Manjaro Linux Forum

Support for Community Editions => LXQt => Topic started by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 01:52:38

Title: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 01:52:38
i just tried to install lxqt with kwin:


1. i downloaded and installed the 64bit version from here in virtualbox: https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=17220.msg159844#msg159844

2. i updated:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Syyuu && sudo pacman -Syyuu

3. i installed kwin with the default options:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S kwin

4. i opened lxqt session settings and changed "openbox" to "kwin_x11"

5. i rebooted the system

i tried this with the latest git builds of kwin and the unstable repository, too. but both ways, i get a system without any title bars or window borders (this means kwin is not working correctly).

my questions:
1. do you have any idea what i did wrong? or is kwin and kwin-git buggy at the moment?
2. how can i install a "kwin settings manager" or change settings for kwin (with the least amount of kde dependencies)?
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: samigina on 05. November 2014, 01:57:16
Is not your fault.

I f you run "kwin_11 --replace" you will see Kwin complaining about no Oxygen decoration found.

More info here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1456754

Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 15:46:00
thanks for the link!

i did some tests and found out that installing
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S kdebase-workspace
is enough to get kwin with all it's dependencies and a settings menu. this package is 140mb to download and it needs 500mb on a hard drive. it is part of kde 4.11.
this means i have to install a big part of (old) kde 4 just to get kwin (with a settings menu).
i think this is not acceptable.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Esclapion on 05. November 2014, 15:48:49
Same opinion. We must wait until kwin is really stand-alone.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: artoo on 05. November 2014, 15:50:32

is enough to get kwin with all it's dependencies and a settings menu. this package is 140mb to download and it needs 500mb on a hard drive. it is part of kde 4.11.
this means i have to install a big part of (old) kde 4 just to get kwin (with a settings menu).
i think this is not acceptable.

It's why kf5 was made much more modular, so you can pull kwin without big kdelibs.

If you use kwin5, you'd need to tell lxqt to use kwin_x11.

Concewrning your question, It may be the case, that kwin5 in repos is buggy.

It runs fine from git head master and with lxqt.

You could try to use kwin-git from AUR.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 16:15:10
i did some more testing and installed
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S oxygen
it brings kwin5 as dependency, is about 35mb to download and need 135mb on your hard disk.
after choosing kwin_x11 as compositor and rebooting, kwin works well.
but i have no settings window.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: artoo on 05. November 2014, 16:16:42
i did some more testing and installed
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S oxygen
it brings kwin5 as dependency, is about 35mb to download and need 135mb on your hard disk.
after choosing kwin_x11 as compositor and rebooting, kwin works well.
but i have no settings window.

I think you'd need to install systemsettings5
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 16:27:00
I think you'd need to install systemsettings5
thanks for the tip! i will try this, too.
this sounds like a good answer on my initial question.

you are answering faster on my posts than i can test this stuff.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. November 2014, 16:45:15
this is the easiest method i have found:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S oxygen systemsettings
sudo pacman -R openbox obconf-qt-git
then, go to "lxqt session settings" and choose "kwin_x11" instead of "openbox" as window manager.
reboot.

kwin5 works and some "kde system settings" are available. new themes can be downloaded and applied. vsync settings and animation speed settings are available, too.



after doing some tests, i found out: the following packages in AUR have a build error at the moment and do not work:
Code: [Select]
yaourt -S systemsettings-git
Code: [Select]
yaourt -S kwin-git
Code: [Select]
yaourt -S oxygen-git
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Noitatsidem on 06. November 2014, 15:43:21
It's really nice to see a thread dedicated to this, I already posted this in the KDE forums, but I figured I'd post it here too just in case other people were having rendering problems with kwin compositing.
Quote
In the KDE system settings, there's an entry for the acceleration method in the Display and Monitor section, for me by default this was "GLX" switching it to "EGL" seems to have solved all of my problems.
After doing that I've had no issues whatsoever, I'm personally really excited to see how LXQT and Plasma 5 evolve from here on, I've traditionally only used GTK desktops (and Enlightenment on occasion) simply because their QT counterparts just didn't feel right, that's not the case anymore, and I'm thrilled with the performance.
I'm not sure if you also need oxygen, but I've been using the breeze theme, it's wonderful with LXQT's plasma next theme, but I have both oxygen and breeze installed so I can't really comment on what you "need" to be able to run kwin.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 06. November 2014, 16:19:08
thanks a lot Noitatsidem for answering!
i tried to follow your tips, but i was not successful:
i installed
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S kwin systemsettings
which needed about 30mb to download and 165mb on my hard drive.
i set kwin_x11 and rebooted.
i did not see any window borders or title bars (like the last times i tried this). even after choosing "OpenGL" and "GLX" or "EGL" and activating the compositor or not (and rebooting every time), i never saw window title bars and window borders.


