Author Topic: How do you setup a online repo?  (Read 949 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mortem Bonum

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
  • GPU driver: Non-Free
  • Kernel: Linux-4.5
  • Skill: Intermediate
How do you setup a online repo?
« on: 27. February 2016, 14:52:02 »
I mean I want to distrubute AUR packages in my Manjaro respin but sadly due to the recent update of Manjaro-tools doing it locally in a repo is depreceated.So I am wondering guys/gals is there a tutorial on how to set up a online repo?
« Last Edit: 27. February 2016, 14:56:24 by Mortem Bonum »

Offline gonzalo2099

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • LinuxAddict
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: plasma5
  • GPU Card: nvidia-gforce
  • GPU driver: free-drivers
  • Kernel: 4.4.3
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #1 on: 01. March 2016, 21:44:42 »
well, if you want to add a standard repo you will need first a place to host it. You can open an account in some free host providres. Later to get your hosting space ready you need to build packages and data base for repo, now upload your repo to your hosting and configure your /etc/pacman.conf correctly. Must look like this:

Code: [Select]
[your-repo-name]  # must be the same name than the data base.
SigLevel = Never # dont sign packages, keys must be added to keyring for install/reinstall signed packages
Server = http://www.your-free-hosting.com/repo-folder/  # basic config
# Server = http://www.your-free-hosting.com/repo-folder/$branch/$repo/$arch  # extended config if you use different branches or arch.

Offline c00ter

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Towelie's cupcake
  • Branch: ☮Olive☮
  • Desktop: Depends©
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400M CPU: Core i7-4510U
  • GPU driver: Intel/Free
  • Kernel: 4.4-lts & 4.5
  • Skill: Novice
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #2 on: 02. March 2016, 14:01:30 »
I would have to have a very compelling need--and a very high level of trust--to use anyone else's repo other than the official Arch or the unofficial AUR ones, and Bohoomil (Infinality fonts). Arch has a list of unofficial repos. Have you thought of trying to have yours listed among those?

Regards
“What, me worry?” ― Alfred E. Newman

Manjaro Wiki: https://wiki.manjaro.org/
Arch Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/
Pacman Rosetta: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #3 on: 02. March 2016, 14:07:50 »
I mean I want to distrubute AUR packages in my Manjaro respin but sadly due to the recent update of Manjaro-tools doing it locally in a repo is depreceated.

This is aparently the exact reason why local repos don't work.
You want to distribute 3rd party AUR packages on iso, so the repo got to be online at least.

Its a weak security measure, that you can't deploy packages that only exist in your local file system.
It'd enable to deploy potentially malicious packages too easily.

Offline ABOhiccups

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • I played Video Games!
  • Skill: Novice
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #4 on: 04. March 2016, 01:58:43 »
Can you make a Online-Repo AUR Packages Tutorial?

So, I can update my Manjaro-Tools Tutorial with a New link added.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #5 on: 04. March 2016, 12:12:49 »
Unfortunately I don't have the time right now to explain that in detail or to even try it out ... but it should still work exactly like explained in the wiki about a local repo, with the 'simple' difference that the [local-repo] directory will not be on your hdd but wherever online. You just need to find a server for that. Theoretically Sourceforge works for that, too. But in practice connection at SF takes so long to be established that pacman times out most of the time - so that's quite annoying ::) I used to do things like that just in a folder of my singer's homepage ;)
Your pacman-xxx.conf will logically just have to contain the custom repo with an url instead of a local path.
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Ste74

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 1256
  • sudo pacman -Rs windows && sudo pacman -S manjaro
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Budgie / Gnome / Pantheon (testing)
  • GPU Card: ATI/Intel mobility radeon hd 5400
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux4.x -x86_64 series
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #6 on: 04. March 2016, 12:43:25 »
You can create a custom repo online but if your intentios is redistribuite the iso ask yourself who will trust your online repo  :P
Pantheon Community Edition & Budgie Desktop Edition
www.forum.manjaro-it.org
Canale IRC italiano
#manjaro-it

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #7 on: 04. March 2016, 13:05:01 »
You can create a custom repo online but if your intentios is redistribuite the iso ask yourself who will trust your online repo  :P

Right.
Recent event at Mint brings up consideration that custom pacman.conf in the profile will require signed packages.

