Author Topic: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start  (Read 1106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline erg

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: ati radeon hd 7640g + 7670m
  • GPU driver: catalyst
  • Kernel: linux44
  • Skill: Novice
plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« on: 08. May 2016, 06:55:46 »
Is it fine ??? plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
[erg@erg-hp ~]$ free
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:        7640556     1398668     5173292        4360     1068596     6163148
Swap:       9764860           0     9764860
Manjaro+Bqqlinux+Blackarch= "Darkjaro"
Pentesting based Manjaro

Offline MadmanRB

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Always thinking, always crazy
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600
  • GPU driver: Free and proprietary, depending on need
  • Kernel: 4.1.13
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #1 on: 08. May 2016, 08:27:46 »
Seems normal, KDE can run a little heavy on some systems. Of course for me I got 16 gigs of ram and nothing dents that not even windows
Insanity is only a state of mind

Offline erg

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: ati radeon hd 7640g + 7670m
  • GPU driver: catalyst
  • Kernel: linux44
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #2 on: 08. May 2016, 08:29:57 »
Seems normal, KDE can run a little heavy on some systems. Of course for me I got 16 gigs of ram and nothing dents that not even windows
Thanks Madman mine 8gb it doesnt hurts me was just curious to know is it fine or not
I wanted a good looking DE with catalyst support and Plasma works fine
Manjaro+Bqqlinux+Blackarch= "Darkjaro"
Pentesting based Manjaro

Offline Egavas

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: NET Install > Plasma Desktop
  • GPU Card: ATI Radeon R9 270X
  • GPU driver: free
  • Kernel: linux45-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #3 on: 08. May 2016, 08:33:38 »
If you use Manjaro version of Plasma desktop then it is possible. I'm using custom install from Net install, and my plasma desktop with free gpu drivers and conky on autostart takes ~450MB of RAM at fresh boot.

Cheers

Offline Orbmiser

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Photographer / Techy Ole' Fart
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Ati 4350 Dual Displays
  • GPU driver: Free Open Driver
  • Kernel: 4.1.16-1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #4 on: 08. May 2016, 09:19:14 »
If you use Manjaro version of Plasma desktop then it is possible. I'm using custom install from Net install, and my plasma desktop with free gpu drivers and conky on autostart takes ~450MB of RAM at fresh boot.

Cheers

Same here with Netrunner Rolling as they removed all the Pim bloat installed in many KDE spins.
Check your processes and see if you have following running.



Removed the Pim stuff and now running 425-450mb boot to desktop.

Offline c00ter

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Towelie's cupcake
  • Branch: ☮Olive☮
  • Desktop: Depends©
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400M CPU: Core i7-4510U
  • GPU driver: Intel/Free
  • Kernel: 4.4-lts & 4.5
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #5 on: 08. May 2016, 15:34:03 »
KDE's PIM apps--any of them, even a friggen calendar--adds a lot of bloat. If you don't use any of the PIM applets, uninstall them as a group. If you do use them, welcome to KDE.

I don't. I run <350 MB @ idle in KDE. About the same in GNOME, except GNOME PIMs don't add near the overhead. :(

Regards
“What, me worry?” ― Alfred E. Newman

Manjaro Wiki: https://wiki.manjaro.org/
Arch Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/
Pacman Rosetta: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta

Offline MadmanRB

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Always thinking, always crazy
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600
  • GPU driver: Free and proprietary, depending on need
  • Kernel: 4.1.13
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #6 on: 09. May 2016, 00:10:08 »
Thanks Madman mine 8gb it doesnt hurts me was just curious to know is it fine or not
I wanted a good looking DE with catalyst support and Plasma works fine

Yeah KDE can run a little heavy compared to say XFCE or MATE, but believe me its memory management is far better now then it was.
Insanity is only a state of mind

Offline leledumbo

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
    • Pascal Warrior's Journey
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: Intel HD 4400 + nVidia GeForce GT 740M (HP notebook), Intel HD 5500 + nVidia GeForce GT 940M (ASUS notebook), nVidia GeForce GT 220 (desktop)
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux-latest-x64 and linux-latest LTS-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #7 on: 09. May 2016, 07:31:49 »
Without KDE PIM AT ALL, you can save around 300 MB. It also has dependency on mysql, but typically mysql is autostarted by them. Just in case, check if it's running but nothing else is using it. Then you can remove/disable and save another 100. That's the best I can do. On 64-bit systems, I think 700-800 MB is normal for KDE.
Manjaro Net edition 64-bit + Self installed KDE
Kernel latest supported + latest LTS
HP Pavilion 14-n038tx
Asus A455LB-WX034D
Self built desktop

Offline xaoc

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Branch: stable
  • Desktop: KDE 4.14.3
  • GPU Card: nVidia 315m
  • GPU driver: Intel i5
  • Kernel: linux318-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #8 on: 09. May 2016, 11:25:42 »
KDE's PIM apps--any of them, even a friggen calendar--adds a lot of bloat. If you don't use any of the PIM applets, uninstall them as a group. If you do use them, welcome to KDE.

I don't. I run <350 MB @ idle in KDE. About the same in GNOME, except GNOME PIMs don't add near the overhead. :(

Regards

How to uninstall PIM as a group? And krunner will working fine? It's only thinks whit I use now from KDE. I will back to use PIM if there will be a working kde-connect and new mail client.

