Manjaro Linux Forum

Support for Community Editions => Others => i3 => Topic started by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 21:29:00

Title: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 21:29:00
Hello everyone!
I have recently started to put together a pure lightweight i3 version from a net instal - there is still a list of issues to be dealt with but I'm slowly getting there I think ... ;)
If some of the more experienced guys here will be willing to help me a little with this and that, I might even be able to offer an edition for the community in the near future - we shall see  8)
Or is someone maybe already working on i3 meanwhile?


  (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0321-20-05.php)
 (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0321-20-05.php)

One concern I am currently having is (non-)availability of some i3-specific packages in the manjaro-reps.
Right now I am trying to build j4-dmenu-desktop and I am stuck with this error:
Code: [Select]
CMake Error: CMake was unable to find a build program corresponding to "Unix Makefiles".  CMAKE_MAKE_PROGRAM is not set.  You probably need to select a different build tool.
CMake Error: Error required internal CMake variable not set, cmake may be not be built correctly.
Missing variable is:
CMAKE_C_COMPILER_ENV_VAR
CMake Error: Error required internal CMake variable not set, cmake may be not be built correctly.
Missing variable is:
CMAKE_C_COMPILER
CMake Error: Could not find cmake module file: /tmp/yaourt-tmp-bernhard/aur-j4-dmenu-desktop/src/j4-dmenu-desktop-r2.12/CMakeFiles/3.2.2/CMakeCCompiler.cmake
CMake Error: Error required internal CMake variable not set, cmake may be not be built correctly.
Missing variable is:
CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER_ENV_VAR
CMake Error: Error required internal CMake variable not set, cmake may be not be built correctly.
Missing variable is:
CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER
CMake Error: Could not find cmake module file: /tmp/yaourt-tmp-bernhard/aur-j4-dmenu-desktop/src/j4-dmenu-desktop-r2.12/CMakeFiles/3.2.2/CMakeCXXCompiler.cmake
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:3 (project):
  No CMAKE_C_COMPILER could be found.

  Tell CMake where to find the compiler by setting the CMake cache entry
  CMAKE_C_COMPILER to the full path to the compiler, or to the compiler name
  if it is in the PATH.

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:3 (project):
  No CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER could be found.

  Tell CMake where to find the compiler by setting the CMake cache entry
  CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to the full path to the compiler, or to the compiler
  name if it is in the PATH.

CMake Error: CMAKE_C_COMPILER not set, after EnableLanguage
CMake Error: CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER not set, after EnableLanguage
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build j4-dmenu-desktop.

Could you please help me with this error for now and apart from that I am of course curious about your feedback in principal.
Also I would like to know if - in case this can really become a prope community-edition one day, will it be possible to provide packages like j4 and the likes through the manjaro repositories?
 ^-^
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 21:58:32
Ah, obviously there was one or the other package of the base-devel group still missing.
So that's solved now. Still I am curious about your feedback on the whole i3 thing... :)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 03. May 2015, 22:11:53
whats difference with i3-dmenu-desktop ? :)


look at rofi :p
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 22:17:21
Hi ringo! :)
whats difference with i3-dmenu-desktop ? :)
They say it is faster - well ...  ::) faster than extremely fast doesn't really make a difference I guess.
But anyway, they are both only in the AUR! And dmenu itself is not so ideal really.
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 22:25:12
OK, rofi looks interesting, indeed! I will try that.
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 03. May 2015, 22:33:50
heard by every update you have to see :)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 03. May 2015, 22:34:31
i dont know for moment i build an iso but .. now just playing dont know for sure which config to do more tabbing or stacking
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 22:39:33
I like tiling - the old school, kind of ;)

Sorry, I didn't get what you mean with:
heard by every update you have to see :)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 03. May 2015, 22:44:40
rofi could be buggy :)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 22:46:47
I am trying to use compton for transparency but there is a weird thing, maybe a bug?
When you tile vertically either THIS happens  :o
  (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0322-43-34.php)
 (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0322-43-34.php) or on other occasions the transparency in the previous tile stops working:
  (http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/screenshot2015-05-0322-46-10.php)
 (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot2015-05-0322-46-10.php) ???
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 03. May 2015, 22:52:48
rofi could be buggy :)
Are you using it right now?
With dmenu I still haven't figured out how to customize the font... ??? I'm afraid some of the threads I found on the net are outdated and the man page is not helpful either... -fn yes, but then what?
I would like to use 'Cantarell' (or 'pango:Cantarell' ?) to go with the 'official' manjaro line... and in any case I would like a little bigger font - but I cannot get it to change  :P
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 03. May 2015, 23:26:32
you use some theme itmissing adwaita it seems :)

a feature :p

i use for now bindsym $mod+d exec dmenu_run -i -b -l '10' -nb '#000000' -nf '#ffffff' -sb '#008700' seems nice



Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 04. May 2015, 01:06:34
Did you figure out how the -fn option works? ???
I have this right now: :)
Code: [Select]
dmenu_run -nb '#333333' -nf '#FFFFFF' -sb '#7DA555' -sf '#FFFFFF'Corresponding with the i3 bar colors that I inherited from the old community edition:
Code: [Select]
colors {
  separator #7DA555
  background #222222
  statusline #DDDDDD
  focused_workspace #7DA555 #7DA555 #FFFFFF
  active_workspace #333333 #333333 #FFFFFF
  inactive_workspace #333333 #333333 #7DA555
  urgent_workspace #2F343A #900000 #FFFFFF
  }
I would just like to make the font matching - like that dmenu would exactly cover the title of an open window when it's open, that would be ideal and it would be the same size as the i3bar. I have global font set to a 'manjarian'
Code: [Select]
font pango:Cantarell 10
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: ringo on 04. May 2015, 01:09:32
dont know i get from a made have old overlay put intoo a iso but rebuilding it to own taste in iso :p but dont know :)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 04. May 2015, 01:54:11
you use some theme itmissing adwaita it seems :)
I've seen the error, but the weird thing is I don't even use Adwaita icons but Menda! ?? :D
Btw I have not manged yet to style the qt applications...
.xinitrc looks like this:
Code: [Select]
export GTK2_RC_FILES="$HOME/.gtkrc-2.0"
exec i3
but that doesn't seem to help...
Do you have a hint for me?
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: oberon on 04. May 2015, 02:19:06
right, for some reason this one works
Code: [Select]
-fn "-xos4-terminus-medium-r-*-*-14-*"Its not the perfect font yet, but already a lot better :)

edit:  This one is better still
Code: [Select]
-fn "-misc-dejavu sans mono-medium-r-normal-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*"
(http://www.zimagez.com/miniature/green18.png) (http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/green18.php)
Title: Re: i3 edition - j4-dmenu-desktop
Post by: Bimbada on 07. May 2015, 12:24:23
Hi there,

Personally I stick with dmenu, because it's fast and convenient.
I don't really known j4-dmenu-desktop neither what it brings more than others but if you've got difficulties to built it or use it, don't forget there's also xfce4-appfinder if you need to have an overall look of your applications, that's an idea.
I was using it when I started to use i3, but now with time I don't install it anymore, I guess dmenu + shortcuts launchers are just right to me .

This is my font for dmenu: "Source Sans Pro".
I discovered it in the Anex's i3 edition I think. Letters are properly displayed on my monitor, but before I had a good looking with the font called terminus but it's a really different style ^^ more geek I suppose.

Good luck with your config and your ISO also ;)