Manjaro Linux Forum

Support for Community Editions => LXQt => Topic started by: Xeto on 09. April 2015, 17:46:49

Title: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Xeto on 09. April 2015, 17:46:49
Have to search a simple-scan (requires gtk) replacement to use my epson printer / scanner.
Scan / print via network.
Suggestions?
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: excalibur1234 on 09. April 2015, 18:09:29
well, you can try the tools listed here:
https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=List_of_Qt_Applications
(in the scanning tools section)

if you find other non-gtk based tools, please report back so i can add it to that list.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Esclapion on 09. April 2015, 18:10:51
Have to search a simple-scan (requires gtk) replacement to use my epson printer / scanner.
Scan / print via network.
Suggestions?

Nope, and it will bring you gtk3...  :(

Code: [Select]
Dépend de             : sane  dconf  gtk3  colord  hicolor-icon-theme
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Esclapion on 09. April 2015, 18:21:02
xsane and xsane2tess are gtk2-based, but I don't know if it's a replacement.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Xeto on 10. April 2015, 08:59:43
Print should work with cups and gutenprint (200MB, but AUR Epson driver wasn't sucessful...).

At the moment I test the scanner with sane / iscan (iscan-plugin-network, add "net <IP>" to epkowa.conf. Scanner is found and connected by "Image Scan for Linux", but each scan is empty (white page)...
There is no alternative to simple-scan (simle UI, works fine) at the moment. Just install and it works.


By the way...
I tried to copy & paste text from terminal, but it doesn't work. No context menu. ctrl + c or select text not copy it to clipboard.

Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Xeto on 10. April 2015, 10:32:00
After some more tests (and installed packages...)

xsane, gbscan and simple-scan are working, but I don't like the xsane UI...
No change with iScan (Epson Stylus WorkForce 600)

gbScan isn't that complex with following dependencies. gbscan has no menu entry. I started it with "gbscan" via terminal.
Scan works as root (I think there are some permissions / group membership to test).
Code: [Select]
gambas3-runtime>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-form>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-form-dialog>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-qt4>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-qt4-ext>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-desktop>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-pdf gambas3-gb-image-effect>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-image-imlib>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-image>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-settings>=3.1.1
gambas3-gb-desktop-x11 sane
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: excalibur1234 on 10. April 2015, 13:32:58
By the way...
I tried to copy & paste text from terminal, but it doesn't work. No context menu. ctrl + c or select text not copy it to clipboard.
ctrl+c is the keyboard shortcut for canceling any active process in your terminal (equivalent to pressing alt+f4 to cancel/close a program in windows and some linux DE).
when you want to copy and paste content/text to/from the terminal, you can do it (sometimes - but not always) by selecting a text and pasting it with the middle mouse button or by using ctrl+shift+c for copying and ctrl+shift+v for pasting.

when you have trouble with copying and pasting between different programs, you can also try to experiment with clipboard managers like qlipper.
please remember that without a clipboard manager copying and pasting only works between OPEN applications (so, copy, then close the application, then paste does NOT work in general).
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Xeto on 10. April 2015, 16:27:15
Thanks, I'll test it. Maybe a clipboard manager should do it ;)

At the moment gbscan could be the best (UI not to complex...) replacement for Simple-Scan.
Any sucess with iScan (Epson scanner...)?
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Esclapion on 10. April 2015, 16:40:07
gbscan-git is recent and based on sane, yes.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: JayGuevara on 10. April 2015, 17:34:44
Skanlite does what you need, but you need kdebase-rutime and all its deps.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Esclapion on 10. April 2015, 17:37:16
Skanlite does what you need, but you need kdebase-rutime and all its deps.

Code: [Select]
Taille totale du téléchargement :  110,08 MiB
Taille totale installée :         367,15 MiB

Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Mozon on 10. April 2015, 18:11:43
I'm not shure if  this is the right but I found a Frontend for Sane.

It's a Java Frontend

http://swingsane.com/ (http://swingsane.com/)

Quote
SwingSane is a powerful, cross platform, open source Java client (frontend) for Scanner Access Now Easy (SANE) servers (backends). SwingSane provides access to scanners connected to SANE servers on a network on any platform that supports Java and Swing. It can also be used with your own application to provide some Swing code for accessing SANE scanners.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: JayGuevara on 10. April 2015, 18:29:01
Code: [Select]
Taille totale du téléchargement :  110,08 MiB
Taille totale installée :         367,15 MiB
I knew it would be big with the kde stuff, but wow.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: urbanomad64 on 11. April 2015, 14:53:16
I'm not shure if  this is the right but I found a Frontend for Sane.

It's a Java Frontend

http://swingsane.com/ (http://swingsane.com/)

Thank you for this! I just tested it with one page but seems completely usable.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: AJSlye on 11. April 2015, 17:20:28
I say iscan would be your best bet for an epson scanner, and it is available in the community repository.
There are also quite a few iscan plugins available in the AUR as well:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=iscan

Did you use one of these AUR packages to install your workforce printer?
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=workforce

Note: For many workforce models the iscan-data package is also required.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Xeto on 25. April 2015, 14:49:34
Is there a qscanner package available via pacman / AUR?
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: Esclapion on 25. April 2015, 15:00:34
I don't know one.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: AJSlye on 26. April 2015, 04:25:59
Is there a qscanner package available via pacman / AUR?

Nope. not at the moment.
Title: Re: simple-scan replacement?
Post by: melkhatt on 28. April 2015, 14:35:41
Is there a qscanner package available via pacman / AUR?
Quote
Description:
It uses libksane to scan images...
:(