Manjaro Linux Forum

Support for Community Editions => Others => i3 => Topic started by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 00:10:40

Title: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 00:10:40
Hello everybody!
Last week I started a little experiment and downloaded the net-install version to try and put together a pure i3 version of this great OS.
My aim was to use only the necessary but at the same time to build a convenient and efficient system.
Another focus was to create something a bit different from the typical desktop oriented environments.
So where I am standing right now is a classical tiling windows surrounding which I think is functional but also quite pretty - at least for my personal taste ;) status-bar, window borders and dmenu are all customized in a unified manjarian color- and font scheme.
I tried to stick quite striktly to manjaro typical design but also to walk a little bit off the main track.
The same can be said about my choice of packages.
I think I have put together a very efficient setup of keyboard commands that will quickly be familiar to both experienced i3- and xfce-users (just one example: navigating workspaces works with either Ctrl+Alt+arrow-keys or with mod+1-8, or you can also click on the pager in the status bar if you like ;) )
Meanwhile I am running an impressively slim, responsive and fast system with more or less everything up and in place.
The next major step now obviously will have to be building an .ISO - which of course I have never done before  :o So that will still take some more studying and time.
But for now I would very much like to present already some screenshots and information on the setup and will be very thankful for all your comments and suggestions.
The full list of packages is attached. It would be great if some of you experts would like to have a look at it and let me know about any concerns - anything important I am still forgetting? Please let me know!

(http://de.zimagez.com/miniature/rimg182501.jpg) (http://de.zimagez.com/zimage/rimg182501.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0500-04-58.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0500-04-58.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0500-00-21.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0500-00-21.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0500-10-04.php) (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0500-10-04.php)

Here is a little overview of the main configuration:

llightDM-gtk-greeter
launcher: dmenu
file manager: spacefm
package manager: octopi
compton
xfce4-terminal
xfce4-screenshooter
image-viewer/background utility: feh
browser: palemoon
email: thunderbird
pulse-audio
mousepad
mhwd-chroot

Cheers! :)
oberon
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 00:19:06
is just what you like :p im building a private i3

not so special :)

dunst as notifyer ?

i would leave thunderbird out :)

nitrogen as background is ok :)


my first iso i build i was shocked....

its was 1.2gb .. hahahahaha ^-^ ^-^ ^-^ ^-^ ^-^

Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 00:21:01
if you need backup :) ask always :) on irc are also a few users.. but you have to build what you think is good .

dunst as notification is pretty good
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 00:34:57
I will ask for sure! :D
Thank you ringo!
I have xfce4-notifyd - its just 200K, so really no big deal, is it?
At the moment I have an issue with screen-brightness hotkeys not working while in xfce I don't have that problem on the same machine - but that should not be a problem of the notifier I guess. Any idea how to make that work?
feh works fine for background and I use it as a simple picture viewer also. light weight for sure - a bit basic of course. :D
But then I also have darktable installed - but would not put that one on an .ISO really... ;)
What do you prefer for email then? Personally I need sync with Google-calendar, so I guess that limits my choices...
Is your .ISO available? I could not find a more or less recent i3 version at all...
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 00:42:43
Oh, and I forgot to attach the package list! Here it is.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 00:45:10
dunst is really nice, i like that way personally..

but email for iso , dont having thunderbird of any other email program is not bad, atleast a browser is nice,

terminator for terminal is nice atleast here ..


my iso is build but ... but was just build from old anex overlay's :) but im changing for moment just the 'openbox'  conky  because you set the keybinds in the conky thats nice have pacman also on it.. u can always install evoluition after install :) but is matter of personal choice really .. personal i use evolution because gmail integration and calendar etc :)

but what is small and big this time, just build as your liking offcourse :)

dunst was designed for dwm is not so big as you think, but its less cluttered then the xfce4-notify

but personally i dont put aur stuf on it :)

Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 00:58:51
Ah welll .. install dunst , remove xfce4-notifier


check this config : http://dotshare.it/dots/974/

esspecially i3_config_dunst

save that in ~/.config/dunst/dunstrc


you willl see :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 01:38:41
That's an impressive config-file, indeed!!  :o ;D
Thank you :D I will try it! :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 02:56:44
Which ISO profile should I use for i3? xfce-minimal? ???
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Chrysostomus on 05. May 2015, 03:42:28
If you are using xfce packages as base, one thing to cobsider is including xfsettingsd in the autostart. This enables you to xfce4-settings-manager to configure monitors, mouse and gtk-themes and other stuff.