Offline scachemaille

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: nVidia GT 330M
  • GPU driver: Nouveau
  • Kernel: 4.8_x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #9 on: 09. May 2016, 11:32:02 »
How to uninstall PIM as a group? And krunner will working fine? It's only thinks whit I use now from KDE. I will back to use PIM if there will be a working kde-connect and new mail client.
in octopi there is groups on right. you can see which package are in kdepim. and unistall them.
kdeconnect don't need any pim utilities
and krunner works fine.

« Last Edit: 09. May 2016, 11:37:07 by scachemaille »

Offline Orbmiser

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Photographer / Techy Ole' Fart
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Ati 4350 Dual Displays
  • GPU driver: Free Open Driver
  • Kernel: 4.1.16-1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #10 on: 09. May 2016, 18:43:23 »
Yep for me just I selected Kontacts to uninstall and it selected an additional 41 packages to uninstall with it.
Which happens to be all the Pim packages? May be a few but seems I got them all. krunner and everthing else seems to run without issue.

That action alone had me go from 725mb down to 450mb. Also uninstalled printer and bluetooth of which I have neither.
Now down to 425'ish and that is with the Yahoo Weather and Gmail feed widgets running in the tray.

Offline c00ter

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Towelie's cupcake
  • Branch: ☮Olive☮
  • Desktop: Depends©
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400M CPU: Core i7-4510U
  • GPU driver: Intel/Free
  • Kernel: 4.4-lts & 4.5
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #11 on: 09. May 2016, 19:12:51 »
Yep for me just I selected Kontacts to uninstall and it selected an additional 41 packages to uninstall with it.
Which happens to be all the Pim packages? May be a few but seems I got them all. krunner and everthing else seems to run without issue.

That action alone had me go from 725mb down to 450mb. Also uninstalled printer and bluetooth of which I have neither.
Now down to 425'ish and that is with the Yahoo Weather and Gmail feed widgets running in the tray.

And if you add Robert's "magic trick" to it, it gets a bit speedier: http://kdemonkey.blogspot.nl/2008/04/magic-trick.html (Linked from the ArchWiki KDE page: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE )

Regards
“What, me worry?” ― Alfred E. Newman

Manjaro Wiki: https://wiki.manjaro.org/
Arch Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/
Pacman Rosetta: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta

Offline Orbmiser

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Photographer / Techy Ole' Fart
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Ati 4350 Dual Displays
  • GPU driver: Free Open Driver
  • Kernel: 4.1.16-1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #12 on: 09. May 2016, 19:36:39 »
And if you add Robert's "magic trick" to it, it gets a bit speedier: http://kdemonkey.blogspot.nl/2008/04/magic-trick.html (Linked from the ArchWiki KDE page: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE )

Regards

Thanks for that will have to check it out. As never heard about the cache one before and it's dated 2008.
Surprised it's not a default in KDE since then. You would think that is something they would want to invoke.

Offline erg

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • I'm new. Be nice!
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma
  • GPU Card: ati radeon hd 7640g + 7670m
  • GPU driver: catalyst
  • Kernel: linux44
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #13 on: 09. May 2016, 20:00:24 »
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -Rscn kdepimwoah  750mb now removed kdepim
thnk u guys for that tip :)
« Last Edit: 09. May 2016, 20:02:22 by erg »
Manjaro+Bqqlinux+Blackarch= "Darkjaro"
Pentesting based Manjaro

Offline c00ter

  • Held Mitglied
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • Towelie's cupcake
  • Branch: ☮Olive☮
  • Desktop: Depends©
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4400M CPU: Core i7-4510U
  • GPU driver: Intel/Free
  • Kernel: 4.4-lts & 4.5
  • Skill: Novice
Re: plasma5 using 1.1gb on start
« Reply #14 on: 09. May 2016, 21:43:40 »
Thanks for that will have to check it out. As never heard about the cache one before and it's dated 2008.
Surprised it's not a default in KDE since then. You would think that is something they would want to invoke.

Who says it isn't? Have you checked? ;)

The 2008 article was linked from the ArchWiki page, which was totally re-vamped subsequent to Plasma/KF5, so I figured it would do no harm...in Arch+KDE5, so I tried it. I find the results to be satisfying. Application load time seems a bit *snappier* on my Intel/Intel laptop, which is the best I hoped it would achieve. I noted an Arch user posted of success only 9 mos. ago, also. :)

It's just one of those *minor* things, but start adding enough and you start noticing a difference in perceived performance. I've just recently adopted KDE as my *desktop du jour* after not having used for several years--and never in Arch/Manjaro, so I've been looking for the *minor* stuff. For example, in GNOME I will add preload and readahead to my system. However, since KDE has its own application pre-caching, preload does no good. Readahead, OTOH still works with system loading. And, or course you guys got a BFQ'd kernel, whereas mine is vanilla, so you have a built-in performance boost that my kernel lacks.

But check your filesystem--who knows?

Regards
P.S. Pay attention to FadeMind's posts...
“What, me worry?” ― Alfred E. Newman

Manjaro Wiki: https://wiki.manjaro.org/
Arch Wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/
Pacman Rosetta: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta