Author Topic: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5  (Read 57743 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #30 on: 01. December 2014, 02:09:34 »
octopi 0.5.0-2 -> Qt5, has octopi and octopi-repoeditor in the same package
octopi-notifier -> vanilla qt5, currently doest work with plasma 5 (no icon), but with Qt 5.4 is should work...
octopi-notifier-frameworks -> qt5 + uses knotifications library, works with plasma 5.

Also seems the guy that maintains the stable version of octopi in the aur still uses qt4, we decided to switch to qt5.

Offline Rob

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 5390
  • Alias: Korrode
  • Branch: Unstable
  • Desktop: Xfce+Compiz
  • GPU Card: nVidia GTX560Ti
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: linux314 x64
  • Skill: Advanced
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #31 on: 01. December 2014, 02:12:19 »
octopi-notifier -> vanilla qt5, currently doest work with plasma 5 (no icon), but with Qt 5.4 is should work...

This one is actually still Qt4, because the notifier wasn't appearing in the tray on some GTK-based/oriented DE's when it was compiled with Qt5.
It's also expected to be fixed with Qt 5.4

Offline AJSlye

  • Maintainer
  • ***
  • Posts: 4298
  • Netrunner Rolling Edition moderator / maintainer
  • Branch: Stable / Testing / Unstable
  • Desktop: Netrunner Rolling
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: Intel
  • Kernel: 4.4.1-1-MANJARO x86_64 (64 bit)
  • Skill: Guru
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #32 on: 01. December 2014, 03:10:02 »
Rob, thanks for the clarification, it is appreciated.  :)
« Last Edit: 01. December 2014, 04:02:07 by AJSlye »

Offline rydhwan

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • slowly
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome, Cinnamon, Deepin, Unity,
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free driver
  • Kernel: linux 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #33 on: 01. December 2014, 10:33:25 »
no sound

Audio:     Card VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver: snd_via82xx
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.7.1-1-MANJARO

American dream. welcome to Guantánamo civil-isation

we are all different ... this is our common

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #34 on: 01. December 2014, 11:52:34 »
kmix installed?

Offline rydhwan

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • slowly
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome, Cinnamon, Deepin, Unity,
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free driver
  • Kernel: linux 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #35 on: 01. December 2014, 12:31:29 »
yes
KMix
Version 4.6RC1
Using KDE Frameworks 5.5.0
« Last Edit: 01. December 2014, 12:33:25 by rydhwan »
American dream. welcome to Guantánamo civil-isation

we are all different ... this is our common

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #36 on: 01. December 2014, 12:53:15 »
And it was working with kde4? Do you have installed the kdemultimedia-kmix or kmix package? (kmix is the plasma 5 version)

Offline rydhwan

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • slowly
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome, Cinnamon, Deepin, Unity,
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free driver
  • Kernel: linux 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #37 on: 01. December 2014, 13:18:38 »
my install of Plasma 5 in a net installation
all is fresh
i explore  ::)
have installed kmix package
« Last Edit: 01. December 2014, 13:22:34 by rydhwan »
American dream. welcome to Guantánamo civil-isation

we are all different ... this is our common

Offline rydhwan

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • slowly
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome, Cinnamon, Deepin, Unity,
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free driver
  • Kernel: linux 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #38 on: 01. December 2014, 13:34:04 »
for sound it is ok with kdemultimedia-kmix  and ok same whith
kdesu
« Last Edit: 01. December 2014, 13:40:27 by rydhwan »
American dream. welcome to Guantánamo civil-isation

we are all different ... this is our common

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #39 on: 01. December 2014, 13:43:01 »
You have two options, install kdebase-runtime that has kdesu (kde 4 version), or make a symlink to plasma5 kdesu:

Code: [Select]
ln -s /usr/lib/kdesu /usr/bin/kdesu
If you make the symlink, you would have to remove it if you install anything that has kdebase-runtime as a dependency

Offline rydhwan

  • Sr. Mitglied
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • slowly
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5, Gnome, Cinnamon, Deepin, Unity,
  • GPU Card: Intel
  • GPU driver: free driver
  • Kernel: linux 4.1
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #40 on: 01. December 2014, 14:40:17 »
wow  :D world of kde encyclopedia

fantastic nice thanks

i love kde  O:-)
American dream. welcome to Guantánamo civil-isation

we are all different ... this is our common

Offline Chaosphere

  • Jr. Mitglied
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Always be Qt
    • Linux Blog
  • Branch: testing
  • Desktop: Plasma 5 FTW
  • GPU Card: NVIDIA GTX 765M
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: Always the latest!
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #41 on: 04. December 2014, 19:12:26 »
Thank you for the guide, just switched to Plasma 5 from KDE 4 and everything is working flawlessly. :D
"Dett niður eg læt mig líða áfram og einhvern veginn
Ég kem alltaf niður aftur á sama stað alger þögn"
"Falling down,I will let myself forward,and somehow
I always come down again in the same place absolute silence"
Sigur Rós - Viðrar Vel Til Loftárása

Offline Skydancer

  • Neuling
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Branch: Stable
  • Desktop: KDE
  • GPU Card: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 6450
  • GPU driver: Catalyst
  • Kernel: linux418-x64
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #42 on: 10. December 2014, 11:42:43 »
When I run the following command:
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -R $(LANG=C pacman -Qi kdebase-workspace | grep "Req" | sed -e 's/Required By    : //g')I get this message (I translated it from Slovene):
Quote
error: no target specified (use -h for help)

UPDATE: I managed to perform the above using Octopi.
« Last Edit: 10. December 2014, 12:46:18 by Skydancer »

Offline peaveyman

  • Vollwertiges Mitglied
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma5 / Gnome3
  • GPU Card: GeForce GT 430
  • GPU driver: non-free
  • Kernel: 4.2.6-1 x64
  • Skill: Novice
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #43 on: 24. December 2014, 23:18:41 »
Would it be safe to do this if I log out of kde and into either gnome or enlightenment?

Offline Kirek

  • Core Team
  • *****
  • Posts: 1209
  • Branch: unstable
  • Desktop: Plasma 5
  • GPU Card: Intel HD4000 + Nvidia 620M / Geforxe GTX 970
  • GPU driver: nonfree
  • Kernel: Latest
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Upgrade KDE 4 installation to Plasma 5
« Reply #44 on: 24. December 2014, 23:42:16 »
Would it be safe to do this if I log out of kde and into either gnome or enlightenment?

Yes, its safe. You can do this in a kde session, gnome or whatever.