It might be nice for new users, but if you are aiming for minimalist system, is not absolutely necessary.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 03:55:03
Thank you, Chrysostomus!
Yes, I am approaching from the minimalistic end...! :D For style settings i use lxappearance.
At the moment I am still at the very beginning of figuring out how this ISO-building works at all  ::)
Maybe I could also try to approach it the way I did it in the first place, with the net-install profile and then add all the packages I have added??
Somehow I was expecting that it will be possible to just use the existing system I have set up here and pack it up nicely into an .ISO - but I guess it works a little different, right? ;)
It seems also a bit tricky to me that I have some programs installed that I will not want to include in the ISO because they are for my special needs and most people will certainly not need them. But now I am sometimes not so sure which dependencies are associated with them.
So should I first remove everything from this version here to see what really needs to go onto the ISO?
Also I don't have an idea, yet, how to include all the customizations and dotfiles... ??? ... but then without my personal files ;)
A lot more reading still required for sure ... ... ;)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Chrysostomus on 05. May 2015, 04:40:08
I think the wiki has excellent documentation on manjaro-tools.
I suggest following approach:
- copy one of the existing profiles for base. I suggest excalibur1234:s customized net edition
- add desired packages to the config file
- add your .config files to overlay folder in /etc/skel/ so that they appear /home of user in iso
- add config files (and symlinks) for display manager service. Other profiles and your own system can work as example. I usually setup my own system like I wish iso to be, and then copy files and symlinks to overlay folder
- buildiso (see the wiki for excellent instructions)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: dyfi on 05. May 2015, 05:27:05
No idea if this would work, but there is a set of tools for Debian called Refracta Tools, link below.

http://www.ibiblio.org/refracta/

These will create .iso from a running system.  Maybe Debtap would convert the .deb to provide a package for manjaro?  Had been thinking of doing this but not got around to it.

Have done it many times on a Debian install.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 08:41:58
Which ISO profile should I use for i3? xfce-minimal? ???

i3-overlay :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 08:44:52
i3 is the main map have packages-i3 etc, its normally set. asked a while back
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 09:32:21
Quote from: ringo link=topic=225nnoxsg199432 date=1430808292
i3 is the main map have packages-i3 etc, its normally set. asked a while back
Oops, sorry I don't know what you mean ???
In manjaro tools I see a variety of overlays, but no i3.
So do I use net and add what I want? Or xfce-minimal and remove what I don't want?
I think my version uses more xfce than openbox packages...
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: simgin on 05. May 2015, 10:06:41
^ I would vote for a net-install, and add what you need, cleaner and most often it is easier. :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 10:22:53
Oops, sorry I don't know what you mean ???
In manjaro tools I see a variety of overlays, but no i3.
So do I use net and add what I want? Or xfce-minimal and remove what I don't want?
I think my version uses more xfce than openbox packages...

my config is just i3 , in that map is i3-overlay same as other configuration so its stands on its own..


just make what you like :) ill do my own :pbut is private build offcourse ... personal toomuch xfce is also not ok :)

but is a opinion..still an i3-iso must be minimal but good for people to try out this without configuring there self, so this way they discover i3 later stage they could always configure what they want basicly :)

just do what you like to do :)

Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 10:48:35
Yes, I get it ... slowly ;)
Is there still a way I will be able to share it with the community?
Can I upload it somewhere when I'm ready? - maybe already tonight...  8)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 10:59:18
toomuch xfce is also not ok :)
Meanwhile its only power-manager and notifyd I use. They are just very useful and good looking tools and power-manager also handles the backlight on laptops - that's really helpful to have I think.
Yes I think I can build my overlay from the net version, that will be best...
 8) wish me luck with the intimidating manjaro-tools monster!!  :o O:-) ;D
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 11:02:06
just try to build xfce4-power-manager handles the lightlocker and is not so much depended ...

dunst has only some standard depency already in see my link... dotshare.it is nice because all notification is cropped in one so less full screen :)

just try eventual error can be fixed later...


and ..

you can upload to sourceforge make a account , filezilla easily shared.

or using rsync :)

thunar vs pcmanfm , pcmanfm handles ssh aswel :) network standard
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. May 2015, 11:28:23
usually, it is best to start from the net-edition profile located here (by default):
Code: [Select]
~/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/net/
you can simple copy and rename it to "i3", but please rename "packages-net" and "net-overlay", too.

you can always look at xfce-minimal or all other profiles and "steal" config files or package names (inside the packages-xfce-minimal file) from them.

by default, all files (and links to) the ~/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/shared/ directory should not get modified. it contains files common to all manjaro editions.


you can create a github account and fork https://github.com/manjaro/manjaro-tools-iso-profiles/ . then, you can upload changes to your own github repo. when your iso works you can start a pull request.

for iso files, you can create a sourceforge account or offer the iso from any other webhosting service you choose.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 11:41:39
Thanks a lot ex! :)
Should I also add the name of the new overlay in /etc/manjaro-tools/sets/iso/community.set then ?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 11:47:23
thunar vs pcmanfm , pcmanfm handles ssh aswel :) network standard
I will have a look at pcmanfm, too! :)
At the moment I am using spacefm - I like the split windows and its handling of mounted devices.
Couldn't get dunst to work properly, yet  ::) Will need to have a look at this enooooooouuuuumos config file later - for some reason its not working in my setup. It only prints 'pa-applet' when I change the volume and looks ugly ;) ... So would still need a lot of tweaking for sure  8)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 11:51:20
pcmanfm is stil maintained the gtk part of lxde..

dunst worked here but not tested as a whole only on irc for that notifications for sure :p


in vbox is to try, but if i aint right you can copy the work you now working on to a new map and rename all those to i3 like xfce-overlay to i3-overlay
etc etc

i think it should work if non you find out :) just copied now here the vbox config now i have to look for my own thing  :)

Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 05. May 2015, 11:52:41
Ah yes, pcmanfm is really cool, too!
Only option I am missing is a root window. Or am I just not seeing that?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: excalibur1234 on 05. May 2015, 11:56:40
Thanks a lot ex! :)
Should I also add the name of the new overlay in /etc/manjaro-tools/sets/iso/community.set then ?
buildsets are different from iso profiles.

you can choose your iso profile when building your iso, e.g. "sudo buildiso -p i3 -a i686".
the buildset has to be specified in the manjaro-tools.conf file (but it is set to default - i always use this).

i do not know exactly what a buildset is, but it is only important for building official preview, testing and RC images. so, ignore that for the moment.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 05. May 2015, 12:04:38
i dont know latest manjaro-tools also dont know what meaning of buildset :/

only i know some script further i know aaditya added i3 while back where i forgoth.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 12:05:45
Any suggestions for a taskmanager in i3 ?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Sdoubleyou on 06. May 2015, 13:47:01
you can try lxtask from LxQT or qps.

But I think your I3-configuration is not the right way for I3. I3 is WM not DE! - Work with htop
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: excalibur1234 on 06. May 2015, 13:58:48
do not use qps, it is qt4 based and it does not get maintained any longer.

lxtask is the default task manager from lxde, it is gtk2 based but still gets maintained. it is also pretty light.

alternatively, you could simply create a link, which opens top or htop in a terminal window as suggested by Sdoubleyou.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 15:00:11
Quote
But I think your I3-configuration is not the right way for I3. I3 is WM not DE! - Work with htop
hm ??? I appear to have no DE at all then...! At least not 'officially'. Everything is working perfectly fine like this, though! What should I change?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 17:00:59
@Sdoubleyou: You mean because it is not listed by screenfetch?
This looks ok, doesn't it?
Code: [Select]
$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION
i3
Code: [Select]
$ inxi -Sx
System:    Host: manjaro-i3 Kernel: 4.0.0-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.9.2)
           Desktop: i3 4.10.2 Distro: ManjaroLinux 0.8.12 Ascella
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Sdoubleyou on 06. May 2015, 18:30:03
not chase! It's my opinion. Make your calm thing.  ;D
Sure, you can put everything in floating,but I3 is tilling WM, work a lot of in the terminal.They treat the screen as a kind of table and not as an DE with windows.

This is actually the problem, too much Xfce in the background?
If you are using xfce packages as base, one thing to cobsider is including xfsettingsd in the autostart. This enables you to xfce4-settings-manager to configure monitors, mouse and gtk-themes and other stuff.

