and with lxappearence for applications and suchlike. For comfort, elegance and consistency I would like to be able to have a central point (preferably the i3 config) where I can easily chenge the font for i3bar and conky (lxappearance need not be included in this control). It should be possible to define a global "default font" variable in the i3 config, which is then passed on the conky and i3bar, right. I was wandering: has anyone done that already or is there a good reason why not? I don't want to reinvent the wheel but if there are no existing solutions out there I will try to construct a solution for this. Anyone think thats a good/bad idea?

Os

Offline Airblader

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Desktop: i3-gaps
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #50 on: 23. December 2015, 17:59:31 »
Unfortunately conky uses a different font format than i3 (which just uses pango, if pango is used) and so on. Also, if specified in the i3 config, you can only use it for anything starting from within there, which applies to i3bar and conky (if conky is started from there, I don't use manjaro-i3), but does not apply to the GTK settings and other places.

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #51 on: 24. December 2015, 04:10:50 »
I think idea is good, but execution is difficult due to the syntax differences. However, writing font switcher menu that changes all those locations would not be very difficult. I have already a script that does similar to gtk themes. It is included in appearance menu of bmenu package. You can see the code here, it is very simple:
https://github.com/Chrysostomus/bmenu/blob/master/bin/appearance-menu
Look at the choose_font and set_font functions. They have most things you need. You just need to one more function to convert the format for conky, and add few new lines in set_font functions.

This should

Offline Os Miridium

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: i3
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #52 on: 24. December 2015, 12:29:56 »
Hi there,

Airblader: Not affecting GTK settings may even be a good thing in this case, because I often use one font for conky, i3bar etc (e.g. DejaVu Sans Mono for a "technical feeling") and another one (which is compatible but better suited for "normal text", like DejaVu Sans Condensed) for the GTK theme and I would think that others may go similar ways. Different font formats should not be a problem, should they? The Font Name format is the same, correct? E.g. "DeJaVuSansMono". And if I just create a variable like "DefaultFont" in the i3 config (from where i3bar an conky are indeed called), and pass that on to i3bar and conky, then it should be possible to change the font in all those places. I just have to find out how to pass variables correctly between those config files. GTK font controll in Manjaro i3 is done with lxappearence, which I think is quite good.

Chrysostomus: Hm, interesting alternative. Not really what I had in mind but that opens the possibility to changeing GTK settings as well in a way that all fonts are not necessarily the same but all compatible, like "all Dejavu Sans" but Mono for conky and Condensed in GTK. I'll have to put some thought and experimentation into getting that to work consistently but I'll give it a try. I'm affraid that working with LaTeX for years has made me a bit of a typesetting/font consistency nazi...

Happy holidays,
Os

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #53 on: 24. December 2015, 14:51:20 »
Well personally I would keep gtk font changing separate from conky and i3bar. I like to use Terminus or Peep (or some other good bitmap font) for my panels and terminals, but gtk applications pretty much need xft fonts to look good. Just pointed out that the same code could easily be adapted to change different files. Just change the file name and see what is the actual line you wish to edit, and edit the searched text in command to match that.

One could also make it into longer dialog with
1) choose font (fuzzy find with fzf)
2) choose size
3) Do you want to set this font for gtk2?
4) Do you want to set this font for gtk3?
5) Do you want to set this font for i3bar?
6) Do you want to set this font for conky?

or something like that. Or if you want gui, it could be done with dmenu/zenity instead.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #54 on: 10. January 2016, 00:28:29 »
I was thinking it would be great to expand the conky, since most computers today are at least dual core.
How could I do that? I have no idea about LUA scripting, but it shouldn't be too different to Python, I guess.  :-\
Have a look at the template config file: /usr/share/doc/conky-1.10.1_pre/conky.conf
All Conky objects are listed and explained here: http://conky.sourceforge.net/variables.html
In the i3-edition you have conky-i3 installed by default. It is started from a tiny script: /usr/bin/start_conky_grey
and its config files reside in /usr/share/conky
Hope that helps! :)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline torvic9

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • Hello world!
  • Branch: stable
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #55 on: 13. January 2016, 11:07:38 »
Isn't /usr/share/conky a weird location to place a config file?
I was looking everywhere for the conky config in the most common locations, like /etc, /etc/skel, or /home/user/.config, but I didn't think of looking in /usr/share.
Is there a technical explanation why the config is located in there?
i3: i7-5820K | 32 GB | GeForce GTX 960, nvidia | linux44-custom
KDE: i7-920 | 12 GB | GeForce GTS 450, nouveau | linux44
Gnome: Thinkpad X200s | linux41

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #56 on: 14. January 2016, 10:42:24 »
You are right. It is a weird place :P /etc/xdg/conky would probably the destination it should go.
conky-i3 being a package, the config cannot be installed on user level, /etc/skel will not work because of possible file conflicts with stuff originally installed by manjaro-tools (and in the future by the new desktop-settings packages).
But in any case, we can not change it now via package update, because it would break the existing installs with the start-scripts pointing to the current strange location ... So, next time! ;)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Nick440

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Manjaro i3 15.12
  • Kernel: Linux 41-x64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #57 on: 20. January 2016, 07:41:18 »
I've wondering if anyone knows of a way to add shortcuts to dmenu/rofi?
I tend to use a few chrome apps on all of my platforms (Inbox, Sunrise Calendar, Todoist) and usually would have shortcuts to these apps in my dock or on the desktop. I now have them in my /Desktop/ folder, but can't find a way to launch them with Rofi.
In a perfect world I could launch these apps with Rofi and have them open in a pre-determined workspace!
(Actually, native linux apps would be even better!)

Am I missing something simple?

Offline boruch

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Skill: Intermediate
Marking i3 windows on the fly for quick navigation
« Reply #58 on: 18. March 2016, 10:56:15 »
FYI, Here's a feature that I didn't catch existed in i3 - marking windows on the fly for the current session. Discussed here: http://www.slackword.net/?p=657

Offline R.R.E.Designs

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Ubuntu sucks! :p
    • RREDesigns
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: JWM, i3-OpenRC
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux3.14_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: tweaking i3
« Reply #59 on: 20. April 2016, 06:45:10 »
I finally managed to add each core % separate. And also changed the font. Couldn't be more satisfied.  8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)