Manjaro Linux Forum

Support for Community Editions => LXQt => Topic started by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 16:03:38

Title: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 16:03:38
Hi all,  :)

In the last ISO's we removed Qt4. In those, Gtk3. So, they are faster and lighter (only 120MB of Ram used for the 32 in VBox) than never. They are based on the stable repos, including today's update.


Highlights



Technical details



Download link (https://sourceforge.net/projects/manjarodev/files/users/esclapion/lxqt/0.9pre4/?)



Screenshot

(http://i.imgur.com/4Z4Tt4I.png)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 17:44:47
Hi Esclapion, I just tried both the 32bit & 64bit ISO' in a Virtualbox setup.  On both occasions it let me get to the point where the actual install starts and the VM closes down and gives an "aborted" sign on the icon of the VM in VBox.  I tried it with "MBR" and "GUID" and also the "Partition Automatically" options.

I have the 0.8.1.2 version running on an old Viglen pc and I must say mate, bl**dy well done  ;) I am really looking forward to getting this version running on it with the promises of lightness and speeeeeeeeeeeed weeeeeeeee.

Thanks for all the work you have put in here, it's a real cracker  8)

Cheers,
darso.

EDIT: I will burn the 32bit to CD and try it on this old machine I have, back shortly with an update.

EDIT2: I burnt the CD and the Viglen wouldn't read it at all, may be down to a bad burn or a bad disk.  Just burnt it to USB and gonna reboot and see if it will boot in my own pc, unfortunately I can't get the old box to boot from USB  :(   I will report back shortly.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 14. March 2015, 18:23:20
i can confirm darso's finding:
virtualbox crashes the moment calamares starts the installation.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 18:51:16
Hi guys, thanks for that confirmation excalibur, you're a gent  ;)


My new findings are however a little more serious.  As I mentioned earlier I burnt the ISO to USB and was to reboot my own pc to see if it would boot.  I went a little further and changed my HDD for a spare I had here and started the install process.  The process finished ok but an error message box has just popped up and reads as such:


Installation Failed


Failed to unpack image /bootmnt/manjaro/x86_64/lxqt-image.sqfs


rsync failed with error code 23.


Hope this helps ya get the bugger Esclapion :) I will reboot and see what she says.


EDIT: There's nothing there mate, just a blank screen, no Grub, nothing. :(


Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 18:59:26
Nope, works for me. I never had such a problem.  :o

(edit)

I will download my own ISO and try again.  ;)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 19:03:45
Ok, I'll try downloading the 64bit again and burning it again, going by the live environment it's looking pretty sweet mate ;)   I downloaded it using DownThemAll earlier but I'll just grab it through FFox this time.


Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: urbanomad64 on 14. March 2015, 19:15:02
No problem installing in VM. Looks nice and smooth.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 19:31:25
I re-downloaded and re-tried both ISOs, they work.

I must push the RAM of the VBox over 1GB, because Calamares will that (too much, I think), but it's all.

So, for Darso, it works, if I understand well.

For Excalibur : do you use the VBox default settings ? 1 CPU, no accelerated graphic, and so on ?

Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 19:35:50
Hi Esclapion, No mate it's not working for me, I re-downloaded the ISO but I am still getting the same message, I have been triying to use GPT for partitioning so I will now try MBR format,  I will let you know what happens.


Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 19:43:48
I use MBR, but...  :o

I don't burn a CD, I install in VBox from the ISO or on my real disk with an USB key.

(edit)

Can you also try the CLI ?

Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 19:50:25
No probs, will do, report back shortly.

EDIT: Ok here's what happened.  The install through CLI went seamlessly and all looked well, until I rebooted that is, see below image for what happened next :( something about "Kernel Panic" the images is quite large so I thought a link would be better.

Image Here. (http://postimg.org/image/d9kyvfojv/)


Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 14. March 2015, 20:19:12
i did some testing:

i can install the ISO without problems in virtualbox IF i have 3D acceleration disabled.
in fact, i have problems with manjaro lxqt and 3d acceleration in virtualbox for a long time, e.g. the panel always crashes in the 64bit version (it used to be invisible, too).
this means the ISO (also the 64bit version) will probably install without any problems on real hardware.


p.s.: i have only tested the 64bit ISO image.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 14. March 2015, 20:34:48
I can confirm what Excalibur says, works fine with 3d acceleration switched of in a VM, looks great Esclapion, very nice indeed, welll done that man!

Is there any other information I can give to help iron this out mate?  Just let me know.

Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 14. March 2015, 20:48:22
Happy it works, and thanks for your tries.  :)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 15. March 2015, 21:06:45
Installation works fine at my Dell V131 notebook, but after boot no login shown. I use two external monitors. Disconnect hdmi and vga monitor & ctrl + alt + backspace and I get a login.
Mirrored displays is ok, but can't use the two external only / well configured.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 15. March 2015, 21:19:55
thanks for the feedback, xeto.
i do not own multiple monitors, so i cannot test it.

if the problem is lightdm (the current login manager), i can tell you that this is only a temporary solution. the final (and recommended) login manager will be sddm. but esclapion and i keep having problems with sddm whenever we want to use it. at the moment, we are waiting for a new release of sddm.

if the problem is lxqt, take a look at this, especially the pictures: https://github.com/lxde/lxqt/issues/502
it looks like the multimonitor support will improve in the next version of lxqt.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: mt12345 on 16. March 2015, 02:24:09
...  I downloaded it using DownThemAll earlier but I'll just grab it through FFox this time.

Cheers,
darso.
instead of downloading over and over again, copy md5 (or sha1) from download page and paste it into DownThemAll. (Choose 'DownThemAll!' not 'dTa OneClick'). Once DownThemAll has finished downloading it will calculate md5 sum and compare it.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: darso on 16. March 2015, 19:30:24
instead of downloading over and over again, copy md5 (or sha1) from download page and paste it into DownThemAll. (Choose 'DownThemAll!' not 'dTa OneClick'). Once DownThemAll has finished downloading it will calculate md5 sum and compare it.

Thanks for the info mate, didn't know DTA did this, should save me some time ;)

Cheers,
darso.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: petrea on 18. March 2015, 08:14:22
Esclapion, if you remember, few months ago I said about a weird wifi connection problem. It was solved with networkmanager. Now with connman the problem is back. Is there any way to solve it?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 18. March 2015, 13:27:11
Hi,

I'm sorry for you, but connman works perfect for all others users, of lxqt or of enlightenment.  :(

Go to the first tab, status, and click on rescan. After a short time, I get that in the wireless tab :

(http://www.auplod.com/u/paodlu4f597.png)

and you ? You see others networks ?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: petrea on 18. March 2015, 21:30:23
(http://s21.postimg.org/ogoz9udc7/IMG_20150318_091058.jpg)
(http://s28.postimg.org/m7ljd4uil/IMG_20150318_091114.jpg)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 18. March 2015, 21:42:58
What does the bluetooth there ?  :o It can be a track.  If you click on Rescan, nope ?

Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: petrea on 29. March 2015, 10:43:40
Bluetooth does nothing and rescan gives an error.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 03. April 2015, 12:11:06
Installation works fine at my Dell V131 notebook, but after boot no login shown. I use two external monitors. Disconnect hdmi and vga monitor & ctrl + alt + backspace and I get a login.
Mirrored displays is ok, but can't use the two external only / well configured.
Any updates / new iso releases / display manager changes planed in the near future?

I think the DM should be simple and stable. The last user should be pre-selected.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 03. April 2015, 12:53:36
Quote
Any updates / new iso releases / display manager changes planed in the near future?

It continues. When a 0.8.13 or a 0.9 will be released, a lxqt will follow.

Not a lot of changes planned. Sddm instead of lightdm, Vertex-theme, and back to Thus for installation waiting for Calamares 100.00000..% ready :-)

Little things as mhwd-chroot and meteo-qt will be added, but it's all.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 04. April 2015, 14:58:13
With last LXQT iso dm isn't shown, so change from lightdm to sddm may solve my problem ;)
We'll see.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 04. April 2015, 15:07:45
Never got this problem.  :o

I don't change for a problem of reliability, but because sddm fits better to lxqt. sddm is also a bit lighter and faster.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 04. April 2015, 15:37:10
The DM problem occured the first time, but trackball speed / acceleration, dual monitor are coming and going from iso to iso ;)
I really like the LXQT build and would love to see it as an official Manjaro release. So keep on your great work! :)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 04. April 2015, 16:26:31
thx. we always had trouble with sddm in the past. it hardly ever worked. as soon as we think sddm is stable, we will start to use it.

personally, i did not have any problems with sddm (for as long as i used it). look here to see how to install sddm:
https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Minimal_LXQt_installation#Login_Manager

i do not use a login manager at all. this is simpler for me, but i would not advise this to a newbie. when something goes wrong, you are left with a tty (sometimes even in a login/crash cicle). this can be very tricky to fix.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 04. April 2015, 17:10:03
Now, sddm works fine for me. Maybe it was another thing who caused the problem.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: tulliana on 04. April 2015, 18:04:38
Great work mate  ;)

Thanks..
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 05. April 2015, 20:41:30
I have some trouble with DM change and first os upgrade (gpg  error), but works now.


+ Dual monitor setup works fine!
- again trackball / mouse speed isn't saved or reset during reboot
- problems with lightdm (notebook with two external displays, DM only works with notebook display)

Some problems to find alternatives for keepassx (gtk based I think) and have to work with it a time to see if it fit my needs (daily work with Chromium, Netbeans, ...).
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 05. April 2015, 20:49:19
You can use gnome-keyring, it works fine. But it brings gtk3 with him.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 07. April 2015, 10:06:47
After some testing.

1) trackball (also mouse?!) speed value is saved and shown, but default is used (important, workaround is change value and back again)
2) LightDM problem (no display manager, screen is black) -> next release with sddm should fix this problem
3) add synapse to search / quick launch applications? (hotkey super key as used with XFCE Whisker Menu?). Maybe also lxqt-runner could be fine.
4) maximize (full, left, right) and minimize windows with openbox hotkeys (super + arrow keys)
5) Move panel plugin "Reboot" to the right next to "Shutdown"
6) Remove some applications (Avahi SSH Server Browser, Avahi VNC Server Browser, HexChat, Qtransmission Bittorrent) from default
7) install gvfs-smb (0,01MB)
8 ) Some textfields and checkboxes in Firefox have a black background. I would like a change to Chromium as default (I use the hangout app...)


After take a look again at KeepassX there is NO GTK dependency, but QT4. Haven't found a QT5 version.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 07. April 2015, 13:54:52
Thanks for your message, very constructive and very interesting. But a lot of things to discuss, it will be disorder.

I go back now from Calamares to Thus, but  have a problem of size, because Thus is very heavy (200MB). My 32 bits is not necessary CD-Size, but it's a game for me, and for the moment it's size is 695,2MB, so...

In this ISO, I have compton and compton-conf (compiled in qt5).

First pass :

1) I don't have a trackball. Will see for mouse, but what to do except a bug report ?

2) yep. Sddm works now fine for me. I must only find a nice greeter

3) i put that on my list, to see. Alt+F2 do that also a bit. I don't understand for lxqt-runner, you will a shortcut in the taskbar ?

4) i never use the keyboard shortcuts personally. The whole is to study, also for 3)

5) no reason. I have exactly the same layout on my xfce, with Reboot at the left. Why not, we often have to reboot

6) no sure to have understood : you will hide them ? In this case, I can understand for avahi, but hexchat and transmission-qt must stay accessible form the menu ??

7) gvfs-smb is rarely used, and brings smbclient (5MB). To see if I have free space, Xfce has it, so... added to my list anyway

8 ) in the new ISO, i will change the gtk theme from Menda-dark to Vertex-dark, less black. Maybe it can solve that.

9) i have found, compiled, installed (but on xfce for the moment) a keepassx Qt5. The problem is that I absolutely don't know this application, and so don't know how to see if it works or not.