in the end, i tried to install
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S oxygen systemsettings breeze
i activated the breeze theme and window borders and title bars disappeared. obviously, the breeze theme (version 5.1) is not ready for light systems.


i was using manjaro lxqt with kernel 3.17 and the unstable repositories.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Noitatsidem on 06. November 2014, 17:09:18
I was wondering, is manjaro properly handling all of breeze's dependencies? Maybe you're missing something that I have from installing Plasma 5 that's required to use Breeze. Just a thought.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 12. November 2014, 18:33:51
i found the leanest / smallest-sized way to use lxqt with kwin5. it does not require to install "oxygen" (as the "easiest method - look above), but it requires a little more work:

1.
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S kwin systemsettings

2.
go to "lxqt session settings" and choose "kwin_x11" instead of "openbox" as window manager.
reboot.

3.
you will not see any window decoration (neither title bars, borders nor shadows). open the new "kde system settings" window, choose "appearance" and there, you have only one theme "plastik" to choose from. the "apply" button is grey and unclickable, just change something which makes the "apply" button clickable and click it, e.g.: rearrange the buttons of the "plastik" theme or download a completely new kde theme.
reboot.



if you want, you can remove openbox:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Rsnc openbox
and the openbox settings window:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -R obconf-qt-git


if you need more window decoration options (e.g. changing the color of "color glow" of active windows), you should install the default oxygen theme and set these options in the "oxygen" theme:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S oxygen




edit: a wiki page with my findings is available here: https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=LXQt_with_kwin
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Spacesurfer on 12. December 2014, 06:34:22
Is there or will there be a Menda theme that can be used with LXQt and kwin? Frickin' loving the theme on LXQt w/ Openbox.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: AJSlye on 12. December 2014, 08:41:09
There is already a Menda theme made for plasma5, it should work for just Kwin5, but you may need to install it with the nodeps option.

Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 12. December 2014, 14:31:36
There is already a Menda theme made for plasma5, it should work for just Kwin5, but you may need to install it with the nodeps option.
can you please post the complete command i have to use to do this?
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: AJSlye on 12. December 2014, 14:40:44
And your on the support team, j/k  ;D

Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Sdd <application name/s>
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 12. December 2014, 16:07:18
thx AJSlye for the tip. the complete command is:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Sdd menda-plasma-desktop

edit: this does NOT work. i cannot choose menda as a theme in the "systemsettings" window.
i will not install menda-plasma-desktop with all dependencies, because it is a HUGE package!


instead, i use the "olympic" theme. it fits very well to the dark menda theme.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: AJSlye on 12. December 2014, 19:30:26
That's because if you have a look at the menda-plasma-look-and-feel meta package the full command would be:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Sdd plasma-desktop menda menda-kde4 menda-plasma-desktop
For the cursors:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S xcursor-menda
For the Icons:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S menda-circle-icon-theme menda-square-icon-theme
For SDDM:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S sddm-menda-theme
and for the LXQT pannel
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -S menda-lxqt-panel
Optional packages:
menda-themes (Manjaro's official Gtk2, Gtk3, Metacity, Xfwm, Openbox, Cinnamon and GNOME Shell themes)
menda-themes-dark (Manjaro's official Gtk2, Gtk3, Metacity, Xfwm, Openbox, Cinnamon and GNOME Shell themes. Dark version.)
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 12. December 2014, 19:55:08
i only talked about the menda theme for kwin, because this thread is about kwin.

of course, you can install other menda themes in lxqt as AJSlye has mentioned. for detailed explanations look here: https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=THEMING
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: eskaini on 14. December 2014, 23:14:17
So, as i am following this, what is the final say on getting kwin to work with lxqt?
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 15. December 2014, 01:15:16
So, as i am following this, what is the final say on getting kwin to work with lxqt?
as this thread shows, kwin works with lxqt, but it requires some dependencies. fewer dependencies than kde4. this is probably the best answer to your question:
edit: a wiki page with my findings is available here: https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=LXQt_with_kwin
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: eskaini on 17. December 2014, 03:20:21
I like it like that.....


