Author Topic: iso without plymouth ?  (Read 2086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #60 on: 07. May 2016, 15:15:24 »
I reopen this topic.

When I install the generated ISO in VBox, I have the default splash.

If I look into the grub, I see :

Code: [Select]
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nosplash"
can we have something stable ?
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #61 on: 07. May 2016, 18:26:36 »
Re-cloned and installed Manjaro-tools, it does not work also unstable.

I'm giving up. Now we are forced to use plymouth.  >:(
« Last Edit: 07. May 2016, 18:39:41 by Esclapion »
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #62 on: 07. May 2016, 22:04:48 »
I reopen this topic.

When I install the generated ISO in VBox, I have the default splash.

If I look into the grub, I see :

Code: [Select]
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nosplash"
can we have something stable ?

What do you mean with " something stable"?
And "can we have", is somehow wrong choice of word, I humbly observe here.

In fact, buildiso does not manipulate the grub. because the iso uses syslinux or efi.
Perhaps file a bug report for the installer, so it does not add splash arg.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #63 on: 07. May 2016, 22:20:37 »
I don't know who do what.

But i regenerated a new time the tools, and generated an iso with plymouth.

Result :

- i have the login screen, than i until now never had
- calamares doesnt work
- cli doesnt work

If I go back...  :(
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #64 on: 08. May 2016, 23:21:15 »
I don't know who do what.

But i regenerated a new time the tools, and generated an iso with plymouth.

Result :

- i have the login screen, than i until now never had
- calamares doesnt work
- cli doesnt work

If I go back...  :(

may I suggest you to take a break?
Maybe you are just overseeing it.

That said, systemd is very complex. If it is systemd's fault....
Works for me with openrc without plymouth.

I reopen this topic.

When I install the generated ISO in VBox, I have the default splash.

If I look into the grub, I see :

Code: [Select]
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nosplash"
can we have something stable ?

I think when you overwrite grub.cfg in the iso profile in the live and root folder you can create an iso without plymouth.
Some goes for initramfs. Overwrite live and root folder.
Make sure you have a displaymanager started.

^that said, i only remove plymouth after install. We have isos without plymouth. If it is a bug it got introduced lately.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #65 on: 09. May 2016, 00:01:10 »
Works since the update.
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline gohlip

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1689
  • Desktop: OpenBox
  • GPU Card: nvidia
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: linux46 - x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #66 on: 09. May 2016, 08:06:16 »
Works since the update.
Good! Finally. I was wondering all your LXQT versions (and you have many) are sddm, systemd and no plymouth. And works.  So... what's the problem. 32 bit?
Life is a sexually transmitted disease with a 100% mortality rate.

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #67 on: 09. May 2016, 08:18:07 »
I had problems building stable isos too before the update. After update I could build bootable bspwm isos. So whatever it was, it seems to have happened in stable repos.

Offline Strit

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
  • Manjaro Torrent Maintainer
    • Strits.dk
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: GTX 760 OC
  • GPU driver: Non-free nvidia 361
  • Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #68 on: 09. May 2016, 09:43:58 »
Just tried building my spin without plymouth again. This time it worked.
So I guess an update to stable fixed something. :)

I am again, an happy iso-maker. :)
Desktop PC: Manjaro XFCE 15.12 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Private Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (unstable, kernel 4.6)
Work Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Netbook: Arch Linux XFCE/LXqt (i686, kernel 4.0)