(http://www.auplod.com/u/auplod518b0.png)

if I can test that and if it works well, I will probably write a PKGBUILD.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 07. April 2015, 16:26:52
Hi Esclapion,

thanks for detailed reply :)

Size shouldn't be the reason... I use a usb stick and dd  :P
I think LXQT Manjaro has capability to be a great OS / DE. So some nice Win7, Manjaro XFCE / Gnome features should be added.

1) Trackball / mouse
I have to test it with a normal mouse soon... Other than monitor settings there is no "Save" or/ and "Apply" button. I change the speed from 20 to 100 and all works fine. After reboot value 100 is displayed, but it's to slow. Like default value. Change and set it back to 100 and it works until I reboot.

2) Should be fine than :)

3) I haven't used lxqt-runner before, so I installed synapse as application quick starter (Super / Windows key as hotkey, app name and start with hit enter). After first simple test lxqt-runner should fit my needs. I just would change the hotkey ;)

4) I take a look. Should be simple at Openbox shortcut config, but with Gui "Super" / "Meta" key can't be used...
Win7 and also some Linux DEs use some shortcuts or click & hold a window and "throw" it to the top / left / right to maximize to full / half screen.

5) Yes, no reason to change it. I can customize my install if needed ;)

6) I don't know (Avahi Browsers, is needed why?) or need (Bittorrent, Chat, ...) that applications. So could be removed from default image and simply installed if needed by the user?

7) Haven't see an installed smbclient as dependency? Are you sure? It's needed to mount smb via PCManFM.

8) Ok. My solution is "pacman -S chromium" ;) Just because I use Hangout and some more chromium apps.

9) KeepassX Qt5 would be great!!! If you write a PKGBUILD I will install and test (use) it :) I don't know how to write a PKGBUILD, just how I can install it via Octopi / yaourt / pacman  :-\

10) PCManFM crashes if a selected media (smb via gvfs-smb or also a local hdd partition) gets umount via PCManFM (right click, umount). No problem if you leave the directory before umount it. Other FMs change to home dir or something else.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 07. April 2015, 16:51:28
6) avahi is installed by dependencies, I can do nothing. If I suppress it, I suppress also 416 MB of usefull applications. I can hide it, but it's all.
For hexchat, it's very usefull for beginners. With a click on that, they are on #manjaro and can ask for help.
transmission-qt(5) is a light p2p client. A lot of people (me included) use torrents. Not absolutely needed, but interesting.

7) gvfs-smb depends of smbclient, but this last is installed due to a dependency of mpv. So, I add it to the ISO now. ;)

For the fun :

(http://www.auplod.com/u/uladop518e7.png)

On this screenshot, you can note keepassx qt5. I don't know this application, so I don't know if it works well or not. I will leave it in the next ISO for testing purpose.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 07. April 2015, 16:56:59
Thanks!!! Can't wait to get the new testing iso ;D

I do some tests with KeepassX and report it back here. I use it to store my logins credentials, generate new passwords and perform an auto login ("auto type" feature) with a hotkey (ctrl + y).
It isn't a "embedded" solution like gnome keyring, but great if you use it with Linux, Windows and also Android Smartphones.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: petrea on 07. April 2015, 18:28:27
I can't wait it too.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 07. April 2015, 20:37:49
I looked at synapse, it can be added, but not real advantage vs Alt-F2, who is very complete.   ::)

Maybe the icon in the taskbar, but it's all ?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 07. April 2015, 20:54:45
I changed to lxqt-runner and removed synapse ;)
lxqt-runner with hotkey (prefered "Windows key only) is just fine. So nothing to change here. Thanks for take a look in it!
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 07. April 2015, 22:47:57
lxqt-runner is definitely fine for the beginning. it does searching and you can easily launch your applications with it.
it is also part of the lxqt DE.

personally, i use synapse, because synapse learns from you: after a while of usage, i just have to type one or two letters to start my most used applications. but this is advanced stuff.

i also think the "windows/meta/super" key is much easier / more intuitive than alt + f2.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 07. April 2015, 23:06:41
If size is not the main goal, maybe synapse (~7MB?) and some nice shortcuts could be fine ;)
LXQT is great and light, but the DE have to compare with Gnome, KDE, XFCE.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 08. April 2015, 01:37:39
Synapse is < 1 MB. So, yes or not ?  ;D

I will do a poll, if it continues...  ;)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 10. April 2015, 04:12:32
Any plans to make one with nm-applet? Connman doesn't work at all here, it fails to connect to the vast majority of wifi networks.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 10. April 2015, 12:04:56
Any plans to make one with nm-applet? Connman doesn't work at all here, it fails to connect to the vast majority of wifi networks.

not for the moment. And connman works fine for most of users.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: excalibur1234 on 10. April 2015, 13:25:33
Any plans to make one with nm-applet? Connman doesn't work at all here, it fails to connect to the vast majority of wifi networks.
it looks like you are the only one having trouble with connman and cmst. we could not reproduce your problem.

i use connman and cmst regularly on ethernet and 2 different wifi networks (and to switch between them) without any problems. and because connman and cmst are qt based programs - in contrast to networkmanager - (and we try to use as many qt based programs by default without sacrificing user comfort), we will use them in the future as long as they work well.

we have described to you multiple times in other threads how to replace connman with networkmanager. please do that for the foreseeable future.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 10. April 2015, 15:54:08
I can't replace connman with network manager if I can not connect to a network, and it is not just me, I have heard several people complain of connman being unable to connect to enterprise wifi, college wifis, etc. I undertstand that your desire is to create a Qt-centric iso, and I assure you I could not agree more with the sentiment, but connman has been an issue for a large number of people in my experience. Thank you for your response, but it seems my best in this case would simply be to install from a netinstall iso instead (which I was considering doing anyway so no major issue there)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 12. April 2015, 04:42:02
I was getting frequent kernel panics. At first I thought it was Broadcom-wl but they persisted even after it was removed (although it was less frequent) I used the iso OOTB with intel 4000hd graphics
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Spacesurfer on 12. April 2015, 19:07:07
Was able to install on my test PC. Up and running just fine. Thanks guys  ;D
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: marko94 on 16. April 2015, 23:15:15
Downloading test iso.. I'm interested for lxqt, never use it..   ;)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 17. April 2015, 00:51:11
A new stable is coming next week.  ;)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 17. April 2015, 07:44:48
Experienced some PCFanFM / QTFM crashes during copy  some big folders from an external USB HDD.

Do you add apps like KeePassX, synapse or qclipper (copy & paste between apps) and some nice hotkeys to the iso?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 17. April 2015, 10:23:33
keepassx and qlipper, yes. Synapse, not, alt-f2 is nice.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Xeto on 17. April 2015, 10:42:45
keepassx and qlipper, yes. Synapse, not, alt-f2 is nice.
That's fine for me  8)
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 20. April 2015, 16:36:39
A new stable is coming next week.  ;)
Will you be using CMST or LXQt-Connman-Applet?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 20. April 2015, 16:39:05
For the moment, cmst. lxqt-connman-applet is not completely tested, I think.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 20. April 2015, 16:59:53
For the moment, cmst. lxqt-connman-applet is not completely tested, I think.
Alrighty, in that case I'll just install the old iso and switch to the connman applet.
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 20. April 2015, 17:04:27
Do what you will  ;D Me too...
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 20. April 2015, 17:18:29
Do what you will  ;D Me too...
I've actually heard from #lxde that one of the LXQt devs is making a network manager plugin using networkmanager-qt (the KDE Framework).
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: Esclapion on 20. April 2015, 17:23:55
I tried very seriously Network-manager, because I thought to replace connman by nm. But nm is  really slow, I need at least 0.5' more to connect.

I know than some have problems with connman, but for the moment, we don't know what happens exactly. There   is an explanation of a possible problem of DNS in the arch wiki, but is it that or not ?
Title: Re: [to test] ISO's Lxqt 0.9 pre4 32 (CDS) and 64 available (without Gtk3 :-)
Post by: DiscipleOfDante on 20. April 2015, 18:17:44
I don't even know, I'll let you know when I get the iso downloaded and installed