Poll

Did you experience any issue with this update?

No issues, everything went smoothly.
132 (62.9%)
Yes there was an issue. I was able to resolve it myself. (Please post your solution)
30 (14.3%)
Yes I am currently experiencing an issue due to the update. (Please post about it)
48 (22.9%)

Total Members Voted: 210

Author Topic: [Update] 2016-04-26 - Cinnamon 3.0, Pamac, Gnome 3.20, KDE, Virtualbox  (Read 28833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LA-MJ

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Skill: Intermediate
Maybe you are not using the theme correctly?

http://imgur.com/BjH8xsJl.png

You have to copy or link the content of the theme's firefox/chrome folder to your profile:
Code: [Select]
ln -s /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome/ .mozilla/firefox/<xyz123>.default/chrome

I think it would be best to specify '.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome' in such instructions because evidently newbies do not understand how to deal with '<xyz123>'.

By the way, if anyone is creating new firefox profiles all the time like me you can use this trick:
Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir -p /usr/lib/firefox/browser/defaults/profile
sudo ln -s /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome/ /usr/lib/firefox/browser/defaults/profile/chrome

Contents of /usr/lib/firefox/browser/defaults/profile/ is always copied to any new profiles created.

Offline taranarmo

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Update broke libreoffice-fresh on my machine
Code: [Select]
/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/soffice.bin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0: undefined symbol: FcWeightFromOpenType

Downgrade of pango package solved the problem.

Offline Trinakrian

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Skill: Intermediate
i have the same issu.
where a add the 3?
i have many lines  ??? ??? ??? ???

To add a temporary boot parameter start the computer and when GRUB comes up, select the appropriate kernel and press the letter "e." This will allow you to edit. Go down to the line that starts with the word "linux." Go to the end of the line and put a 3. Make sure there is a space after the last entry. So, for example, if the last word is "splash" you will place the three like so "splash 3"

Now, press "ctrl+x" and in a few seconds you'll have a command line. Sign in as root and work your magic.

Offline Kleyno

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce
  • GPU Card: Nvidia GTX 960
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.4.8-1
  • Skill: Novice
Encountered a couple of issues from this Update, strangely not theme related.

Connecting to SMB shares broke after the update. Downgrading smbclient libwbclient to previous version restored ability to connect. Appears to be a known bug https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/48987

Second, Nemo started crashing whenever I backed out of the Rubbish Bin and Recent. This is only triggered if those folders were set to display in List view. Got around it by setting the view for those locations to either Compact or Icon view. Again, looks like a known issue:https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo/issues/1156 Seen in Caja as well, during testing.

Everything else fine so far. :)
Disclaimer, I am an Linux noob. Any advice I give should be taken in light of such.

Offline theduder

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: xfce
  • GPU Card: nvidia GT430
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux448
  • Skill: Novice
Thanks to Rob, Heart of A Lion and Trinakrian for your input.

Sorry I didn't reply sooner, I had a blown psu due to a crappy coolermaster psu and a brownout combo (not my week.) You caught me Trinakrian, I usually do check, but this time I was complacent and didn't check the update notes regarding setting the graphics driver before performing this update  :-[

Unfortunately, I've tried all of the suggestions from everyone in this thread and still can't get to a login. Thankfully, I do have a complete backup that I will restore as a last resort, but since I have another computer to work with I'll continue to try and troubleshoot this and/or wait it out.

Some of the things I've tried:
-removed and reinstalled my nvidia drivers to no effect.
-tried to use the nouveau drivers and it made no difference, still got stuck on a black screen at login.
-reinstalled xorg, lightdm
-installed vertex themes and made the required changes to gtk greeter settings conf
-Tried to use lxdm to login instead of lightdm
-Tried various different kernels

Despite all this, still stuck at the same black screen at login. Thanks again for all the suggestions, a great community you've got here.

Peace
« Last Edit: 29. April 2016, 19:17:45 by theduder »

Offline Heart Of A Lion

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Xfce, Enlightenment
  • GPU Card: ATi 7770 . . . . . . . CPU: AMD octacore 4GHz
  • GPU driver: Free (video-ATI)
  • Kernel: 4.6 (x64)
  • Skill: Intermediate
I have only 2 words to say: f*ck GTK 3.20   >:(

Excluding the GTK 3.20 theming issues, this is a smooth update as usual.

Now I have to work hard to fix my theme to make it fit well with the GTK 3.20, I hope I'll found some guidelines on the web

I hope this update cycle won't scare new Manjaro users away from the distro. Due to the switch to the new GTK we seem to be in a bit of a transition period.

The question is how this can be done more smoothly in the future, because right now over 35% of users have indicated to have run into issues according to the poll.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Actually I would like to learn why this theme change to Vertex-Maia-Dark affected my Bank of America login when I did not intend that.
My understanding is that when no chrome folder is present in your browser profile, firefox will try to use the theme's global css. Especially with dark themes this quite often doesn't work out so well with the user content, meaning the actual homepages displayed. For that reason many dark themes supply a specific userContent.css file, which is placed in the mentioned chrome folder next to userChrome.css. The latter in the case of vertex is not so crucial I think, but it does bring some nice extra features corresponding to the global theme.
Now in your case I still believe that there is something wrong with the inclusion of that userContent.css file.