Thank you!
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 17. February 2015, 15:10:49
i have some problems running kwin on lxqt since the release of plasma 5.2:

- i have trouble placing/moving the buttons (e.g. close, maximize, etc.) on the title bar of windows. somehow, the systemsettings option does not look as nice on lxqt as it does on kde/kf5.

- i cannot use ALT + TAB to switch between windows. i cannot assign a hotkey to the task switcher, which comes with kwin. i think it should be possible to use lxqt's integrated keyboard shortcut tool: lxqt-globalkeys. but which command do i need to assign to the ALT + TAB shortcut to run kwin's task switcher?

Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: urbanomad64 on 20. February 2015, 16:08:50
i have some problems running kwin on lxqt since the release of plasma 5.2:

- i cannot use ALT + TAB to switch between windows. i cannot assign a hotkey to the task switcher, which comes with kwin. i think it should be possible to use lxqt's integrated keyboard shortcut tool: lxqt-globalkeys. but which command do i need to assign to the ALT + TAB shortcut to run kwin's task switcher?
I was just going to ask about this issue too
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 21. February 2015, 21:54:37
I was just going to ask about this issue too
i am using the unstable repository.
i just updated kwindowsystem (and some other kde stuff) to version 5.7 and rebooted.

now, i can use alt + tab again.
just wait until the package update comes to your repository.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: urbanomad64 on 21. February 2015, 23:00:34
i am using the unstable repository.
i just updated kwindowsystem (and some other kde stuff) to version 5.7 and rebooted.

now, i can use alt + tab again.
just wait until the package update comes to your repository.
Thank you!
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Lukimya on 16. May 2015, 14:19:24
I replaced openbox with Kwin and the window borders and effects are all working. What turns me into Madness however, is the fact when i go to preferences-->lxqt settings I dont find Kde-systemsettings anywhere? what is this? Also when i click the window panel and try to go to window manager settings, it does not work.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: conky57 on 16. May 2015, 14:28:09
I replaced openbox with Kwin and the window borders and effects are all working. What turns me into Madness however, is the fact when i go to preferences-->lxqt settings I dont find Kde-systemsettings anywhere? what is this? Also when i click the window panel and try to go to window manager settings, it does not work.
I think you would likely need to install "systemsettings" package to get KDE Systemsettings.


Best regards.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Lukimya on 16. May 2015, 14:31:28
I think you would likely need to install "systemsettings" package to get KDE Systemsettings.


Best regards.
that is installed. Unfortunately it just simply does not show up in the menu.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: conky57 on 16. May 2015, 14:40:36
that is installed. Unfortunately it just simply does not show up in the menu.
And you replaced openbox with kwin_x11? I am not familiar with using kwin as replacement for openbox, but it does seem strange that KDE Systemsettings isn't available in your menu. Try running "systemsettings5" in a terminal and see if that works.


Best regards.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Lukimya on 16. May 2015, 14:54:40
And you replaced openbox with kwin_x11? I am not familiar with using kwin as replacement for openbox, but it does seem strange that KDE Systemsettings isn't available in your menu. Try running "systemsettings5" in a terminal and see if that works.