It might be nice for new users, but if you are aiming for minimalist system, is not absolutely necessary.

I using I3 with urxvt or terminator, Dunst, i3-lock, mc, DWB Browser newsbeuter, cmus, htop, Alpine-mail and WeeChat. All light programs in the terminal.

Again, Do not be afraid, make it! :-)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 18:40:48
yeah, I understand what you mean mow! :D When I hear "configuration" these days I am immediately looking at config files instead of thinking common sense first it appears :D
A little different a mentality to discover, obviously, the tiling world it seems... :)
I would love to use urxvt, but sofar I couldn't get the transparency working there (with compton) ...
Sure, you tend to use what you are used to in the beginning, right? ;)
I find the tiling philosophy really appealing and fascinating - I'm just still a bit too shy and unexperienced with really hard core terminal use, like pure text internet browsing for example ::) ... :D
Thank you all for your patience  8)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: simgin on 06. May 2015, 19:07:29
^ That, and OP hlw much TUI do you want?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Sdoubleyou on 06. May 2015, 19:18:46
I would love to use urxvt, but sofar I couldn't get the transparency working there (with compton) ...

Code: [Select]
urxvt*transparent: truein .Xdefaults not working?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 19:41:43
hlw much TUI do you want?
That's a good question!
Personally I'm finding it hard to say goodbye to graphical Internetbrowser and mail/calender-client with Google sync and I wouldn't know of an alternative for Skype.
I also need to use an office suite and some software for photo-, video-, audio- and music-score editing regularly.
For these reasons i3 seems to be quite a good place for me inbetween the floating and tiling worlds - on the other end, when I use xfce, I find myself constantly using the keyboard shortcuts for window tiling  ;D ::)
Also I try to avoid the mouse and keep my hands on the keyboard as much as possible and I enjoy how - with a little bit of practice - this really speeds up the workflow.
And also: The increase in performance with my i3 setup compared to xfce is remarkable on my machine!
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Sdoubleyou on 06. May 2015, 20:05:24
oberon2007, is this not a better way for you?
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=6831.msg59567#msg59567 (https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=6831.msg59567#msg59567)

Thanks a lot for this tutorial! I will give it a try :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 20:08:41
Code: [Select]
urxvt*transparent: truein .Xdefaults not working?

 ::) yes it is  ;D
Thanks  O:-)
The Arch wiki only talks about .Xresources, but that didn't work...
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: simgin on 06. May 2015, 20:15:00
 ;D  ;D ;D ;D ^-^ Well spotted Sdoubleyou  C:-)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 06. May 2015, 21:44:06
is this not a better way for you?

I have tried this a while ago already, thank you.
But no, its not ideal at all and quite messy actually. That's why I am looking for a different setup with i3 as the basis and additions for what I absolutely need and want.
At the moment I am only still using notifyd and the power-manager. So why should I have the whole xfce-setup in the background for two packages I am actually using? And I also don't see why I am supposed to scratch my head about hundreds of lines of config for dunst or about writing three new scripts to get my hotkeys working when someone has already created two neat packages that I can install in 10 seconds that take care of all that, integrate nicely and without further ado into the i3 bar and have a nice design, too?
I read a lot about i3 in different places and I see that many users borrow from other flavors to make their lives easier, be it xfce, gnome or lxde...
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: mxx on 11. May 2015, 17:07:48
Here's another glitch I encountered: Floating window cannot be lowered. It's a glitch for me as someone used to windowing instead of tiling.

 I have set focus to follow mouse, but focus and click do not raise tiles over floating windows. Somehow floating windows remain on top layer. The only way to have access to an underlying maximised tile is to move it to another workspace.

This is quite uncomfortable. I want it to be easy to lower and raise floating windows. I tried looking around for documentation, but no luck.

Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 11. May 2015, 17:20:14
The focus does follow, but a tile will never be 'in front of' a floating window in i3, that's right. You have to either tile it back in with mod+Shift+Space or, yes, you can move it to another workspace of course. Focus between tiling and floating windows can be switched with mod+Space or be hovering the mouse over the desired window.
Those things just need to get used to, I know - it can be quite irritating when you are used to a different desktop environment. :)
Of course in i3 a floating window is meant to be the exception rather than something you have regularly in front of the tiles.
Very often I use the applications that need to float on their designated own workspace and then switch quickly between them by shortcuts. The latest version of the config also includes workspace_auto_back_and_forth, which makes it easier to jump between two workspaces also when they are not adjacent. :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 11. May 2015, 18:47:12
Quote
but focus and click do not raise tiles over floating windows. Somehow floating windows remain on top layer.
In order to raise a tiled window you will need to float that one, too (mod+Shift+Space), but then again, its like fighting the whole philosophy of a tiling window manager ...  C:-) ;)
To understand the concept of tiling it is maybe helpful to imagine the tiles to actually become part of the desktop, like tiles on a laboratory table. Sometimes you can put some extra stuff on that surface, but the table will never be in front of the piece of paper that's lying on top if it!
Its not easy to get rid of old habits, but it can be very exciting, at the same time! :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: mxx on 11. May 2015, 19:53:56
ling it is maybe helpful to imagine the tiles to actually become part of the desktop, like tiles on a laboratory table. Sometimes you can put some extra stuff on that surface, but the table will never be in front of the piece of paper that's lying on top if it!
I understand the concept this much, but some windows only make sense as floating, e.g. messenger windows. And then when they float like that, I'd like to lower them or minimise (iconify). No iconifying either in tiling managers, right?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 11. May 2015, 20:18:35
Have you considered installing a menu? Maybe the openbox menu, or you could even install xfce-panel in i3!
Just minimized windows you will not get in i3, because they are not windows in common sense but officially 'containers' ...
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: mxx on 11. May 2015, 20:45:20
Have you considered installing a menu? Maybe the openbox menu, or you could even install xfce-panel in i3!
I actually have Openbox on the computer where I am trying i3. But how to activate Openbox menu when I log in to i3?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 11. May 2015, 21:17:08
there is no menu, your instak adeskmenu from aur?
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Chrysostomus on 28. May 2015, 08:12:11
@Oberon:
How do you startup xfce4-notifyd? I know this is silly question, but my googlefu has gailed me yet again. I have both dunst and notifyd installed, and all the popups come through the former, which consumes obscene amount of ram. I'd like to see if notifyd is any lighter.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 28. May 2015, 08:42:23
Hah, that's weird!
I just wanted to copy a line like "exec --no-startup-id xfce4-notifyd" here for you but was a bit stumped that I don't have anything like that in my config file  :o ;D
Obviously I am only autostarting nm-applet, pa-applet and xfce4-power-manager. I have NO panel installed.
xfce-notifyd I appear to only have installed once and that's it.
I will try later what happens when I don't start one or the other or all of the applets... Maybe one of them takes care of notifyd... ???
Will investigate more in the evening.
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 28. May 2015, 08:55:41
Did you ever run
Code: [Select]
xfce4-notifyd-config ?
Maybe it simply needs to be configured once?

edit: It will create ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-notifyd.xml
looking like this for example:
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<channel name="xfce4-notifyd" version="1.0">
  <property name="notify-location" type="uint" value="0"/>
  <property name="expire-timeout" type="int" value="3"/>
  <property name="initial-opacity" type="double" value="0.860000"/>
  <property name="theme" type="string" value="Smoke"/>
</channel>
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 28. May 2015, 08:58:15
Other than that I don't know more than this: http://goodies.xfce.org/projects/applications/xfce4-notifyd :)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: oberon on 28. May 2015, 09:04:39
So, meanwhile I can report that disabling all nm-applet, pa-applet and xfce4-power-manager leaves notifyd still working...
My guess is it simply needs a working config file - and its dependencies of course... ;)
Were you not attempting to get rid of gtk altogether? Did you already? Could be the reason why notfyd becomes dumb... ;)
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: Chrysostomus on 29. May 2015, 12:55:38
Hello!

I had run xfce4-notifyd-config, but xfce4-notifyd only started working only after I unisntalled dusnt. Apparently all you have to do is have it installed and not have dunst or something else that replaces it.

Thank you for your assistance!
Title: Re: manjaro i3 2015
Post by: ringo on 31. May 2015, 18:27:41
i find dunst for i3 very usefull i use dunst also in my xfce i find it better and compacter then xfce4-notfier

is not matter of gtk2 or gtk3 basicly...

for notifier for dunst if you have one good config not is all bad..

when Dmenu is installed and if you like synapse i dont care, but you dont have to remove all gtk stuf , thats not the point somewhere :)