@LA-MJ that makes a lot of sense, yes! Thank you!

@kmartin can you show us your output of
Code: [Select]
la ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
and then also maybe to doublecheck if the symlink is not broken:
Code: [Select]
ls /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome
« Last Edit: 29. April 2016, 20:09:51 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline kmartin

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
  • GPU Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
  • GPU driver: video-intel 2013.01.12 true PCI
  • Kernel: 4.2.8-4.1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
oberon thank you for your time and patience. I don't seem to have explained my self very well. Your explanation has helped my understanding. Here is the output you asked for:
Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
chrome  userChrome.css
and:
Code: [Select]
$ ls /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome
images  userChrome.css  userContent.css
Other themes I try do not have this problem, nor does your browser clearly. Could this be due to some of my about:config edits?

 Again Thanks.

Offline philm

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 10671
    • Manjaro Linux
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • GPU Card: Geforce GTX 650
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Maintainer - so all ;)
  • Skill: Guru
@kmartin: especially for the gtk3 version of firefox you need some quirks. Using the userChrome.css is a workaround. However it should be also possible without it. So we have to fix it.

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Here is the output you asked for:
Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
chrome  userChrome.css
Almost ;) but not quite :) I wrote la, not ls, because I wanted to see the name of your symlink folder and if there are more than one, and also where the link is pointing to...
Mine looks like this for example:
Code: [Select]
$ la ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
lrwxrwxrwx 1 bernhard bernhard 50 29.04.2016 07:25 /home/bernhard/.mozilla/firefox/2e1kii3u.default/chrome -> /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome//
« Last Edit: 30. April 2016, 00:14:34 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
Oh, and I already see that there is something wrong with the folder structure of your profile!
Mine:
Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
images  userChrome.css  userContent.css
yours:
Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
chrome  userChrome.css

See the difference? there should not be another 'chrome' inside of 'chrome' and especially: There is no userContent.css in your folder, and that explains why the styling of your content is not working! :)
« Last Edit: 30. April 2016, 00:55:10 by oberon »
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline Snudl

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Desktop: KDE Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: NVidia GTX 860m
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.6
  • Skill: Intermediate
Everything is fine, but Steam is no longer working:
Code: [Select]
Running Steam on manjarolinux 16.02 64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled automatically
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1461721017)
libGL error: unable to load driver: i965_dri.so
libGL error: driver pointer missing
libGL error: failed to load driver: i965
libGL error: unable to load driver: swrast_dri.so
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast

This fixed my issue:
Code: [Select]
find ~/.steam/root/ -name "libgpg-error.so*" -print -delete

Thank you very much, that fixed it on my end aswell. Might be something to include into the 'Steam Purge Libraries' Tool.

Other than that and the Gnome 3.20 weirdness no problems!

Offline oberon

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 3858
  • I'm nice. Be new!
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: i3, Deepin, Cinnamon
  • GPU Card: Intel ValleyView Gen7
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.1 / 4.4
  • Skill: Intermediate
@kmartin Remove that chrome folder in your profile again:
Code: [Select]
rm -rf ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
Then 8)
Code: [Select]
ln -s /usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome ~/.mozilla/firefox/$(grep "Path=" ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini | sed 's/Path=//')/chrome
;D ;D
manjaro is addictive ::)
* manjaro-i3  * manjaro-cinnamon  * manjaro-deepin

Offline kmartin

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
  • GPU Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
  • GPU driver: video-intel 2013.01.12 true PCI
  • Kernel: 4.2.8-4.1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
oberon Sorry I used ls thought la was a typo because I get :
Code: [Select]
[kmartin@Jane ~]$ la ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
bash: la: command not found
I admitted that I am inexperienced... I sent a screenshot of the properties window sorry for the crudeness.

Quote
Oh, and I already see that there is something wrong with the folder structure of your profile!
Mine:
Code: [Select]

$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
images  userChrome.css  userContent.css

yours:
Code: [Select]

$ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox/*.default/chrome
chrome  userChrome.css


See the difference?

Yes. So should I copy 
Code: [Select]
userContent.css from
Code: [Select]
/usr/share/themes/Firefox/Vertex-Maia-Dark/chrome/ to:
Code: [Select]
/home/kmartin/.mozilla/firefox/9shb6xj3.default/chrome/
« Last Edit: 30. April 2016, 01:49:26 by kmartin »

Offline kmartin

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
  • GPU Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
  • GPU driver: video-intel 2013.01.12 true PCI
  • Kernel: 4.2.8-4.1-MANJARO x86_64
  • Skill: Novice
Thanks for the personal touch philm and thanks for all you do! too...