Best regards.

systemsettings5 launches it. Openbox is not even on my system anymore. I installed synaptic and it appears to work with that. Thanks for the help  ;)
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: urbanomad64 on 16. May 2015, 16:09:03
I replaced openbox with Kwin and the window borders and effects are all working. What turns me into Madness however, is the fact when i go to preferences-->lxqt settings I dont find Kde-systemsettings anywhere? what is this? Also when i click the window panel and try to go to window manager settings, it does not work.
I have this problem as well since two updates ago. systemsettings5 has disappeared from my LXQt Settings menu
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: conky57 on 16. May 2015, 16:42:35
systemsettings5 launches it. Openbox is not even on my system anymore. I installed synaptic and it appears to work with that. Thanks for the help  ;)
Glad that worked. You could manually create an entry in your menu, for ease of access. :)


Best regards.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 16. May 2015, 16:44:19
What turns me into Madness however, is the fact when i go to preferences-->lxqt settings I don't find Kde-systemsettings anywhere? what is this?
i have nothing in start menu --> preferences --> lxqt settings, too.
but i have 2 links to systemsettings5 in start menu --> preferences. in english, they are called "kde system settings" and "system settings". these links have been there at least since lxqt 0.8.
please look at my attached screenshot. in german these links are called "kde-systemeinstellungen" and "systemeinstellungen".

Also when i click the window panel and try to go to window manager settings, it does not work.
you are right. it does not work for me either.
i have never used this method for opening systemsettings5 before, so i cannot tell you whether this has worked in the past or not.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Esclapion on 16. May 2015, 17:33:06
It would be very interesting to know how your links are done... a .desktop ?  ;)
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 16. May 2015, 19:32:09
i never created these links, i just installed kwin and systemsettings.

but i have found this file. if it is not there for your, maybe you can create it manually:
Code: [Select]
/usr/share/applications/kdesystemsettings.desktop
this is the file content:
Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Exec=systemsettings5
Icon=preferences-system
Type=Application
X-KDE-StartupNotify=true
NotShowIn=KDE;

GenericName=KDE System Settings
GenericName[ar]=إعدادات نظام كدي
GenericName[bs]=Sistemske postavke KDE-a
GenericName[ca]=Arranjament del sistema del KDE
GenericName[ca@valencia]=Arranjament del sistema del KDE
GenericName[cs]=Nastavení systému KDE
GenericName[da]=KDE Systemindstillinger
GenericName[de]=KDE-Systemeinstellungen
GenericName[el]=Ρυθμίσεις συστήματος του KDE
GenericName[en_GB]=KDE System Settings
GenericName[es]=Preferencias del sistema de KDE
GenericName[et]=KDE Süsteemi seadistused
GenericName[eu]=KDE sistemaren ezarpenak
GenericName[fi]=KDE:n järjestelmäasetukset
GenericName[fr]=Configuration du système de KDE
GenericName[ga]=Socruithe an Chórais KDE
GenericName[gl]=Configuración do sistema KDE
GenericName[he]=הגדרות מערכת של KDE
GenericName[hu]=KDE Rendszerbeállítások
GenericName[ia]=Preferentias de systema KDE
GenericName[id]=Pengaturan Sistem KDE
GenericName[is]=KDE kerfisstillingar
GenericName[it]=Impostazioni di sistema KDE
GenericName[kk]=KDE жүйелік параметрлері
GenericName[km]=ការ​កំណត់​ប្រព័ន្ធ KDE
GenericName[ko]=KDE 시스템 설정
GenericName[lt]=KDE sistemos nustatymai
GenericName[lv]=KDE sistēmas iestatījumi
GenericName[mr]=केडीई प्रणाली संयोजना
GenericName[nb]=KDE Systeminnstillinger
GenericName[nds]=KDE-Systeeminstellen
GenericName[nl]=KDE-systeeminstellingen
GenericName[pa]=KDE ਸਿਸਟਮ ਸੈਟਿੰਗ
GenericName[pl]=Ustawienia systemowe KDE
GenericName[pt]=Configuração do Sistema KDE
GenericName[pt_BR]=Configurações do Sistema KDE
GenericName[ro]=Configurări de sistem
GenericName[ru]=Параметры системы KDE
GenericName[sk]=Nastavenie systému KDE
GenericName[sl]=KDE-jeve sistemske nastavitve
GenericName[sr]=КДЕ Системске поставке
GenericName[sr@ijekavian]=КДЕ Системске поставке
GenericName[sr@ijekavianlatin]=KDE Sistemske postavke
GenericName[sr@latin]=KDE Sistemske postavke
GenericName[sv]=KDE:s systeminställningar
GenericName[tr]=KDE Sistem Ayarları
GenericName[ug]=KDE سىستېما تەڭشىكى
GenericName[uk]=Системні параметри KDE
GenericName[vi]=Thiết lập hệ thống KDE
GenericName[x-test]=xxKDE System Settingsxx
GenericName[zh_CN]=KDE 系统设置
GenericName[zh_TW]=KDE 系統設定

