Author Topic: iso without plymouth ?  (Read 2075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #30 on: 03. May 2016, 19:13:40 »
lightdm is not a good solution for me, because it depends on gtk3. His settings tool brings python-gobject only for it.  :(
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #31 on: 03. May 2016, 19:35:29 »
It works also not with sddm-git.

What is strange is than it worked in  March, and our stable package has been last compiled the 29-02 ?  ::)
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #32 on: 03. May 2016, 22:35:39 »
but, as you can read on my capture, a lot of services depends on plymouth.


I do not think it is a depencie.


But for the case of *"plymouth* is running wait until # before # . You do not see any timeouts. Systemd is not waiting for plymouth.

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #33 on: 03. May 2016, 22:37:52 »
I recall that it is the stupid sddm systemd unit file, that has a plymouth depend in it.
Other DMs deliver a separate plymouth service to start DM.


I do not think it is plymouths fault but added by arch. GDM has the same stuff.
Plymouth used to have its own displaymanager start units.

Offline Strit

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
  • Manjaro Torrent Maintainer
    • Strits.dk
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: GTX 760 OC
  • GPU driver: Non-free nvidia 361
  • Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #34 on: 04. May 2016, 11:26:05 »
Just to chime in my 2 cents.

I had the exact same issue, when trying to build my own spin which is based on xfce-minimal.

If Plymouth is disabled in profile.conf it would not boot. If it's enabled in boots.

Then I tried on the regular xfce-minimal profile, which I just updated from git.
The same thing happened. Would not boot without plymouth, but had no problem with.
The xfce-minimal profile and my spins profile both use LightDM as Display Manager.
Desktop PC: Manjaro XFCE 15.12 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Private Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (unstable, kernel 4.6)
Work Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Netbook: Arch Linux XFCE/LXqt (i686, kernel 4.0)

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #35 on: 04. May 2016, 12:11:46 »
Yes, its basically a package issue, or deployment issue of the unit file in sddm package.
Perhaps file a feature request upstream to include two separate unit files.

That seems like a good long term strategy. How about using a custom service file in overlay as a short term solution? That would at least confirm the cause if it works.

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #36 on: 04. May 2016, 12:26:17 »
That seems like a good long term strategy. How about using a custom service file in overlay as a short term solution? That would at least confirm the cause if it works.

Rejected, because we should not fix packages on iso.

Just look at the unit file, and you will see it wants plymouth for whatever silly reason.

I use sddm-consolekit, obviously without plymouth, so its no hard depend of sddm.
Just "bloat".
buildiso exclusively checks for sddm, since its special case as opposed to eg lightdm with two unit files.

Files on iso should always all be tracked by package.
« Last Edit: 04. May 2016, 12:30:28 by artoo »

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #37 on: 04. May 2016, 12:44:25 »
Yeah, that makes sense...

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #38 on: 04. May 2016, 13:14:40 »
Rejected, because we should not fix packages on iso.

Just look at the unit file, and you will see it wants plymouth for whatever silly reason.

I use sddm-consolekit, obviously without plymouth, so its no hard depend of sddm.
Just "bloat".
buildiso exclusively checks for sddm, since its special case as opposed to eg lightdm with two unit files.

Files on iso should always all be tracked by package.

If the problems happens also with lightdm (see Strit's message), it's not a problem of DM.
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #39 on: 04. May 2016, 13:30:14 »
If Plymouth is disabled in profile.conf it would not boot. If it's enabled in boots.
My experience is different!
i3 uses lightdm and no plymouth and it works.
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #40 on: 04. May 2016, 13:38:28 »
If the problems happens also with lightdm (see Strit's message), it's not a problem of DM.

Works perfectly with xfce-minimal and systemd.

Offline Esclapion

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 5523
    • manjaro
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Lxqt
  • GPU Card: GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: 4.4.6
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #41 on: 04. May 2016, 13:47:29 »
Why some works and some others not ? I have the last or almost manjaro-tools (0.11.5, installed yesterday).
Venez nous rejoindre sur l'IRC francophone
Patrice - Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent (Asimov)

Offline curiouseag

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: undicieded
  • GPU Card: Intel Core i3-5010U
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: grsec self build
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #42 on: 04. May 2016, 13:55:10 »
plymouth misses you :P

Offline Strit

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 746
  • Manjaro Torrent Maintainer
    • Strits.dk
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: GTX 760 OC
  • GPU driver: Non-free nvidia 361
  • Kernel: 4.4.8-1-MANJARO
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #43 on: 04. May 2016, 14:05:20 »
Works perfectly with xfce-minimal and systemd.

I couldn't get that to work. :(
You sure you disabled plymouth?
Desktop PC: Manjaro XFCE 15.12 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Private Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (unstable, kernel 4.6)
Work Laptop: Manjaro Strit 16.03 (stable, kernel 4.4)
Netbook: Arch Linux XFCE/LXqt (i686, kernel 4.0)

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: iso without plymouth ?
« Reply #44 on: 04. May 2016, 15:57:00 »
I couldn't get that to work. :(
You sure you disabled plymouth?

Yes, 100% sure.
I built a test iso today with xfce-minimal and systemd.