On a serious note to the community, don't put AUR packages on iso. Create a portable repo on usb stick if you like.
Putting packages on iso will only give you trouble, especially if you try to cheat the pacman cache.
Once you know how create a local repo, you can upload that repo any time for example at Sourceforge.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #8 on: 04. March 2016, 13:07:03 »
Sure ... but that's even worse with a local repo... There you cannot even look at the actual package and what it contains :o ;)
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #9 on: 04. March 2016, 13:13:51 »
Sure ... but that's even worse with a local repo... There you cannot even look at the actual package and what it contains :o ;)

Local repos are filtered out by buildiso.

No, I don't see any reason why AUR packages should be on iso if they are not accessible in online repo, ideally signed.

I mean, why don't users just learn a bit about local repos? They are portable, one can have it o usb stick to add on any system.

Offline artoo

  • OpenRC Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: LXQT/Plasma5, openrc & eudev
  • Kernel: x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #10 on: 04. March 2016, 16:48:00 »
In my opinion, it won't hurt if the user learns:
  • how PKGBUILD work
  • how to build packages with makepkg
  • how to create and use a custom local repo

If the user wants to distribute his packages online, the user:

  • learns how to build packages in chroot
  • learns a bit about signing packages
  • uploads the custom local repo to make it online accessible

if the user wants to distribute install media with custom repo:
  • add the uploaded online repo to iso-profile


Overall, building install media, especially if you want to use prebuilt AUR packages involves a learning process.
You can't start with the last steps. ;)
« Last Edit: 04. March 2016, 16:55:50 by artoo »

Offline Chrysostomus

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 1634
  • Neckbeards are cool
    • Git
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Gnome, bspwm
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux44-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #11 on: 05. March 2016, 10:53:43 »
Does anybody know a good site to host a repo? Is it possible to use dropbox or something for this?

Offline torvic9

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • Hello world!
  • Branch: stable
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #12 on: 05. March 2016, 10:56:23 »
There was a parallel discussion taking place here: https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=31297.0

Setting up a local repo is very easy.
Configure /etc/makepkg.conf, use repo-add, add local-repo to /etc/pacman.conf, pacman -Syy, done :)

makepkg.conf excerpt:
Code: [Select]
#-- Destination: specify a fixed directory where all packages will be placed
PKGDEST=/home/user/aur/pkg
#-- Source cache: specify a fixed directory where source files will be cached
SRCDEST=/home/user/aur/src
#-- Source packages: specify a fixed directory where all src packages will be placed
SRCPKGDEST=/home/user/aur/srcpkg
#-- Log files: specify a fixed directory where all log files will be placed
#LOGDEST=/home/makepkglogs
#-- Packager: name/email of the person or organization building packages
PACKAGER="torvic9 <user@localhost>"
#-- Specify a key to use for package signing
GPGKEY="CCE9D5C1"

pacman.conf:
Code: [Select]
[local-repo]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirror-local

mirror-local:
Code: [Select]
Server = file:///data/aur/repo/$arch
Code: [Select]
alias repo-add-local="cd ~/aur/repo/x86_64 && repo-add local-repo.db.tar.gz *.pkg.tar.*"
« Last Edit: 05. March 2016, 11:02:02 by torvic9 »
i3: i7-5820K | 32 GB | GeForce GTX 960, nvidia | linux44-custom
KDE: i7-920 | 12 GB | GeForce GTS 450, nouveau | linux44
Gnome: Thinkpad X200s | linux41

Offline Ste74

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 1256
  • sudo pacman -Rs windows && sudo pacman -S manjaro
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Budgie / Gnome / Pantheon (testing)
  • GPU Card: ATI/Intel mobility radeon hd 5400
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux4.x -x86_64 series
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #13 on: 05. March 2016, 11:01:09 »
Hi,for dropbox you need an bussiness account, not free. You can use sourceforge , also philm have used for a repo ( plasma next ) a time ago. Personally i have an account on tuxfamily server,is free only you have to be accepted ( only explain why you need this space )  .   ;)
Pantheon Community Edition & Budgie Desktop Edition
www.forum.manjaro-it.org
Canale IRC italiano
#manjaro-it

Offline Ste74

  • Support Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 1256
  • sudo pacman -Rs windows && sudo pacman -S manjaro
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Budgie / Gnome / Pantheon (testing)
  • GPU Card: ATI/Intel mobility radeon hd 5400
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux4.x -x86_64 series
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: How do you setup a online repo?
« Reply #14 on: 05. March 2016, 11:02:19 »
Pantheon Community Edition & Budgie Desktop Edition
www.forum.manjaro-it.org
Canale IRC italiano
#manjaro-it