Name=KDE System Settings
Name[ar]=إعدادات نظام كدي
Name[bs]=Sistemske postavke KDE-a
Name[ca]=Arranjament del sistema del KDE
Name[ca@valencia]=Arranjament del sistema del KDE
Name[cs]=Nastavení systému KDE
Name[da]=KDE Systemindstillinger
Name[de]=KDE-Systemeinstellungen
Name[el]=Ρυθμίσεις συστήματος του KDE
Name[en_GB]=KDE System Settings
Name[es]=Preferencias del sistema de KDE
Name[et]=KDE Süsteemi seadistused
Name[eu]=KDE sistemaren ezarpenak
Name[fi]=KDE:n järjestelmäasetukset
Name[fr]=Configuration du système de KDE
Name[ga]=Socruithe an Chórais KDE
Name[gl]=Configuración do sistema KDE
Name[he]=הגדרות מערכת של KDE
Name[hu]=KDE Rendszerbeállítások
Name[ia]=Preferentias de systema KDE
Name[id]=Pengaturan Sistem KDE
Name[is]=KDE kerfisstillingar
Name[it]=Impostazioni di sistema KDE
Name[kk]=KDE жүйелік параметрлері
Name[km]=ការ​កំណត់​ប្រព័ន្ធ KDE
Name[ko]=KDE 시스템 설정
Name[lt]=KDE sistemos nustatymai
Name[lv]=KDE sistēmas iestatījumi
Name[mr]=केडीई प्रणाली संयोजना
Name[nb]=KDE Systeminnstillinger
Name[nds]=KDE-Systeeminstellen
Name[nl]=KDE-systeeminstellingen
Name[pa]=KDE ਸਿਸਟਮ ਸੈਟਿੰਗ
Name[pl]=Ustawienia systemowe KDE
Name[pt]=Configuração do Sistema KDE
Name[pt_BR]=Configurações do Sistema KDE
Name[ro]=Configurări de sistem KDE
Name[ru]=Параметры системы KDE
Name[sk]=Nastavenie systému KDE
Name[sl]=KDE-jeve sistemske nastavitve
Name[sr]=КДЕ Системске поставке
Name[sr@ijekavian]=КДЕ Системске поставке
Name[sr@ijekavianlatin]=KDE Sistemske postavke
Name[sr@latin]=KDE Sistemske postavke
Name[sv]=KDE:s systeminställningar
Name[tr]=KDE Sistem Ayarları
Name[ug]=KDE سىستېما تەڭشىكى
Name[uk]=Системні параметри KDE
Name[vi]=Thiết lập hệ thống KDE
Name[x-test]=xxKDE System Settingsxx
Name[zh_CN]=KDE 系统设置
Name[zh_TW]=KDE 系統設定

X-DBUS-StartupType=Unique
Categories=Qt;KDE;Settings;
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Esclapion on 16. May 2015, 20:23:53
Ok, thanks, excalibur.   :) I will search why I don't have it.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 16. May 2015, 20:30:25
i have installed systemsettings for a while now. i think i installed it as version 5.0 or 5.1.
maybe the latest version 5.3 has a bug?
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: Esclapion on 16. May 2015, 21:12:35
Sorry, I was busy.

It's simple, we have a line in systemsettings.desktop :

Code: [Select]
OnlyShowIn=KDE;
it must be changed into :

Code: [Select]
OnlyShowIn=LXQt;
(care to the word LXQt :) )

There are together 2 .desktop : 1 for KDE, and one for the others, it seems.
Title: Re: LXQt with kwin
Post by: excalibur1234 on 17. May 2015, 01:04:56

It's simple, we have a line in systemsettings.desktop :

Code: [Select]
OnlyShowIn=KDE;
it must be changed into :

Code: [Select]
OnlyShowIn=LXQt;

Thank you! That worked!


edit: this post was originally by urbanomad64. i moved the rest of his post into a new thread: https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=22840.0