Author Topic: 18th update: AUR AcroRead 9.5.5-5 now closes automatically after 15 secondes  (Read 2427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vindiou

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • I studied Minix & Xinu in 1987-88!
  • Desktop: Latest KDE & Plasma
  • GPU Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
See subject, thanks
I tried to uninstall it and recompile unsuccessfully

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: zarbi Kernel: 4.4.9-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.3.0) Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.6.3 (Qt 5.6.0)
           Distro: Manjaro Linux
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: P55A-UD5 v: x.x Bios: Award v: F12 date: 08/04/2010
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7 860 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22974
           clock speeds: max: 2793 MHz 1: 1463 MHz 2: 1197 MHz 3: 1197 MHz 4: 1330 MHz 5: 1463 MHz 6: 1330 MHz
           7: 1197 MHz 8: 1330 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.4 drivers: ati,radeon Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.43.0, LLVM 3.7.1)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.1 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cedar HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5400/6300 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.9-1-MANJARO
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8168 v: 8.040.00-NAPI port: be00 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3620.7GB (7.1% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD30EZRX size: 3000.6GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: SanDisk_SDSSDA12 size: 120.0GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: Samsung_SSD_840 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 451G used: 234G (55%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: /boot size: 247M used: 139M (60%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sdc1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 8.37GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 33.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 47.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 209 Uptime: 3:03 Memory: 890.1/7979.8MB Init: systemd Gcc sys: 6.1.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421) inxi: 2.3.0

Offline jonathon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Technologist - Teacher - Tea drinker
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: MATE 1.14
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX680M
  • GPU driver: Bumblebee nvidia+intel
  • Kernel: 4.6.0-*-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
It's an AUR package, so...

Moved to AUR subforum.
--
MSI GT70: Core i7-3630QM, 16GB, Nvidia GTX680M, Intel 2230, Manjaro-MATE-amd64-EFI
Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, Manjaro-MATE-amd64
Dell Studio 1749: Core i5 540, 8GB, ATi HD5650, Intel WLAN, Manjaro-Xfce-amd64
Let's go in the garden; you'll find something waiting.

Offline scachemaille

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT 330M
  • GPU driver: Nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.8_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
I tried to install it and it happen the same. it close after 15s. without any error reported if I launch it from terminal.

anyway I don't use it. Okular is enough for my usage until now.

Offline vindiou

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • I studied Minix & Xinu in 1987-88!
  • Desktop: Latest KDE & Plasma
  • GPU Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
I tried to install it and it happen the same. it close after 15s. without any error reported if I launch it from terminal.
YES! Exactly! thank you!

I posted the error on https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1626318#p1626318 but here is what they replied:

Manjaro is not Arch: please ask on your distro's boards, we only support Arch: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … pport_ONLY
« Last Edit: 11. May 2016, 09:21:39 by vindiou »

Offline scachemaille

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT 330M
  • GPU driver: Nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.8_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
I posted the error on https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1626318#p1626318 but here is what they replied:

Manjaro is not Arch: please ask on your distro's boards, we only support Arch: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … pport_ONLY
yeah I saw.. and they deleted the thread( or maybe we need to login???). I did a google search and found it.

Offline scachemaille

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT 330M
  • GPU driver: Nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.8_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
but all seems to work. I can open a pdf. open menu. all working. it just close after the 15s whatever I do. I never used it. does it was showing something special after the 15s?
advertising for the pro version, checking for updates..  or something like that?

Offline jonathon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Technologist - Teacher - Tea drinker
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: MATE 1.14
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX680M
  • GPU driver: Bumblebee nvidia+intel
  • Kernel: 4.6.0-*-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
It does appear to happen when it attempts to connect to a remote server. If you disable your network connection it will remain open.

It's as if it's crashing when it can't find the server it's expecting.
--
MSI GT70: Core i7-3630QM, 16GB, Nvidia GTX680M, Intel 2230, Manjaro-MATE-amd64-EFI
Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, Manjaro-MATE-amd64
Dell Studio 1749: Core i5 540, 8GB, ATi HD5650, Intel WLAN, Manjaro-Xfce-amd64
Let's go in the garden; you'll find something waiting.

Offline ivoshm

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.4
  • Skill: Advanced
Hi

I straced it and last sentence is:

Code: [Select]
5007  open("/etc/hosts", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = 13
5007  fstat64(13, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=182, ...}) = 0
5007  read(13, "#\n# /etc/hosts: static lookup ta"..., 4096) = 182
5007  --- SIGSEGV {si_signo=SIGSEGV, si_code=SI_KERNEL, si_addr=0} ---
5007  rt_sigaction(SIGABRT, {SIG_DFL, [ABRT], SA_RESTART}, {0x850aafa, [], 0}, 8) = 0
5007  exit_group(1)

I have no idea what changed in Manjaro if reading /etc/hosts file can make "Segmentation Fault".

I.
Ivo(sh)

Offline jonathon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Technologist - Teacher - Tea drinker
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: MATE 1.14
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX680M
  • GPU driver: Bumblebee nvidia+intel
  • Kernel: 4.6.0-*-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Advanced
This is odd. I edited /etc/hosts, commented out all lines, saved, and acroread didn't crash. I un-commented the lines, saved, and acroread still works fine - no 15s crash.

I blame Adobe for weird, old, and buggy software.
--
MSI GT70: Core i7-3630QM, 16GB, Nvidia GTX680M, Intel 2230, Manjaro-MATE-amd64-EFI
Lenovo X230: Core i5-3320M, 4GB, Intel HD4000, Intel 6205, Manjaro-MATE-amd64
Dell Studio 1749: Core i5 540, 8GB, ATi HD5650, Intel WLAN, Manjaro-Xfce-amd64
Let's go in the garden; you'll find something waiting.

Offline scachemaille

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT 330M
  • GPU driver: Nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.8_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
This is odd. I edited /etc/hosts, commented out all lines, saved, and acroread didn't crash. I un-commented the lines, saved, and acroread still works fine - no 15s crash.

I blame Adobe for weird, old, and buggy software.
it seems acroread don't like the IPV6 address string in /etc/hosts

if they are not here. all is ok. and once he arrived to start it add a line is his preference about an url for updates.
and if this line exist in its config it doesn't do what it was trying to do before.
Code: [Select]
/URLPing [/c << /URL1 [/s (http://pmupsw.adobe.com/updates.req?p=r&l=en&c=us&r=9.5.5&o=l&v=4.4.9-1-MANJARO)]
>>]

I don't know what it try to do and why.. maybe it will crash an other time for an other reason.
« Last Edit: 11. May 2016, 11:17:20 by scachemaille »

Offline vindiou

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • I studied Minix & Xinu in 1987-88!
  • Desktop: Latest KDE & Plasma
  • GPU Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450
  • GPU driver: free
  • Skill: Intermediate
it seems acroread don't like the IPV6 address string in /etc/hosts

Yes exactly! Thank you very much!!! I just put a # before ::1